We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Satis House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Satis House Hotel to your Saves list
Satis House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road, Yoxford, Saxmundham IP17 3EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yoxford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A business stay in a super small hotel. The Framlingham Suite was spacious, well-appointed, clean and comfortable. Staff were very pleasant, helpful and attentive. Food in the restaurant was excellent both at dinner and breakfast. The only downside .... a very noisy owl outside the window! Better than traffic noise though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    69
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
29
344
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Always my first choice when that way on business, cant always get in because they have limited rooms. I have been there many times and I would sum it up as aimed at those who appreciate and care about high standards. Owners and staff are very friendly adding a personal touch even though they are very busy. Food quality is excellent no need to dine elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A very comfortable stay (although could have done with better pillows). Room v generous. Great detail - fresh milk for tea in the fridge; teapigs tea and kit kat in the rooms, good products etc. Food very good but shouldn't charge for having espresso at breakfast. Would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Peasenhall Room v spacious but shower/toilet a bit of a squeeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed for a two night break. First disappointment was the bedroom .Dirty,worn carpet that had certainly seen better days. Chipped toilet seat and plastic toilet brush. Base of bed exposed with no valance.The food served in the restaurant was bland. I asked for seasonal vegetables instead of chips and was served limp green and red cabbage with no flavour at all. To add insult to injury they were served on top of my steak-what happened to serving dishes? The room name was Middleton. It certainly wasn't fit for a princess! Would not recommend Satis House.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights...two would not be enough! We were looking for luxury, memorable meals but friendliness too. Some "luxury" providers mistake snobbery and aloofness for class. Not so here!

So comfortable with attention to detail but within a relaxed and comfortable ambience. The venue and menu was really important to us for a special celebration. We were handsomely rewarded by our choice.

Return is certain!

Room Tip: The website is thorough use it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Satis House has done it again - we've yet to have a mediocre course there in four years. We went with friends to the current offer of a free glass of pink fizz with a two or three course meal from a limited menu. Spoilt for choice, we tried all four starters that were great - my smoked salmon on a potato pancake with horseradish sauce was excellent. The others had the Blythburgh pork that looked delicious while I had the duck that melted in the mouth. I managed to resist dessert and had a taster glass of the red Spanish dessert wine that was like drinking a sweet shop!
Kevin, David and their team continue to provide friendly immaculate service and we look forward to our next visit. Congratulations to them on the Tripadvisor award and for winning 4 in a bed when Kevin was on top sarcastic form.

Room Tip: Enjoy the four poster in the bridal suite or a hot tub in the garden rooms when the weather warms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge wells
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed for one night whilst visiting relatives. We stayed in the "attic room" which is as described, a steep climb but a very pleasant room. We had a superb dinner in the restaurant which was reasonably priced considering the quality. Breakfast was also good. The staff and management are very friendly and attentive. Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Satis House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satis House Hotel

Address: Main Road, Yoxford, Saxmundham IP17 3EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Yoxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yoxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Satis House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Garde II listed Georgian House sits in 3 acres of woodlands. Recently awarded a Gold award, 2 Rosettes and Best Breakfast accolade from the British tourist board and AA, Satis House offers the perfect setting for relaxing or visiting local tourist hot spots like Southwold and Aldeburgh.The Restaurant offers locally sourced Modern British cuisine and has just been voted top tree restaurant in Suffolk 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Satis House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satis House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.