We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenuta San Pietro Luxury Hotel and Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Tenuta San Pietro Luxury Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tenuta San Pietro Luxury Hotel and Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via per San Pietro 22/26 | San Pietro a Marcigliano, Lucca (Toscana), 55012 San Pietro a Marcigliano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Lancashire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We fell in love with this hotel last year and returned for a short stay and did not want to leave. Everything about this hotel is wonderful: the rooms, the views, the food, the service, the management. We plan to get married here next year we love it so much. Special mention must be made to Gastone and Suzanna who make this hotel fantastic, they are so helpful and make your stay so relaxing. We cannot wait to return next year!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenuta-San-Pietro, Public Relations Manager at Tenuta San Pietro Luxury Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank-you very much for having shared your experience with us.
It was lovely for us to be able to welcome you back at the Tenuta San Pietro.
We look forward to having you many many more times in the years to come!
Best regards,
Suzanna Di Domenico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    27
    12
    5
    8
See reviews for
16
75
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This hotel can be better described as a bed and breakfast with a flat screen TV. This is a small facility with eleven rooms, each different. Gastone manages all aspects of the hotel. His goal in life seems to be to make the guests very happy. He does everything except cook, I think. He's always cheerful, accommodating and eager to please. The hotel staff follows his example. The restaurant is excellent, made so by, Guido, the chef and, Gabrielle and his wait staff.

The hotel is cut on the side of a mountain. The view from our unit, which faced the valley, was like a postcard picture. Down the mountain we could see a small village, closer to us vineyards, and just outside our window, olive groves. In the morning, we were serenaded by a rooster.

The hotel is a destination in itself, and is comfortable driving distance to Florence, Carrara, the sea coast, the Chianti region and Siena.

Room Tip: Get a valley facing room such as the Bella Vista room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is a very special Hotel. We booked a romantic package with dinner and massage and two nights stay. The rooms are spacious and smelled so good. Very clean hotel. The bathroom was big and we had a a bathtub. The food is really good, and the olive oil from the hotel taste very good. Worth a taste. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The view is spectacular. Still daydream about our stay. It is perfect for a quiet time. May is a nice month to visit the hotel. The smell of flower and grass is so good.

Room Tip: Book a room with view. The view is exceptional. Check if there is a special package. You can get a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We have stayed at Tenuta twice, once in July 2011 and once in September 2011. We booked our wedding reception there and so were there for a whole week in Sept.

For a normal stay without anything to do with a wedding - we stayed in a room in the main hotel which was lovely (in fact all rooms are lovely). It is a 9 roomed hotel with 2 extra suites outside. The main rooms are all furnished well, they have different sizes and views - some with balconies and one with a bath. They all have everything you need - great bathrooms, large and very comfortable beds, good hairdryer, fridge with water, flat screen TV, and wardrobes. The only negative I would say is there is not much wardrobe space in the room we stayed - fine for a weekend though. And there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room - which as an English tea drinker would have been nice. We staying in the suite later on - so read the wedding section if you are interested in staying there.

The location is about 20 mins outside of Lucca and you definitely need a car to get around as taxis are about 60 Euros return to Lucca. But the view and the surroundings are AMAZING - truly spectacular, typical Tuscan landscape with olive groves and rolling hills - breath taking.

The Hotel itself has a pool with sun loungers and pool towels in your room - again the view from the pool is spectacular and so relaxing just lying there in the quiet. The restaurant serves breakfast which is the usual continental affair - cereal, cheese, meats, fruit and boiled eggs, it is the same every day so we chose to have one thing rather than everything every time otherwise it could get monotonous. The food in the restaurant is fantastic - they grow their own herbs and some fruits/veg and everything tastes super fresh. It does come at a price so not something we did every night but we had a few lunches and dinners here. There isn't anywhere else you can walk to have a meal so another reason you would need a car.

The staff are wonderful - everything they can to help they will do, cannot fault them on their attention to detail. This is a relaxing, quiet get away where you can take it easy.

Wedding Sept 2011

We chose to have our wedding reception here and had the whole place exclusively for 3 nights (Thurs-Sunday) - what a brilliant decision. We spent ages choosing a venue and were so pleased we chose Tenuta san Pietro. Once we had booked the venue the owner (Gastone) and his daughter (Suzanne) did so much for us it was unbelievable. We had a wedding planner at first but decided against this as it was much easier and less headache to do ourselves. They helped us coordinate the day, all the preparations leading up to the event (booking hairdressers, finding florists, booking the wedding ceremony, booking airport transfers etc etc) - we could not have done it without them. We even borrowed the small red fiat500 from the hotel as our wedding car and they decorated it with bows etc.

