We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 10 all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downs View B&B

Downs View B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upper Beeding
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Downs View B&B
Save
You added Downs View B&B to your Saves list
St Austell | High Street, Upper Beeding BN44 3TQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Exeter
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“10 out of 10 all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Very comfortable and clean bedroom with superb ensuite bathroom. Great attention paid to detail
to ensure you enjoy a relaxing stay. Hearty breakfast offering a great choice which sets you up for the day.Easy and secure parking at rear of house. Friendly and attentive hosts who are happy for you to come and go as you please throughout your stay. A 'gem' of a B & B. This is certainly the best place we have ever stayed in having been in many places as far afield as New Zealand.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
51
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Large comfy bed, nice bed linen, large modern ensuite bathroom, generous breakfast, secure parking - the owners seem to have thought of everything. The location is not in the pretty part of the village but that doesn't matter as it is only a short walk away. I would definitely recommend this B&B for people who want somewhere to recover after a hard day's walking or cycling.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Friendly and helpful hosts (without being obtrusive), large comfortable room (comfy bed, crisp sheets, large bathroom), pretty garden to sit in and excellent breakfast with unusual choices and home made cake. Walking , cycling and pub for food all from the doorstep. We stayed overnight for a party but will be back

Room Tip: We were in the blue room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife and I visited recently and not only must I echo the great reviews of breakfast, comfort and service, I must congratulate Ron and Lesley on providing good access for a full time wheelchair user and a shower room / toilet to suit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The room was very big, and I was really grateful for the huge walk in shower. Lots of lovely tolietries, clean, crisp bedlinen, fantastic breakfast and some wonderful home made goodies from Lesley - the breakfast marmalade cake is very special. The very best thing though was the packed lunch which Lesley prepared for me - huge sandwich, fruit juice, banana, Mars Bar, cookie and crisps. It saved me from the usual soggy sandwich from a petrol station - many thanks!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in May in the white room. The hosts, Lesley and Ron, made you feel at home...our room was very clean and well presented, with high quality bathroom products.
Delicious breakfasts, with yummy extras....they know how to look after their guests.
Caught the train from Shoreham to visit Brighton, short trip,save the hassle of driving.
Pubs close to B & B for dinner...we enjoyed our stay, had many laughs.
Just what we needed after our long trip from Sydney, Australia.
High standard of hospitality...wished we lived closer..

Room Tip: White room on ground floor, big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

A few of us who have done a walking weekend for the last 18 years stayed here one night in early May. I had the white room. Perfectly clean and comfortable with all those little touches that put this place at the top of all the places we've stayed. The breakfast was immense with so much to choose from! Wish we'd been staying another night.

Room Tip: The white room has the biggest walk in shower! Would definitely visit again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Downs View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downs View B&B

Address: St Austell | High Street, Upper Beeding BN44 3TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Upper Beeding
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Upper Beeding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a new and modern, family run B&B in Upper Beeding (located between Brighton & Worthing) conveniently close to The South Downs Way & Monarch's Way. Parking is available for those guests arriving by car or bike, and secure storage for cycles is also available. Lesley & Ron look forward to welcoming you to Downs View. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downs View B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.