We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spectacular dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Deevena

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Negra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Deevena
Save
You added Villa Deevena to your Saves list
Playa Negra, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A spectacular dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We came to this hidden gem for my birthday dinner. It was totally amazing, the decor, the ambience, the service, the hostess and host, the food. The appetizers were delicious and appropriately sized. The main course was done perfectly - we all had variations on a seafood theme! The desserts, including the birthday creme brule! Do not miss this opportunity, it is more north american prices, but the meal is something I wold pay 1.5 times for in Canada. The wine list is higher priced, which i would pay double for in Canada. There is a corkage fee, if you want to bring your own.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Came for dinner three years ago, enjoyed it so much we started staying at Villa Deveena for part of our vacations the last two years and look forward to visiting again next year. The cabinas are very comfortable and you are made to feel at home upon arrival.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have just returned from our trip to Costa Rica where we spent 5 days at Villa Deevena over New Year having visited around the same time the year before. It is an incredible hidden gem in Playa Negra. The hotel is tranquil with a relaxing and well designed pool area, comfortable rooms with a lovely outdoor shower and best of all - the most amazing food we have eaten in the whole of Costa Rica! They have managed to source all sorts of delicacies; truffles, wagyu beef and fine wines to name a few - their culinary passion is clear and it pays off... a lovely family business. We will be sure to visit again and again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We came back and were not disappointed. I wrote a review last year and everything I said applies to our experience this time. The food is out of this world! We stayed for four nights and it is the most relaxing environment. It is exactly what we needed. Tasia, Patrick and the staff are amazing! Thank you to all of you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Junquillal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Lovely atmosphere, greeted warmly by the owners Tasia and Patrick, we enjoyed delicious, fresh, expertly prepared foods accompanied by the perfect wine, great service.... we love Villa Deevena. Every meal is a bit of paradise.

Room Tip: Did not stay there, but saw the rooms and they are lovely with outdoor showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The most delicious four course dinner I have ever had. It is best to call for a reservation as this is the hottest place to be in all the pacific, some will drive two hours just to enjoy this tranquil fresh cuisine. It's pricey but worth every penny as everything is made from scratch and perfected.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This restaurant was said to be the best around,but we had no idea "around"meant CR!Truly a place that we thought only surfers went-Playa Negra!Wow,what great food,with truly friendly hosts(and hostess!)Can sit at the counter and watch the cooking take place,or enjoy at your table!
We were there on a Thurs. nite and the restaurant was packed,and this is low,slow season!Obviously this restaurants reputation is well deserved!Interesting selections,well prepared,and ask the cook about those whom he has cooked for?(as former Presidents of the US!)
Great food!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Deevena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Deevena

Address: Playa Negra, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Negra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Playa Negra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very calm and friendly environement. Walking distance to beach ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Deevena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.