We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
front of house with traditional grass on cabinroof
front of house with traditional grass on cabinroof
front of house with traditional grass on cabinroof
the fron of the cabin, and bobsleedging outside
view of the cabin and terrasse from the top
outside jacuzzi, kids loves it. also in the winter
view from kitchen of dinnertable for 12 pers
Uvdal
|
Rental Home – 
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lone V
Roskilde, Denmark
1 review
“Disappointments relative to the expected Standard”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Quite unnecessary to state- by renting a “cottage” at this level of quality, it should be non-arguable that everything should be clean and fit for appropriate use upon hand over.

This was far from the situation when locking ourselves into the place on the 26th of December 2012. In overall the hygienically conditions were below acceptance level, i.e. cleaning of facilities: especially bathroom and Bubble bath (outdoor) had apparently not been accomplished after the leave of the former visitors. Dirty underwear and “left overs” were found in bedrooms and washing room.

Further the TV set was out of function (breakage of cable), the furniture and bed supports were partly smashed etc.. refer to details below.

According to this regretful experience we have claimed a fair reduction of the prepaid price. It is still to be seen whether the owner will honour our humble request.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
1 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 2 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 2 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
1 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The place and the housing have a great potensial. The surroundings and skiing facilities are execellent.
Liked least: horrible cleaning and broken/out of order facilities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2013
This is just totally unfair treatment and so bad behavior of you Lone. Let me answer what has happened here. First of all you have emailed me 26 times, twentysix times guys !! And EVERY time I have answered with a positive answer. Like when you asked if there was internet in the cabin, I answered, I will put if up just now so it is ready when you get there. Also I put up playstation 3, with movies and new games for your kids, and all you can say is " ok, then we expect that to be there when we get there" no thanks. And there has been lots of other, like when we agreed on your arrival, to be LATE in the evening on the 26. Of december. But what do you do, when we get closer to the arrival date, "ask for ealier arrival" and what do I do, "yes Lone, you are welcome to arrive when you want, the cabin is vacant". So when you arrive, the cabin is apparently not cleaned from previous renter. I offer to try and get someone the, even that it is in the xmas priod. When there is a problem with the antenna, I offer to get someone there to fix it, but you wanted to fix it all yourself !! This is up in the mountains, and hard for me to get there, but I did everything possible to help, at xmas time. But what do you do, you want the price for the cabin as for xmas week, and not for the week that you have actually booked, newyear week. A week that I have had close to 100 asking for. You also threw out a 150 pound chair, you claim was broken, so I wont be able to get it fixed, and I now only have 7 of those chairs !! Thanks a lot. But I now know that there are just people outthere who are looking for revenge and who will never be happy and satisfied, what a sorry sorry, disgusting, and pittyfull way of living.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Matthew C
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect setting, we loved every minute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Just the two of us went to get away from 'other people' and escape the daily grind of working in London. This place really hit the mark - we can't recommend this cabin highly enough.

Right from our first enquiry, the owner, Peter, was helpful and friendly and continued to answer our questions by email before and even during our stay.

The cabin has a superb open plan kitchen dinner with a real fire. The entire place has underfloor heating which is lovely. We went in the jacuzzi and sauna every day and lazed the afternoons away.

The cabin has a fantastic view and is very quiet during the week. At the weekends, the neighbours turned up. Again, very friendly but they kept themselves to themselves (which we liked).

The cabin is well equipped with fishing gear (the river is 1 minute away and perfect for walks) , rugs, dvds (in english), games etc. There's no wifi but you can get a good 3G signal. Most of the TV is in english including films and series - it seems to be mostly popular british stuff and there are hundreds of channels. Our only criticism was that there wasn't a wood store - Peter kindly emailed to say where we could buy some but it would be a nice touch to add this so that guests don't have to worry about it.

The nearest major town is Geilo which is definitely worth a trip. It's a superb drive over the mountain and the views are incredible (a 4x4 is highly recommended - we had a Honda insight and this didn't really cut it!). Make sure you walk up the hill as most of the shops are hidden behind the front row on the main road. Food and drink in Norway are not cheap compared to the UK so be prepared to spend a little more than you would at home.

Overall - a perfect setting for our 8 day break. Peter made it all effortless for us and we'd definitely go back - probably take the whole family next time.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Jacuzzi and the river
Liked least: having to buy our own wood.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$113
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
Peter M
Speaks English, German, Norwegian, Swedish
Listed since : Jun 2011
Response Rate: 55 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 8 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing