We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Welcome to the Stoury Bothy!
Welcome to the Stoury Bothy!
Welcome to the Stoury Bothy!
Grounds outside and looking eastward.  Plenty parking spaces!.
Garden and outside seating area - perfect to use the barbecue!
Cosy up and relax or watch some television
Well eqipped kitchen provides all you should need.
Kilsyth
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
David S
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Marvellous time, wonderful host, cosy bothy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Decided to stay here since we wanted to visit both Edinburgh and Glasgow over the holiday weekend. We didn't expect it to be quite as cosy, comfortable and welcoming as it was. Close to a number of nice eating locations - recommend the Boat House. Easy transport into the centre of Glasgow, free parking at the train station which was 5 mins away. Coming home in the evening and enjoying the comforts of the bothy. Ace welcoming pack too, and extra bonus. Enjoyed the fresh eggs that were brought to us in the morning. We are definitely coming back, rather than staying in a hotel, whenever we visit Glasgow or Edinburgh.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The Hosts
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2013
Thank you David for your kind words. We are so pleased you had happy times and would gladly welcome you back any time. We are a country retreat in the middle of Scotland’s 2 main cities..Glasgow and Edinburgh and also very near Falkirk and Stirling and Loch Lomond. Some of our adventurous travellers have also popped up to Loch Ness and Glencoe for the day! Not bad!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
mccartney...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“The welcome and thoughtfulness made travelling with young children much easier!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Thanks to Heather for the warm welcome and providing everything we needed for our holiday! We stayed for nine days with a three year old and a three month old and by lending us everything from Moses Basket and baby sleeping bag to toys, Heather made our trip - not to mention packing - much easier!
Stoury Bothy provided us with a lovely cosy bolthole and we managed trips to Glasgow, Edinburgh, Perth and Oban using it as a base.
Definitely a cut above the average self-catering with a lovely welcome pack, fresh eggs and even slices of chocolate cake when one of her kids had a birthday - it all just made us feel so welcome and relaxed from the start.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Friendly welcome
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2013
Thank you so much Christine for your lovely words. We are glad you had a good holiday. We are happy to help out when people have children to cater for...even if it just means saving a bit of car boot space by letting me provide the baby basics! We would love to see you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
sparkdog1...
Chichester, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cosy bolt hole”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We have had a fabulous holiday at Stoury Bothy with our 16 month old daughter.

Having travelled 400 miles we were pleased to be welcomed by a friendly host, warm cosy bothy and everything we could need or want from toys for our daughter to play with to a generous welcome basket which meant we didn't have to pop out to the shops until the next day.

The Bothy is in a great location which has enabled us to explore Glasgow, Bridge of Allan, Stirling with its fabulous castle, the Falkirk Wheel, Loch Lomond, Anstruther and St Andrews in just a few days. It has been lovely to retreat to relaxing and tranquil surroundings in the evenings after a long day of exploring some of Scotland's treasures.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and cosiness
Liked least: Occupier operated heated towel rails in the bathroom would be useful
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and you seem to have seen a good bit of Central Scotland along the way. We would love to welcome you back any time. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kathy M
Suffolk, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The love shines through!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This little bothy is the "love-child" of Heather, the hostess. It perfectly reflects her bubbly, warm and welcoming personality. Much of the decor is beautifully and imaginatively hand-made and Heather has thought of virtually everything! There are far more bits and pieces provided than in most self-catering properties that first-timers to this type of holiday may be disappointed if they later expect the same elsewhere! She lives in the farmhouse which is attached to the bothy but due to its position along the side, it seems almost detached and Heather's family keeps a low-profile. It is, however, a working farm so there are the usual sounds of sheep, cows and tractors. A car is essential for this location as it's set up on a hill which provides marvellous views. Heather, thanks so much for providing such a lovely vacation spot!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The hostess and the decor!
Liked least: The driveway
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
simon H
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We highly recommend Stoury Bothy. This cosy holiday home is superbly appointed, clean and very comfortable. Heather is an excellent host; very friendly and helpful (ask about the Dumpling!) and the setting is magnificent. The Bothy adjoins a working farm with sheep, cows ( 2 calves were born whilst we were there) and hens. It is well placed as a base for travel to Edinburgh (the train from Croy takes roughly 30 mins), Stirling and to Loch Lomond (40 mins by car). In summary, an excellent wee holiday home!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location, Helpful owner, standard of the accommodation.
Liked least: The drive to the farm!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
smithfami...
Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cannot recommend this place highly enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed with our young family for 10 nights, and could not have had a more enjoyable stay. The property is tastefully and thoughtfully decorated, with very comfy beds & sofa, perfect for snuggling up on! The kitchen is equipped with everything you could need, and there was a plentiful supply of soft fluffy towels in the bathroom. Heather had also provided everything we could have possibly needed for the children (one of whom is a baby), even loaning some toys from her own children for ours to play with! We are a family of four and there was more than enough space for us all.

Being seasoned self-caterers, we had taken the essentials with us (salt & pepper, toilet rolls, washing up liquid etc), but all of these were provided, along with other basics like like bread, butter and orange juice, as well as some lovely treats. All in all an excellent and thoughtfully put together food hamper.

Heather and her family were very welcoming, but not at all intrusive, answering any questions we had and recommending places for us to visit. Heather 's husband Dov kindly allowed our 5 year old son to spend time "helping" him on the farm, and he also had a great time playing with their children. He definitely made some new friends, so much so that he cried when it was time to leave, a sure sign he'd had a great holiday!

This property is well located for easy day-trips to Glasgow, Stirling, Edinburgh and Loch Lomond, although a car would definitely be needed - just take your time coming up the road to the farm!

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday here, would happily stay again and cannot recommend it highly enough.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Comfy property, great location.
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2013
Thank you S for your lovely review. I am glad you had a good holiday and hope your little Cs friend's back home really believe what he got up to on his holidays!.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Shashini
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fasinating views. Excellent hospitality. Very relaxing and Comfortable stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had lovely stay in Scotland at Heather's place in July 2013, wish I had more holidays to stay there! I took my parents who came on a holiday from Sri Lanka and they loved the way they were treated by Heather.

The place located in a tranquill area and was very neat and tidy with a very clean and modern bathroom. Heather was so concerned and thoughtful so she had provided everything you feel that is necessary for your stay. Heather had been very thoughtful to prepared a lovely food basket with Scottish bread, butter, cheese, biscuits and etc. We enjoyed the farm fresh eggs that were available in her farm. They are HUGE :)

There are superstores (Asda and Tesco) withing 8 miles so it was very convenient for us to buy things. Its and ideal place if you want a relaxing and calm holiday as well as for sight seeing.

The owner (Heather) lives next to the cottage and her little ones were so adorable and very well behaved. They invited us for a camp fire as well :)
It was well worthy stay and we have no hesitation in recommending Stoury Bothy to anyone. This will definitely be our home when we come to Scotland again!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Calm, quiet and relaxing stay
Liked least: returning home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$109
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Heather H
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2013
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 14 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing