We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betty's Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B
Save
You added Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B to your Saves list
3273 Albertyn Drive, Betty's Bay 7141, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Betty's Bay B&B and Inns
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

This place has it all! Stunning location, beautiful rooms, hearty breakfast with warm and friendly hosts. Administration of booking was also effortless and hassle free. We would definitely recommend this B&B! Excellent stay!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandenbergs, Owner at Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi RenevdM,
Thanks for the great review. It was our pleasure hosting you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you soon.
Best regards.
Era & Raoul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Van Den Berghs is an excellent guesthouse. In the selfcatering units you can make almost anything and the homemade breakfast was devine. Era and Raoul are formiddable hosts! I really had the most lovely stay with them!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandenbergs, Owner at Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi Hann7ke,
Thanks for a great review. We enjoyed hosting you and you are welcome anytime. Hope to see you soon.

Era & Raoul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We found an absolute gem when we stayed at the Van Den Berg's Guesthouse in Betty's Bay. Raoul and Era were wonderful and friendly hosts who were eager to point out the best activities in the area. The rooms are modern, clean and very well equiped - and the breakfast was excellent! We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandenbergs, Owner at Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Craig,
Thanks for the great review. It was a pleasure hosting you guys. We enjoyed your company and the "aero talk" is always great, never loose it.
Hope to see you soon.
Best regards.
Era & Raoul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I was so impressed with the van den Berg's guesthouse. The room was beautifully decorated, exceptionally clean and well equipped. The van den Berg's were also incredibly hospitable and really made us feel welcome. We particularly enjoyed a lovely glass of wine on the balcony overlooking the sea on the first night of our stay with the other guests and our hosts. We will definitely be back and I highly recommend that those going to Betty's Bay stay at the van den Berg's guesthouse.

Room Tip: I would recommend trying to stay upstairs to get the best view possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandenbergs, Owner at Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Maryann,
Thanks for a wonderful review, it was a pleasure hosting you and we enjoyed your company.
Hope to see you soon.
Best regards.
Era & Raoul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We spent two nights at van den Berg's guest house in Betty's Bay, during February of this year. A well located spacious guest house, with tremendous attention to detail. Hosts Era & Raoul ensured a most pleasant stay and kept us well informed of all points of interest in the area.

Room Tip: Sea or mountain views are available. Equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandenbergs, Owner at Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi Martin & Suzi,
Thanks for a great review. It was our pleasure hosting you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you soon.
Friendliest regards.
Era & Raoul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My girlfriend and I came up for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary and valentines day. Couldn't of picked a better place to stay! Era & Raoul were very kind and helpful, made sure we had everything we needed and were very knowledgeable about the area and all the activities to do in the area. They even gave us a booking at a very good restaurant called "The Tides" on Valentines Day. We stayed in the honeymoon suite, great little apartment with full dstv, small kitchen with everything you need, fancy bathroom and a big bedroom. Raoul even borrowed us his sand boards and told us where to go for some great sand boarding in the area. Definitely recommend staying there if you are wanting to go to Betty's Bay.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite faces the ocean, and leads onto main balcony on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandenbergs, Owner at Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hi Calvin & Kara,
Thanks for a wonderful review and I am really glad to see that you enjoyed some of the adventures the Overberg has to offer.
It was our pleasure hosting you and you are welcome anytime.
Hope to see you soon.
Kindest regards.
Era & Raoul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

What a pleasant surprise this little B&B was that a friend of ours found. Not only are the rooms fantastic, the warm & friendly welcome by the owners Era and Raoul was memorable. The breakfast is delicious and the location is perfect!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandenbergs, Owner at Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Hi RemeHarber,

Thank you for your great review, it was also fabulous to see that you enjoyed what the Overberg region has to offer based on your other reviews of the penguins and restaurant. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your friends and you are welcome anytime to experience the other gems that Overberg has to offer.

Friendliest regards.

Era & Raoul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B

Address: 3273 Albertyn Drive, Betty's Bay 7141, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Betty's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Betty's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious and spacious guesthouse with its well appointed guests units and the scenic environment will satisfy your requirements. Everything, from the gastronomic breakfasts and dinners, experiencing the Fynbos, enjoying the beaches, relaxing on the patio and drinking in the sights, to partaking in the many adventures the region has to offer is there to please you. We also have stunning views of the Overberg Mountains to the north, Walker Bay to the east and the Atlantic Ocean to the south.Adventures on offer are:• Hiking in the Overberg Mountains• Enjoying the many beaches• Boating in the ocean• Motorcycle riding• Water skiing and wakeboarding on the lagoon• Sand boarding on the dunes• Cray fishing and fishing in season• Whale watching• Wine tasting and visits to the wine districts• Sightseeing, exploring the Cape• Visit Harold Porter National Botanical Garden an international heritage site• Visit one of only two African penguin breeding colonies• Shop for local arts and crafts in Kleinmond’s famous Harbour Road or have a snack/meal at one of the many restaurants• And much, much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Den Bergs Guesthouse/B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.