We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shipudei HaKikar--My favorite stop in Bet Shean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shipudei Hakikar

Shipudei Hakikar
1 Shaul Hamelech St., Beit She'an, Israel
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Restaurant details
Karmiel, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Shipudei HaKikar--My favorite stop in Bet Shean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I've been taking tourist clients to Shipudei HaKikar for years--whenever I can arrange to be in town at lunch time, and occasionally for dinner too.

Within the restaurant, you basically have two options:
1. Sit-down--as other reviewers have addressed. Yes, many salads brought to the table immediately. Fresh hot out of the hearth oven laffa (flat bread). Then, they take your orders for meat--usually skewers (a portion is two), or they have steaks, etc. Service is good and fast; salads are always fresh--made by the mother of the family who has always owned and operated the place. I was once taken into the kitchen--so can attest that it's clean.

2. Sandwich stand-up or take-away--Walk up to the glass display case in front of the grill master, and choose which two skewers you want in your sandwich. The grill master takes them from the refrigerator case and puts them on the fire. He might have a dozen orders going simultaneously--some for table service, some for take-away, some for sandwiches. Somehow, miraculously, every portion comes off at the right time, and goes to the right place. As your meat nears perfection, you're given a laffa or baguette (your choice) and directed to the salad bar behind you. Put in whatever salads, as many of each as you want, and return to the grill master. He'll put your meat in, fold and wrap the sandwich, and you're ready to eat. There's usually a table or two in the restaurant set-aside for sandwich eaters; once we ate at picnic tables outside; or you can sit on the grass, or you can take away. Fast, inexpensive, great, authentic.

As another reviewer noted, the same owners have a falafel-shwarma restaurant right across the street. My last group really had a hankering for shwarma and we were in Bet Shean at lunch time--so I took them there. What can I say--excellent. Only drawback was that we were 11 people, so not enough rest rooms. No prob--I took several of the group across to the 'mother' restaurant.

So again--great! Don't miss it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Meat heaven...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Along with the 18 salads that appear on your table within minutes of sitting down, the meat at Shipudei Hakikar is the reason this is one of the most popular restaurants in bet Shean. Everything from shnitzel, to kebab to meatballs, steak, shwarma are freshly cooked to order. Polish it off with a refreshing mint tea and your Mid-East dining experience is complete.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon MA, USA
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
“Large, Clean restaurant - even good for vegetarians”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a kosher meat restaurant. But they bring many plates of salads to your table. They are refreshed often. Only complaint waas that I had to ask twice for olives and pickles. I had the falafel plate which was good if not great. Best part of the restaurant was the fresh lafa (giant flat bread).

My companions had some of the meat options which they seemed to enjoy.

Bathrooms are very clean - a rarity in restaurants in this part of the country.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

For those who like Israeli Middle Eastern Meat Restaurants, this is the place. First, they give you many small plates of salads as soon as you sit down. They also bring delicious lafa. I thought that the salads on the tray were for other tables also, but the waitress put everything on our table. These salads are included in the price and they replace the ones that are finished.

We also had hummus. The main course is any kind of meat or chicken served in skewers or just on the plate with chips (french fries). The food was very fresh and delicious. We went back the next night. The prices are also very good. It is a great value. The restaurant is away from the tourist area and is very popular with the locals.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not bad, considering the limited options”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I've been to this place a couple of times, out of convenience and lack of options more than any other reason. On each occasion the best thing has always been the enormous array of salad appetizers brought out (usually before you've even ordered). They're great and constantly replenished.

The main meals are average but reasonably priced for a sit-down meal (especially considering all the salads are free) - kebabs on square skewers (as the restaurant name suggests in Hebrew), falafel, steak, fish etc. All served with chips.

I wouldn't recommend going out of your way to eat here, but if you're in Beit She'an and you're hungry, it's a decent option.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipudei Hakikar also viewed

Beit She'an, Northern District
Beit She'an, Northern District
 
Afula, Northern District
Beit She'an, Northern District
 

Been to Shipudei Hakikar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shipudei Hakikar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.