We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Strumica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gligorov

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gligorov to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Gligorov
Kliment Ohridski, Strumica, Republic of Macedonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Strumica
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best in Strumica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Considering the darth in good accomodation in Strumica, this place is your best option. It's relatively new, with a style of decoration which will make the artistically sensitive ones shiver for a moment. However, the rooms are up-to-date, with clean and modern bathrooms and wifi in your room. Staff is very friendly. Breakfast was good. The hotel is not in the middle of town, but Strumica is not that big. A 15 minutes walk and you're in the centre. You can also take a taxi, which cost next-to-nothing. Try to come here during carnaval season, when Strumica rocks!

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is about as good as you're going to get for Strumica. It has its little quirks, but all in all the Hotel Gligorov is a reasonable place. First of all, the Internet works fine, which is a key issue for me. Beyond that, it's a reasonable 10-15-minute walk from anything worth seeing in the city center, including shops (unbelievably cheap by European standards) and evening coffee shops, bars and clubs. The room was fine, except for the chair that was way too large for the desk and made the room into an obstacle course, forcing you to basically climb over the bed to get to the other side of the room. The bath/shower was suitable for a much higher standard of hotel and included a number of stream variations and jet streams for the bathtub. Food was reasonable - the soups were particularly good. Certainly a reasonable option for a business traveler. Front desk personnel were particularly nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Located next door to a grain silo on a busy road on the edge of Strumica, the first impression isn't good. In addition, the lift didn't work in the 10 days I was there. And thin curtains that didn't meet in the middle meant that sleep ended at 06:00 a.m.

On the other hand the mattress was very comfortable, the furnishings were new, the food was fine & the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Grain silo end is quieter. At the other end there's a function room with weddings at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I spent two nights in this hotel, which I found to be most satisfactory. The staff at reception were most helpful facilitating my online check-in for my flight to London with Wizz Air. The rooms were very well appointed and the breakfasts were first class: we even got a typical fry to boot. The overall ambience of the hotel was most pleasing, and I have no hesitation in recommending it to any prospective client. There were 14 in our tour party and all were fulsome in their praise for the staff at all levels.

Capt Séamus Greene

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side overlook a pleasant garden. The luxury rooms have a large lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We visited Strumice on a business trip and were advised to stay in Hotel Gligorov.I did not expect more than an average hotel in the countryside but was surprised to find out that it was a well managed and comfortable option. The staff was also friendly and really helpful.The rooms are perhaps not according to the latest trends in design but large enough and kept clean. The bathroom is good and well equipped. My only problem was the location of my room. The hotel is on a busy city road and if the room faces the road as mine did, the morning traffic can make noise quite early.
We tried the restaurant and had a really great Macedonian dinner accompanied with a wide selection of local vines.It is worth trying it even if the kitchen seemed to have limited capacity because they delivered the orders for 6 persons well over half an hour.

Room Tip: Avoid room on the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Springs, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Last Saturday, my husband and I went to Strumica to see the Strumica Carnival. Although the hotel is well located and easy to find, we were not familiar with the city and had some difficulty at first locating the property. A call to the hotel provided an English-speaking employee who could direct us to the lovely Hotel Gilgorov. She even met us at the entrance as we drove in. Once at the hotel, we discovered that there were a number of English-speaking employees.
The front desk employees were welcoming and quickly gave us a key to our room. We were in room 211 a twin-bed room that is more like a suite. The room was clean and well furnished, the beds comfortable with extra bedding, the bathroom was more like a spa room with its jetted tub and shower.
We went to see the parade/carnival in the city center--about a 15-minute walk. After the parade/carnival, we walked back to the hotel and had a quiet, adequate dinner. Breakfast included many choices: dry cereals, cold meats and cheese, hot entrees, fresh fruits.
The hotel is about 7 months old and has parking, restaurant, elevator, gym (still under construction), sauna, and conference rooms. Our room rate with tax was approximately $63 USD.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor (3rd in US) on the backside, mid corridor, and away from the road and the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gligorov? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gligorov

Address: Kliment Ohridski, Strumica, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Southeastern Region > Strumica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Strumica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a new hotel. The rooms are luxuriously furnished. Our main target is our guests to be satisfied. Everybody is welcome to come and visit us :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Gligorov reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gligorov, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.