Our reception was held there (following a wedding ceremony in Montecarlo) so everyone got there around 18.00hrs - when we arrived back - EVERYTHING had been done to perfection. We had drinks and nibbles, a buffet starter (which everyone LOVED); we had the main dinner in the extension out the back (with a retracting roof) and then dancing afterwards. The staff were fantastic - so many people commented on how efficient they were, you didn't see them and yet everything was done - and done quickly. The food was out of this world - so much of it, all our guests were very complimentary on the food (in fact a lot of people said it was THE best wedding they had ever been to).

We stayed in the top of the two suites which are separate from the main hotel, which was beautiful - the bathroom has the best view of a bathroom I have ever stayed in - looking over the Tuscan valley. There was a large bedroom with flat screen TV and then a separate lounge area with a couch and another TV and wardrobe. It was perfect for our wedding as we had so much stuff and we got ready there with bridesmaids and there was enough room for everyone.

I would highly recommend anyone thinking of having their wedding in the Lucca area to have it here!

Room Tip: Any facing the valley (bella vista is great)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed here for three nights with our two year old. The hotel staff were fantastic and very accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. Great food, incredible views, lovely pool. We had one of the suites which was very spacious and had a stunning bathrooom with floor to ceiling windows. The location makes for a pretty scary drive along windy roads, particularly at night - but I guess that's the price for such amazing views!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We have just returned from a great stay at Tenuta San Pietro. The hotel is situated 7km in the hills above Lucca, and a car is essential, as well as a good map and SAT NAV, although the hotel is well signposted off the Viale Europa Road.
We had a very warm welcome and offered some lunch on the terrace. The view from the terrace is second to none, with spectacular scenery, Tuscany manor houses dotted around and views down across the Valley to Lucca, with Mountains in the background.
The room was modern and clean with views out to Lucca and a seating area outside. The hotel has a number of seating areas inside where you can read or have a drink and admire the view. There is a computer with internet access which is free but no Wi Fi throughout the hotel.
The pool area is compact with limited seating areas, around 3 in total but we were always able to get a space.
The drinks at the pool were pricy, 7 euros for a small bottle of beer and 3 glasses of wine at lunch were around 26 euros, 75 cl of water was around 3 euros, so not too bad.
The real selling point of this place is the food, which is excellent. We ate at the hotel on 4 evenings, and each meal was top notch. The prices are however on the expensive side ranging from around 15 euros for a starter / pasta to 24 euros for a main, wine starts at 25 euros. In the high season, and from Thursday to Saturday, I would recommend booking ahead as the restaurant does get quite full.
Lucca is definitely work a visit and I would recommend hiring some bikes to ride around the City walls and through the town, great fun for around 3 euros an hour.
Another place which is worth a visit is fote dei marmi, which is a busy up market costal resort, they have a market on a Thursday morning.
All in all a great place to stay and we would certainly visit again for the food and views alone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenutasanpietro, Front Office Manager at Tenuta San Pietro Luxury Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Dear Mr. Wilcox,

we are glad to read you enjoyed your holiday at Tenuta San Pietro.

Our Chef Guido very much appreciated the compliments regarding the food!!

We look forward to greeting you back at the Tenuta in the future.

Kind regards,

Suzanna Di Domenico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

This is a truly wonderful place to stay. The rooms were immaculate, the staff were friendly, the restaurant food was delicious and the views were stunning. We used it as a base to explore Lucca and northern Tuscany and loved coming back to the hotel every night. As it's located in the hills outside of Lucca, having access to a car is ideal.

I stayed here with my 60-something mum but would happily go back with my partner, friends, extended family or business.

Room Tip: Mille Fiori has a balcony with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tenuta San Pietro Luxury Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta San Pietro Luxury Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Via per San Pietro 22/26 | San Pietro a Marcigliano, Lucca (Toscana), 55012 San Pietro a Marcigliano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > San Pietro a Marcigliano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Pietro a Marcigliano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenuta San Pietro Luxury Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Tenuta San Pietro Luxury Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta San Pietro Luxury Hotel And Restaurant Province Of Lucca/San Pietro a Marcigliano, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenuta San Pietro Luxury Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.