We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As sweet as choccie easter eggs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Satis House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Satis House Hotel to your Saves list
Satis House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road, Yoxford, Saxmundham IP17 3EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yoxford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
uk
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“As sweet as choccie easter eggs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Myself and partner had read the great reviews about Satis and so decided to book a one night stay which we enjoyed on Easter Sunday. All we can say is that the reviews were spot on. From our original communication with a smashing helpful cheery young lady called Emma- Louise until our departure on bank hol Monday, we had a truly lovely time. We pulled into the car park to be greeted by a very impressive house and gardens, and when entering the house were greeted with a warm welcome from Emma-Louise who showed us to our room. We had decided to try the attic room as it looked an interesting stay when visiting their website. It was reached after a fair climb up a little staircase which was no surprise as it does state this on the site just in case you have problems with stairs. The door opened into the most delightful sitting area with a couple of comfy chairs, tray with a good selection of teas and cafetiere coffee plus a couple of kit kats to enjoy. A small fridge was well stocked with fresh milk for the hot drinks, and as a previous reviewer mentioned this was nice rather than the silly little plastic milk tubs usually found in hotel rooms. There was also a selection of spirits, wine and snacks that could be purchased. Also in the room was a decent sized dressing table and small wardrobe. Bathroom housed a shower, lovely soft fluffy towels, slippers and a selection of good quality smellies. It would have been an even better touch if they had supplied bathrobes to join the slippers but sadly not. Off the sitting area was a good sized flat screen tv with the added bonus of a list offering a varied selection of dvd's that were available to all guests for free. We always travel with our ipads and ipods and the free wi fi was another bonus for us with reception good. Also the room housed one of the most comfortable beds we have ever had the pleasure to stay in, and we are very very frequent travellers. The duvet and pillows were also fabulous and in fact on checking out we asked where the duvet originated from and have since bought one from the company. It was literally like sleeping in soft clouds (not that we ever have of course - but you get the idea). Both of us got a really good nights sleep which for myself personally is very rare. We had radiators in each room and it was well and beyond cosy and very snuggly warm. The place was spotless . The view from the attic was great and we looked out onto the beautifully kept gardens which no doubt are even better in the summertime. Satis has garden pods too which looked like cosy cabins, should you want a different experience rather than staying within the house itself.
After unpacking we went down to enjoy afternoon tea. We were greeted by Kevin one of the two owners of Satis.Unfortunately we never got to meet David as we believe he is behind the scenes as part of the team who cook all the gorgeous food at the house. This being Easter weekend everyone was being kept very busy indeed although looking at the many return guests we have no doubt that the team are kept busy at all times anyway, bank holiday or not. We settled down to a yummy tea of finger sandwiches some of which had the most tasty chicken filling, plus scones with cream and home made jam all served on a traditional cake stand and of course accompanying pots of tea. The place had a relaxing atmosphere and all staff were friendly and cheerful and made us feel at home and looked after. Kevin was also hands on making sure everyone was happy but not in an intrusive way. He has a cracking sense of humour and made us chuckle a few times during our stay. After tea we took an afternoon drive to the lovely Thorpeness for a stroll along the beach. We had never visited before but found it to be a delightful place and when we visit Satis again (which we will most certainly do) we will return. Summertime must be a joy here and the houses are so different to many other seaside areas with no tacky commercialism either. When we returned to the house we relaxed in preparation for dinner. Once again we were not disappointed. We were shown to a cosy table for two in a very welcoming room, and treated to the most delicious food. My partner plumped for steak as his main and said it was the best he had ever tasted. I am not a lover of mash potato but this was not problem as the team were very happy to accommodate any needs, to make sure you have a dining experience to remember. We enjoyed a good bottle of white wine and a large bottle of water was served without us having to ask as sometimes is the case when dining. Again the service was excellent, and the friendly helpful staff made sure once again we had everything we needed at a perfect pace. The atmosphere was relaxed, the restaurant busy, and as we have said before, this is always a very good sign especially on a Sunday evening. All in all we were well and truly stuffed with fab food and delicious wine. After, as we mentioned a very good nights sleep we awoke to breakfast. Another cheery hello from Emma Louise and Kevin as we settled down to a full english . All produce is locally sourced and the bacon and sausage were delicious. The usual selection of fresh juices and cereals etc were also laid out should we want anything more.
All in all we had a really really lovely time. We were very sad to have to leave and if we could have stayed longer believe me we would. Kevin, David and all their great great staff have created a smashing place to stay. It felt like someone had actually sat down and really though about all the things they would love to experience out of a hotel stay, and put them altogether in one great place. They have certainly achieved this. We can't wait to return (hopefully sooner rather than later) Thank you all at Satis House for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs to climb should you choose the attic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    69
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
29
344
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
essex uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

