We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night is not enough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whangaroa Lodge Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangaroa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whangaroa Lodge Motel
Save
You added Whangaroa Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Church Street, Whangaroa, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Whangaroa B&B and Inns
Auckland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One night is not enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We arrived late on an overcast morning and Derek let us check in early. Our unit, No 1, was downstairs and easily the nicest motel I've stayed in - attractively decorated and everything thought of. Derek offered us a good selection of dvds to choose from - but after driving to Coopers Beach to visit friends fortunately the weather came right. Late afternoon we wandered down to the game fishing club and watched a 132kg marlin being weighed - it was the final day of the club tournament. Lovely sitting outside our unit and enjoying a magical sunset. The following day the sun was out and we followed Derek's suggestion and went out on the Sea Fever - great trip around the bays of this stunning harbour learning of it's history. Sadly we had to leave - envying those in the next unit who were off to kayak. Next time we will stay longer!

Room Tip: All rooms here would have great views - ground floor meant we could park right outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
25
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in No 5 which is an upstairs 2 bedroom unit. The weather was perfect and the views down the harbour we beautifully relaxing. The unit had everything we needed and was very clean and comfortable. The marina and game fish club rooms were just below the motel and we watched a Marlin being weighed in the first night we were there. Tauranga bay is just around the corner and is a beautiful beach for swimming and fishing. A very beautiful part of NZ!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs definitely have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

My wife & I stayed here for 4 nights from 2nd March 2012, it was magical, so friendly, not only with mine hosts Derek & his wife but also our niebours, who were all having a glorious time.
Derek arranged a boat trip for us, that was brilliant too, as well as lending us a DVD about the area..
The whole motel was spotlessly clean, well furnished & serviced daily.
We have stayed in a lot of motels over the years while visiting our Daughter in NZ, but this is the BEST we have ever stayed in by far.
Well done mine hosts.
Definatly be back next year, see you then.
Christopher & Christine Coleman

Room Tip: No 2 is brill for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Booked for 3 nights but could have stayed for a week. A little off the beaten track but well worth the drive.Very comfortable accommodation with all the facilities for a self catering break.Owner is very friendly and helpful. He suggested a harbour cruise which was brilliant and the walk to St Pauls Rock provided stunning views of the harbour. The nearby beaches and inlets are worth exploring. If you want to eat out there are several options, or you can fish off the wharf. The small local shop has adequate supplies to get by so you don't need to leave.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012 via mobile

We booked for one night but stayed for three as the location, views, accommodation and friendly hosts are not always found together. The harbour is a magnet for sea fishermen and boats can be chartered for fishing or tours of the vast harbour which has so many inlets and bays to explore. A lot quieter than The Bay of Islands but more relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Lovely little gem with amazing views and done to a really high standard. We stopped in room 4 which is the smaller one but is really nicely fitted out and has everthing you need. Derek is very helpful and the motel is within a couple of minutes of the local amenities. The walks around are to be found in the information folder and this is one beautiful little harbour. Forget The Bay of Islands as in my opinion this is much better and the views from St Pauls Rock are probably the best I have seen anywhere in NZ.

Room Tip: Loved room 4 as very quiet and on upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We found this hotel by chance, after having driven for miles in driving rain and fog. The room was huge and had the most wonderful view over the bay. Derek, the owner, is renovating the hotel room by room, so everything was new and very tastefully decorated. Derek´s very friendly, couldn´t do enough to assist, even down to offering us DVDs and a book of local history.

It´s definitely a hotel I´d love to revisit in fine weather. That view is to die for!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whangaroa Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whangaroa Lodge Motel

Address: Church Street, Whangaroa, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangaroa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Whangaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Marina & Game Fishing Club Whangaroa is an ideal base for exploring the Far North. Enjoy Whangaroa with its relaxing atmosphere, rich in charm & early New Zealand history.Units are fully self-contained and equipped with TV, DVD player and kitchen facilities such as fridge, microwave and hotplates. All units have decks with outdoor furniture, and stunning views of the Whangaroa Harbour.There is a range of range of combinations from studio units sleeping just two people to a one or two bedroom units sleeping 3 to 5 people.Continental breakfast is available, and there is a resturant available at the Gamefish club and also the Marlin hotel at the bottom of our drive. All units have been refurbished in 2009/10 by new owners, Derek & Sheryl. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whangaroa Lodge Motel Northland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whangaroa Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.