We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a few days away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Satis House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Satis House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Satis House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road, Yoxford, Saxmundham IP17 3EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Yoxford
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ideal for a few days away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay at the Satis House: very attentive, helpful and friendly staff; luxury bedrooms (the linen is star quality); excellent food; ideal location for a visit to the Suffolk Coast. Road noise could be a problem for some people but not for us. Can highly recommend a stay here - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    318
    57
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
276
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

David & Kevin are by far the best hotelliers we have met, the Satis House is a real gem, we have stayed here for the past 2 years for New Years Eve and have loved it, its such a warm and special place.

The rooms are well decoated, the bathrooms bright and clean, the bed linen is crisp, white and feels great, theres a mini fridge in each room, freshly ground coffee / tea / water / hot chocolate sachets / kit kats, the food is fantastic, there's a really great range and its plentiful. The Suffolk breaksfast is fantastic.

All the staff are great, personable and attentive, the hotel has a relaxed and warm feel, definitely a home from home and so many personal touches, we generally have no complaints about this place and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Thames
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

.....and I should know! I spend my life living out of a suitcase as a flight attendant and stay in 5 star hotels around the world. This place, however has got something really special about it.

The second you walk in the door, you relax and the reception from the staff is one of genuine friendliness and ease. The owners Kevin and David are so welcoming and have that rare ability to adapt to every guest. A dash of charm mixed with a great sense of humour.
The rooms are luxurious and comfortable and not a bit stuffy and 'hotelly' and have been decorated and finished by someone who clearly has good taste and an eye for detail... they're a bit like you wish your bedroom at home looked like!
The food is worth coming for alone...and definitely get yourself up for the homemade breakfast you won't be disappointed!

All in all a great place to stay, eat and spend a lazy afternoon. Their gift vouchers will be top on Santa's list again next year!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

Although not exactly the country house which we imagined, it was a nice place and our room was well appointed. Service was good. Dinner was cooked well enough - but breakfast was exceptional. All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east anglia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

We spent last night at Satis House. I had planned a surprise romantic night away for my partners birthday. The staff played along with my charade and it was the surprise i wanted it to be.
The food,the wine and the room wre all outstanding.
We stayed in the Minsmere room, which was lovely, spacious and light.
We will definately go back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

Satis House is set back from the A12 on the outskirts of Yoxford and in its own grounds. There is a little road noise but the bed was so comfortable that I was soon sound asleep. The room was spacious, well furnished and spotlessly clean. I stayed here over a year ago just as the new owners took over the hotel. Since then they have tastefully refurbished it to a high standard. The evening meal was excellently prepared. Service was friendly and relaxed. Although breakfast is normally served from 7.30am I needed an earlier start and it was no trouble for them to provide an excellent full English breakfast at 7.00am freshly prepared with hot toast, juice and cereal. Satis House is certainly a little gem that I will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Satis House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satis House Hotel

Address: Main Road, Yoxford, Saxmundham IP17 3EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Yoxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Yoxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Satis House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Garde II listed Georgian House sits in 3 acres of woodlands. Recently awarded a Gold award, 2 Rosettes and Best Breakfast accolade from the British tourist board and AA, Satis House offers the perfect setting for relaxing or visiting local tourist hot spots like Southwold and Aldeburgh.The Restaurant offers locally sourced Modern British cuisine and has just been voted top tree restaurant in Suffolk 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Satis House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satis House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.