After seeing the hotel on tv in the four in a bed programe i decided to book a short stay over the easter period.We booked a two night stay,staying in the Minsmere.We found the room very clean and comfortable and with everything that you needed on hand.We ate in the restaurant on both nights, the food and staff were excellent.All in all a great hotel with great staff and will definatly be returning

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I fell in love with Satis House in November 2011. We planned to return, hoping it would be as good as before. We weren't disappointed.

The hotel itself is gorgeous. We were in the Garden Room again - or Walberswick, as it is now named - it is away from the main hotel, looking into the garden and is beautifully decorated, has a very comfortable bed, spacious and trendy bathroom, well-stocked mini bar, as well as little extra touches such as proper milk, complimentary chocolate bars, unusual tea...I could go on for ever!
Each member of staff is very welcoming and friendly, they aim to please, and certainly do! They all seem genuinely happy to be working at Satis House, which makes for a happy, relaxed ambiance.
The food, of course, is wonderful! It is difficult to choose, with so much on the menu to tempt you and the staff are knowledgeable about the food and ingredients. The restaurant, bar and service, as far as we are concerned, is faultless.
We had afternoon tea booked for the second afternoon. We thought we may not be back in time for it as we had decided on a day at the coast, so the staff happily packed it up for us as a picnic to take with us! Wonderful!

Thank you for a lovely break, to all at Satis House! We will be back again, definitely! I hope it's sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Walberswick is situated in the garden so is very quiet and secluded, great for people wanting to ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Decided to book on a whim. The Garden Rooms are great, good sized pods with their own decking/terrace. Restaurant staff warm friendly and knowledgable. Kevin (owner) was fabulous. Food very good.
Would definitely come back especially in summer so we can enjoy the outdoor areas more.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Groupon deal for 3 nights in February. We were warmly welcomed and loved the friendly atmosphere throughout our stay. We stayed in Yoxford which was a large room with bathroom with roll top bath and separate toilet. We had dinner on 2 nights - on the second occasion we were joined by friends. On both occasions the meals were excellent. We really enjoyed our cream tea too - served in the lounge. Breakfast was also very good and we had the same friendly service. We had driven past a number of times and liked the look of the place - so glad that we were able to stay. We hope to return in the future.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a Hotel that makes you feel at home, We have stayed at the satis each year since 2010 and if not able to stay there when we have been passing through the area we have always booked to eat in the restraunt in the evening.
Kevin and all the staff have alway made us feel very welcome, the food is excellent as is the accommodation its an experience we look forward to each year and for many years to come, this year we are also looking forward to visiting there new venture at the garden centre to taste there excellent food , all we can say as a reccomendation is that if you are ever in this area and looking for a Hotel or some were to eat then visit the Satis and have an enjoyable experience you will never forget

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHANTS
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

From the minute we arrived we noted that the staff really do care about their guests, nothing was too much trouble, customer care was excellent.
The room, in our case The Middleton, was lovely.The courtesy tray was re stocked daily and the mini bar had every possible drink that you could imagine grabbing before going down to dinner.the food was fantastic, and on the offer that we were on we received our first nights evening meal - two courses included. We could not resist the pudding though, we were pleased that we succumbed!
The hotel proudly displayed their winning certificate for the programme Four in a Bed, worthy winners that's for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Satis House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satis House Hotel

Address: Main Road, Yoxford, Saxmundham IP17 3EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Yoxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yoxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Satis House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Garde II listed Georgian House sits in 3 acres of woodlands. Recently awarded a Gold award, 2 Rosettes and Best Breakfast accolade from the British tourist board and AA, Satis House offers the perfect setting for relaxing or visiting local tourist hot spots like Southwold and Aldeburgh.The Restaurant offers locally sourced Modern British cuisine and has just been voted top tree restaurant in Suffolk 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Satis House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satis House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.