We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel on this Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suntosa Resort

Suntosa Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Suntosa Resort to your Saves list
Suntosa Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   162 Moo 7, Naklua, Banglamung,, Ko Larn 20150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Ko Larn B&B and Inns
Chaing Mai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel on this Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Modern hotel just 100m from the ferry pier (30thb and 45mins from Pattaya) and centre of town (7-11, few restaurants, shops etc) and winding streets give this place unique character. Personally I like staying on beaches but couldnt find a beach resort with availability to book last minute (as Koh Larn is a very poplar Thai weekend destination due to the stunning beaches and proximity to Bangkok).. so I choose Suntosa because of the good reviews and so glad I did. Hired a scooter from the hotel (almost brand new which is refreshing and 300thb per day) and visited each of the 5 main beaches over the day.. and what a beautiful day. Samae beach was my favorite and an awesome viewpoint worth the walk up many steps. Back in the hotel the staff are awesome and managed well by Tawan and the British owner who was also always available for a chat and keen to help in any way possible. Tawan is friendly, speaks good English and helped me organize my onward travel plans to Koh Mak.. and ordered in some lovely vegetarian food for me saving me from the 7-11! Nice work guys.. you have created a special place and I hope to return again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Suntosa Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi

Glad you enjoyed your stay and than you for your compliments on our staff. Hope to see you again in the future.

Regards

Martin Higgins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We just walked into this hotel after see-ing it from the boat, it was mid week so not fully booked. The British manager did give us a discount on the booking price . We have given this a very good rating because the staff /manager and his wife are very helpful and friendly. Hotel rooms are modern and clean with a walk in bathroom. But !!! the sea view room we had a rather bad smell in the bathroom. This is caused by the infrastucture and not by the hotel itself. The staff told us it is being delt with . We would think of staying there again and hope the bathroom pong has gone .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Suntosa Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review, i would like to assure you and everybody else that this problem has long been sorted with the toilet smell in room 101, never to return. Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Martin Higgins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We didn't know much about Koh Larn before travelling there but once arriving we knew it was going to be a pleasurable stay. Suntosa is a short walk from the pier and right on the water. The view looks East over the Gulf of Thailand towards Pattaya. The staff of Suntosa are unbelievably friendly and accommodating. The rooms are superb and worth the price. We ordered some local seafood and brought it back and ate an amazing meal seaside. In the morning they prepared us breakfast. Can't say enough good things about Suntosa and their staff. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Suntosa Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi

Glad you enjoyed the island and made use of our fantastic terrace facilities in the evening. Looking forward to your next stay.

Regards

Martin Higgins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I travelled with a friend, and we had booked it for just one day, but decided to extend the stay to another day. The hotel is very good. The breakfast is ample in quantity. The staff are very friendly and help you out in any possible way. Booking it direct is cheaper than through Agoda. We stayed in the sea view room and it was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Suntosa Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi

Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel, one of many who have extended there stay with us. I would just like to add after careful work with agoda and booking.com all our prices for every room on every day match up. Hope to see you again very soon.

Regards

Martin Higgins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

You can see the hotel from the Koh Larn pier, but it is hard to find as you navigate the multiple winding roads and alleys. The walk was only 4 or 5 minutes. We were greeted by the manager and received helpful customer service. The hotel does not make any food, they order out for the food. There were two menus, thai food but only in thai not English and the only western food was a pizza menu. We ordered a pizza which was delicious with a 20 minute delivery time. The room was very clean, good air con, comfortable bed, safe in room with a nice walk-in shower. However, the soap bars were too small. There were around 200 channels on the tv but none were in English. The hotel has a spacious common area with at least 10 tables and around 20 chairs over looking the water. There are only 8 rooms, none with balconies and the rooms are not smoking rooms. There is no swimming pool. The hotel is new, stylish and very modern. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Suntosa Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi

Thank you very much for staying with us and your kind review. Just to let you know that in the next month we are opening our own restaurant for our customers to use and also there is 10 available rooms for customers 2 seaview rooms and 8 superior rooms, Hope to see you again in the future.

Regards

Martin Higgins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I would not recommend this resort to anyone who expects to receive any sort of customer service or management ability!

Myself and my wife have stayed at Suntosa before and enjoyed it, so naturally we expected the same thing for my sister-in-law when we booked her and her boyfriend a room there. We phoned and reserved the room well in advance, transferred the amount and e-mailed them the slip, and all was confirmed by the hotel. Great!

When she arrived to check-in they were met by the owner's wife who asked for the transfer slip. As the room was already confirmed and on the records, she did not bring it, surely they could just check the e-mail right? Apparently not! She was told they couldn’t check in without it and apparently she had too many e-mails so wouldn’t be able to find it. Eventually she said she could check-in but still didn’t seem to believe that it was paid?? The reception “manager” then began being extremely rude to my wife’s sister and saying that as she hasn’t paid, she could throw her out at anytime. She even said that as she is the boss, she can do whatever she wants…. This woman clearly has no experience in customer service or management!!

My wife’s sister called us from the room and told us what had happened, so we called the resort and we were treated exactly the same! We even re-sent the transfer slip by sms and e-mail. My wife told her she wanted to complain, at which point the reception “manager” hung up on her. She tried to call back 2 more times but was hung up on again twice, which made my wife and me very angry.

We thought the best person to talk to about this would be the English owner, he called my wife and the first thing that he said was “you have upset my wife…” Well how about an apology for treating your hotel guests like s##t? Or perhaps tell us that you will get your wife some customer service training or maybe teach her how to use e-mail?

Very disappointing experience, we will definitely not be going back and want to make sure no-one else has the same experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Suntosa Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hi

All i can do is apolagise about the member of staff who was involved in this and do my best to make sure there is no repeat in the future. I hope you would be prepared to try the hotel 1 more time and see the many good features we have to offer. Please make apolagies to your family also.

Regards

Martin Higgins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Chon Buri, Thailand
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights,Clean,quite and comfortable, good location. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Beach within 5 minutes of the hotel, more than looking forward to going back.Would recommend this hotel to all travellers

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Suntosa Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi

Really pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay at the hotel, thank you for your kind words and welook forward to your future company.

Regards

Martin Higgins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suntosa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suntosa Resort

Address: 162 Moo 7, Naklua, Banglamung,, Ko Larn 20150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Ko Larn
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Larn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suntosa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Suntosa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suntosa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.