We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tannum caravan village review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Holiday Parks - Tannum Sands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Holiday Parks - Tannum Sands to your Saves list
Discovery Holiday Parks - Tannum Sands
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Millenium Esplanade, Tannum Sands, Queensland 4680, Australia (Formerly Tannum Beach Caravan Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
caloundra
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“tannum caravan village review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is our fourth stay at Tannum Village and we are most impressed with the friendly,helpful and courteous managers who have gone out of their way to make our stay memorably enjoyable. For example last time we stayed, we left our towels on the line and when we returned after our trip north, our towels were laundered and kept for us. The park is extremely well kept and the facilities are exceptionally clean and well maintained. The Caravan park is situated not far off the highway and is a good handy stop off point if travelling north from Brisbane. Plenty of walkways/biketracks along the waters across from the van park. Would recommend a stay at this top facility
Gerry and Narelle

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Decided to visit Tannum Sands as it was due east from Carnarvon Gorge and the first place you came to on the coast. At the Tannum Beach Caravan Village we were booked in at an en suite site under shady trees in the middle of a very friendly community. Our neighbours were long-term residents who were working in Gladstone and other sites nearby were occupied by weekend visitors taking part in a fishing competition. Both groups were very friendly and made us feel right at home. The en suite was clean, spacious and modern, and the kitchen area was similarly well equipped. What we liked best about this location was its proximity to the beach and the extravagantly named Millennium Esplanade where we could set up for a picnic or barbeque just a stone's throw from the patrolled area of the beach. We enjoyed walks on the beach, watching kite-boarders ride the wind and waves, and just chilling out in the shade with a good book and birds (black cockatoos, rainbow lorikeets) for company.

Room Tip: If you're camping, treat yourself to an en suite site for the comfort, convenience and privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We just spent two nights in a deluxe villa. Kerry made sure all our needs were met. We are a big family, ( 2 adults, 4 kids ) and it was a very comfortable stay. Having worked in the hotel industry myself I am very particular when it comes to cleanliness, especially with children. The villa had everything we could possible need as well as being clean. The park itself was family friendly along with being close to the beach as well as all the other necessaries needed. We will definitely be returning as well as recommending Tannum Beach Caravan Village to our family and friends. :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Located near paradise, friendly staff, a lovely pool. Very clean and welcoming.
The staff are well informed and helpful.
Just across from lovely beaches, walkways and barbeque areas.
We woke to the gentle sounds of local bird life. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capella, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was reluctant to stay at this place after reading the reviews on this site however was left with no other option. Pulled in with my two little kids and was greeted by a very friendly lady at the front office. She gave us a great site near the playground, pool and (very clean) amenities. Very relaxed atmosphere. All the groundpeople were friendly and said g'day. We had a great time exploring the beach and creek finding shells and catching soldier crabs. There were a few guys in fluro shirts staying in the cabins at the front but didn't hear (or hardly see) from them at all and they otherwise did not effect the holiday vibe. I am not sure what the history is behind the poor reviews on this site but we loved it and were dissapointed to have to keep moving. Must admit I was not expecting much from the Gladstone area having not really spent much time there but will be definately be back to this little treasure with our push bikes and fishing rods for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highways of Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

As traveling nomads we found the Owner to be possible the rudes person in bussniess we have ever met the place was ok but not the cleanest, stay out of the pool its like swimming in a duck pond but the ducks love it, the cleaners need to be tought how to clean and the grass needs mowing, the sullage needs to be cleared out so waste water can go down it, the list goes on, no wonder people like free camps !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the caravan park for 2 nights, when firstly going in it looks lovely. However when we opened the villas door it was filthy! The staff had certainly not cleaned it from prior guests! We had sand everywhere , walked into the bathroom with in every corner of the walls were piles of hair dirt and sand! The oven did not work , the utensils were covered in oil and filth as we're the dishes and cups! The staff were extremely rude !! My family and I will never be staying there again! And neither will any of our friend, family etc

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryBrisbane, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks - Tannum Sands, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We thank Honesty for taking the time to review Tannum Beach Caravan Village.
I am sorry her stay here was not satisfactory.
I am also extremely sorry she did not talk to staff when they went to her villa to fix the oven about the room being unsatisfactory, she would have immediately been offered another villa or a refund.
If I had been a guest in a room which was as filthy as she claims I would have asked for a refund and gone else where.
At Tannum Beach Caravan Village we make every effort to have happy satisfied customers and we regret in this instance we did not provide Honesty and her family an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Holiday Parks - Tannum Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Holiday Parks - Tannum Sands

Address: Millenium Esplanade, Tannum Sands, Queensland 4680, Australia (Formerly Tannum Beach Caravan Village)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Tannum Sands
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tannum Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Holiday Parks - Tannum Sands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our caravan park sits right on the innovative and eco-friendly Millennium Esplanade, an ideal place for picnics, barbeques and of course swimming. At Discovery Holiday Parks - Tannum Sands you'll find a range of accommodation options to suit all budgets and facilities including a resort style swimming pool, tennis court, BBQ's, camp kitchens and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Discovery Holiday Parks - Tannum Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Holiday Parks - Tannum Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.