We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food but absolutely terrible service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant

The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
Park Street, Kilsyth G65 0SP, Scotland
01236 821649
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Kilsyth
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food but absolutely terrible service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We booked a table for 7.30pm on a Friday night and arrived on time to be told the table wasn't ready and would we wait at the bar until the waitress came for us. At 7.50pm it was obvious that we had been forgotten about and had to remind the reception.Apologies were given and we were shown to our table, where we sat until 8.10pm with no drinks or food service being offered. Finally catching some attention our order was taken and we got a bottle of wine which we enjoyed, until at 8.40pm I asked for a manager as we still hadn't received our starters.This is now 1hr and 10mins from arrival. Starters arrived 10 mins later and plates taken away at 9.20pm and we waited, and waited, and waited until 9.40pm for mains to arrive.Finishing our mains at 10.10pm we reckoned we wouldn't have time for desserts before the place closed, so asked for the bill. Having complained to the manageress for a second time, we were told that the cost of our starters had been deducted from the bill which accounted for less than 20% of the total. The local magazine gives you 20% discount vouchers at the Coachman every month but I was told that we wouldn't be getting that deal unless I had the voucher with me. I felt that a common courtesy would have been to offer this considering the utter shambles of a night that we had endured, but no,I had to get my jacket on and walk home to get the voucher before it was given.We have eaten here before and it has been no better or worse than many bar/restaurants but this experience has to go down as one of the worst in 30 years of eating out.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    9
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Better than pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Recently renovated and opened up inside, The Coachman has always been a good family restaurant, serving honest food. Good value for money in comfortable surroundings. There is a function suite and a public bar, so it is always popular with locals. The Boat House, up the hill at Auchenstarry, doesn't seem to have taken the custom and this reflects the loyalty of the clientele, as well as commenting on the quality and value that The Coachman offers. On a personal note, I regret that they don't serve real ale.

Good, all-round hotel and restaurant: Rotary International seem to think so too!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

What a great place to eat, the Food, the service and the value for money is Fantastic. The staff are sooo friendly and very helpful, and the Menu has something for everyone. I would recommend the Coachman for a Family night/ works night out, or a quiet meal. Try it you will not be disapointed......

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good service, but don't like to take away dirty glasses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Four of us were at the Coachman Hotel for dinner. The restaurant was warm and friendly. The service was good the girls were attentive and the food was nice. Carrying on through the evening there seems to be an aversion to dirty glasses. Each time there was a dirty glass we actually had to ask for them to be taken away, as they would just keep walking past them. At one point when I handed the waitress a dirty glass she just placed it on the clean table next to us. Not nice to walk in somewere and see dirty glasses sitting on clean tables.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire
 
Cumbernauld, North Lanarkshire
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 

Been to The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.