We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming dining room on a long road” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Red House Hotel to your Saves list
The Red House Hotel
Station Road, Coupar Angus PH13 9AL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coupar Angus
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Welcoming dining room on a long road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I had dinner twice at the Red House Hotel dining room during a recent trip to the highlands. The first time was after a long drive from Edinburgh to Ballater and the second time we went out of our way to have dinner there again. The large dining rooms are part of a medium sized and comfortable looking hotel, and the outer dining room has a good view of a small garden. The menu has a wide range of choices, fast friendly service, helpful staff and reasonable prices. We had the daily specials when we visited and did not have room for dessert. Several tour busses were leaving both times and they appeared to have a separate dining room set up for these guests. Worth a visit if you are staying there or passing through.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    27
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
31
17
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

A group of 20 golfers stayed here on the23rd of may for the weekend the hotel was really nice resturaunt was great food was excellent the staff although quite young were also excellent in fact not one of the group had any complaints whatsoever I would recommend this hotel to groups like ours without hesitation

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great service from Alan and all his staff,A group of 20 golfers stayed 2 nights and played 3 rounds food fantastic , fillet steak to die for rooms good and free wifi throughout the hotel . Played rosemount landsdowne and glenisla . All courses very good but rosemount was great and in fab condition . If you are looking to book a group off golfers then Alan will take care of all your needs ,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Today myself an my wife stopped at the Red house hotel. In Coupar Angus and I ordered their Jumbo Haddock. It came with a portion of chips(French fries) and a portion of peas, with a side dish of Horse raddish sauce. (Ready made and obviously from a catering sized Jar bought in from some catering company)

The Chips(French fries, again most probably bought in from the same catering company) tasted of nothing recognisable However,they were remarkable in their consistency, all of them I tried, having the texture of I would presume, deep fried Chip board, hard and difficult to masticate, were left practically untouched.
Now comes the Jumbo Haddock. Not at all Jumbo but a little larger than a normal lunch time portion, was insipid, semi transparent and utterly tasteless. I am positive I was served Pollock (Coley or Cole fish) the cheapest fish and the most tasteless fish that ever was drawn ashore. Coley was used as animal food till other fine Scottish fish were sold abroad or overfished . Nowadays it is sold as a whitefish alongside the better species.
I Fail to see why The red House restaurant would serve cheap pre cooked Chips, (French fries and the cheapest of peas, alongside fine a Aberdeen landed Haddock. No restaurant "worth it's salt" would.
Avoid this place or, pay what you feel it is worth, which you are quite within your rights to do.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Excellent service and food. Very friendly place and handy for the Blairgowrie Golf Courses. Stayed with my wife one night and another after our golf at Rosemount. Good value for money and looking forward to going back this September.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I had a delicious lunch (Carvery Lunch) on Sunday 27th April 2014. Both starters were beautifully presented, my husband had Stornoway black pudding with poached egg placed on top, and a lovely fresh salad. I had chicken liver pate with onion chutney, a fresh salad and oatcakes.
We both opted for the carvery which offered roast beef and pork loin. Boiled potatoes, roast potatoes, carrots, a mixture of cauli, broccoli and cabbage, and the most wonderful real gravy to enhance it. The meats were perfectly cooked and the portions were very generous. The service was very attentive without being in your face, and the dining room was indeed a pleasure to dine in. We certainly will return there. It also offers a very large parking area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

So refreshing to experience such a quality offering that beats the budget chains hands down & on price as well ! Rooms were immaculate & comfortable, food fresh & plentiful , staff welcoming friendly & helpful ... oh & it had the sports channels - no budget hotel offers you that in your room. used it as a 3 night base for business in the area, highly recommended for golf, shooting or just a base for travel in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Coupar Angus PH13 9AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Coupar Angus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coupar Angus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red House Hotel is a family run Hotel & Restaurant in the heart of Coupar Angus, Perthshire. Each of our bedrooms is en-suite and encompasses all the comforts of home. All the rooms have satellite TV, direct dial telephone and free WiFi throughout the hotel. The Hotel has an exciting mix of traditional and modern foods, served all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Red House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.