We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel (but not the immediate location)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Belmonte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Belmonte to your Saves list
Villa Belmonte
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Principe di Belmonte 8, 92026 Favara, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Favara B&B and Inns
Lichfield
Level Contributor
214 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel (but not the immediate location)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We chose to stay here because we couldn't find a hotel in Agrigento with any good reviews and we are very pleased we did. Favara itself is not a great place (but as we found out Agrigento isn't exactly lovely either) and there's very little to recommend it apart from this hotel but it is well worth staying here for a couple of days if you wish to visit the Valley of the Temples.

It was failrly easy to find because it was signposted from the main road but reaching it involved working our way through a maze of small streets which can be confusing. On the first night we found it difficult to park but on the next 2 nights there were no problems and, if you can't find anywhere, the hotel will park your car for you.

From the outside it's difficult to believe that the exterior hides rooms which are modern with great bathrooms. We found that the minimistic style coupled with light wooden flooring made the rooms feel airy and light.

Everyone at the hotel was incredibly friendly and helpful, they genuinely made you feel as though you were welcome. Throughout our stay the quality of service was excellent.

Favara is probably not the sort of place you would like to eat out in so it's fortunate that the hotel has an excellent restaurant, Le Traveggole, which serves amazing steaks and fish which are cooked to perfection. There were some very nice touches like the complimentary glass of fizz and toasted almonds when you sit down plus the option to sit indoors or outside. It also offers an extensive wine list in all price ranges including a good house wine.

We considered ourselves very fortunate to come across this small hotel and highly recommend it - just don't let Favara put you off !

Room Tip: No matter where you are you can't escape the bells of the cathedral so be prepared to get up by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    18
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
30
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilly, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is situated about 15 mins from the valley of the Temples in Favara.
Favara is not a lovely city at all and I worried as we made our way through essentially an enormous building site. We persevered and fell upon this gem of a hotel. We loved the decoration, IKEA or not, the rooms were chic and the shower for two people absolutely amazing, as was the bathroom in general. The room was really well-sized and the top floor sun terrace is beautiful with a lovely view on the lit-up church at night. Favara offers little and we used this hotel as a base for the valley of the Temples and for the beach in San Leone which was really very nice indeed.
The owner, Antonio, is very hands-on and is passionate about his hotel and his restaurant and has plans to expand.
The food was exceptionally good and breakfast was excellent - with fresh juices and eggs to order (we never had such an excellent breakfast at such a low price). Antonio is knowledgeable about wines and suggested a delicious sicilian red for dinner which was spot on.
Antonio is one of the many young entrepreneurs we met in Sicily who believes in offering the best of Sicily to his guests and we would definitely recommend this hotel which was a million times better than the 4* we had in Palermo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsala, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed here one night because we were given a Smart Box which cost our friends 89 euros. When we booked the voucher said we'd find a welcome gift in our room but we didn't get anything.

Finding the hotel was not easy, the navigator kept sending us in circles. The best thing to do is follow the tourist signs leading to the hotel, however, if you make a wrong turn it's hard to find another sign. While trying to get to the hotel you get to see enough of this town which seems to be quite run down.

The room we were given was nice though there was no real wardrobe, just a few hangers, a shelf and the drawers in the bedside table. The room features a small TV which has only free public channels, air conditioning and a comfortable bed. The bathroom is spacious, bright and with a great shower which can fit two people at a time.

Breakfast consisted in a choice of croissants, butter, jam, slices of cake, buns and coffee, cappuccino, etc.

The hotel is good for a short stay, we went to the Valley of Temples from there but I was disappointed by finding offers to book a room between 60 and 80 euros (while our friend spent 89), not getting any gift and not receiving the warm welcome you can find in many other places around Sicily.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel is situated in the city center of Favara, which is not the most attractive place of Siciliy. The diner in the restaurant is okay, and the rooms are clean. But for only that the price of 80 euros per night is too high.
The complete hotel is furnished with too much IKEA furniture, so the rooms lack warmth. It seems that only men visit this hotel. The breakfast is not better than average. The staff is attentive but only if you are fluent in Italian.

Warning: at this moment the owner is renovating a Bed&Breakfast next to the hotel. Working might start early and cause noise in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

absolutely the best b&b in agrigento.in the town of favara.this was like a four star hotel ,but without all the needless amenities.the room cost 60 euros per night,spacious and new.they serve food at their restaurant cooked by mama.it was the best we had in all of italy,and i go to italy almost every year.the hosts samuela and antonio and mama treat you like they have known you forever.i cannot recommend the villa belmonte high enough.we have made good freinds there and can't wait to go back

  • Liked — personal interest they took in you,food ,cost
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

- inattentive host
- cheap and faceless interior

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa Belmonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Belmonte

Address: Principe di Belmonte 8, 92026 Favara, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Favara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Favara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Belmonte 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of a typical Sicilian village, among a mediaeval Castle, a XIX century church with an amazing dome, a XVI century square and just few kilometers from the Valley of the Temples, Villa Belmonte is a modern-run Bed and Breakfast offering relaxing stopovers in a family-like atmosphere. The rooms are spacious and welcoming, and offer the most modern comfort: TV, radio, air conditioning... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Belmonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Belmonte Italy/Favara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Belmonte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.