We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer holiday close to home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bucaco Sud - Betty's Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betty's Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bucaco Sud - Betty's Bay
Save
You added Bucaco Sud - Betty's Bay to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2609 Clarence Drive | Main road or R44, Betty's Bay 7141, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Betty's Bay B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Summer holiday close to home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Bucaco Sud for our summer holiday break.we thoroughly enjoyed it! The manager, Beatie, is an excellent and caring hostess. The breakfasts are really to die for and I liked the fact that you could choose from a health to a English breakfast. We stayed in the sea facing room upstairs and was disappointed with the Victorian bath. It is small and not standing stable. It is not advisable to stay in this room if your hubbie isn't a stickman. The swimming pool was also not clean enough to swim in and that was a big dissappointment for us.

Still a lovely quiant B + B to stay at! Strongly recommends this place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
25
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Family guest house with wonderful view of the ocean. We were welcomed and made to feel at home. The rooms are comfortable and although we only spent a night it was most enjoyable. Breakfast to die for!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

12 years ago, BTK, (before the kids) my wife and I visited this quaint B&B in Betty's Bay, we were completely enamoured with it then.
I was playing golf just up the road, and we decided to stay over in Betty's Bay, and the 1st spot that came to mind was Bucaco Sud.
we were warmly greeted by the hostess, who showed us to our room, and advised us where to go for dinner.
The breakfast was perfect, a combination of fruit and hard boiled egg with strong coffee (yummy)

The 2 resident cats felt out of place due to the fact that one of the other guests were allergic (not nice been put out in the rain)

On the whole it was a great weekend away, and would highly reccomend B S to all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful weekend stay. The lounge with the views and a cozy fireplace was a great place to while away the rainy morning. The room was comfortable and nice. Beatty and Sandra went to a great deal of trouble to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we need. Bettys Bay offers wonderful hiking, and is a great place to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I heard that the owner wanted to sell the place. That's probably the reason why I got the feeling that things were getting somewhat neglected. Buçaco Sud is not as nice as it used to be, even though there is still a very nice view! Obviously, this place needs a refurbishment and a stronger management.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I was well relaxed by the time we returned home from our visit in Bettys Bay, and picked up a few extra kilos.

We enjoyed the scenery, and the quiet beaches in the area. We took long walks every morning.

What surprised us was the friendliness of the people in the area. We made a few new friends, while staying in the guest house Bucaco Sud.

We were treated well by Jean and Beatie.

Hope to visit you again

Chantelle Brummer

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea, main road a bit noisy, just drink more wine lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent three nights at Bucaco Sud over the recent holiday's and have found a gem worthy of many repeat visits. Jean and Beatie offer suburb personal service, so much so that they made a dinner reservation at a fantastic restaurant before our arrival!
The house is charming and offers privacy and extraordinary views of the mountains and ocean. Breakfasts are personally prepared to order and are scrumptious. The secluded pool is a perfect place to unwind after a day of hiking, surfing and exploring.
We highly recommend a visit to Bucaco Sud.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bucaco Sud - Betty's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucaco Sud - Betty's Bay

Address: 2609 Clarence Drive | Main road or R44, Betty's Bay 7141, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Betty's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Betty's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bucaco Sud - Betty's Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Betty's Bay on the scenic whale coast route between Cape Town and Hermanus. Being a part of Southern Africa's first internationally recognized UNESCO Biosphere Nature Reserve A Provencal style home, with great ambience and attention to detail. Set against the Kogelberg, with a swimming pool and towering mountain in the back garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bucaco Sud - Betty's Bay South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bucaco Sud - Betty's Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.