We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canalta Oyen

Save Saved
You added Canalta Oyen to your Saves list
Canalta Oyen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canalta Oyen
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Junction Hwy 9 & 41 | Box 120, Oyen, Alberta T0J2J0, Canada (Formerly Oyen Super 8)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Oyen B&B and Inns
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful large room with a king bed, incredible breakfast that was a buffet more than a continental, and wonderful customer service. A bit pricey at $152 for the standard, but was worth it. We stayed here to split up the trip to Calgary and were glad we did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Just want to send a thank you for your great review. It's great to have some feedback from our guests and to know that we are doing a good job. Hope to see you soon.
Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
3
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Very busy little hotel. My kids and I stayed here on the way to Calgary to break the trip up a little. Lots of workers staying but they all leave early so it's a nice quiet breakfast. Service was great and everyone, including housekeepers were so nice! Rooms were large with basic furnishings but very clean. The hot tub is like a little kids pool which we appreciated. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments,your feed back is extremely important to us. Our goal at Canalta Oyen is customer appreciation and satisfaction,it was nice to see we reached our goal.It would be a pleasure to serve you again in the future.

Thank You
Julia Callarec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We were stuck in Oyen with no where to go because of the horrible driving conditions when we stopped in this hotel. There were 30 other people and the staff told us that there was no rooms left, but they said that we could stay in the lobby all night if needed. At this point we didn't care so we thought it was great. The staff then preceded to make all of us dinner - amazing pulled pork and soup. Our luck changed when a room had opened up with two beds so they asked if we could share with two others and we said sure it was a bed to sleep in. One man had already paid for the room for one of his construction workers that didn't show so we were all set. We were very surprised by how big the rooms were, twice the size of the hotel we had stayed in in calgary.
All in all the most amazing hospitality and the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in in a small town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and your kind words. My team and I was happy to help in a time like that. We was glad that you enjoyed the lunch. We hope that you will chose the Canalta Oyen the next time that you visit or driving through

Thank You
Julia Callarec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

What a lovely hotel to be stormstayed in...Thank you to all the staff who were very helpful and made sure our stay was awesome. A bad blizzard and icy roads and road closure stopped us in our tracks on the way back to Saskatoon last weekend. I would highly recommend to stay there...AND the Continental breakfast is like no other.....Its more like a buffet....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for all the kind comments my team and I were very happy that we could help in a time of need,we hope you will visit us again at a time more relaxing. Is was so nice to hear that you were pleased with the services,our gold is to make all our guests as comfortable as possible.

Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon,SK Canada
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
455 helpful votes 455 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We ducked in here during some of the worst driving conditions I have seen in years. This place is right along the highway but I never noticed any noise. Paid $131 CAA rate mid week.

The rooms were spacious, modern and well appointed. The linnens and beds were very good. The room had a small fridge, microwave, wet bar and independant heat control. :)

There was a hot tub and fitness room that we never got to use.There was a dvd rental machine in the lobby.

Breakfast was included and consisted of scrambled eggs, frech toast, DIY fresh waffles, bacon, sausages several cereals and juice/ fruit. It was actually pretty good and made the slightly above average price a little easier to stomach, so to speak.

The only other thing around is a coop gas station/ convienience store next door and a campground.

I would stay here again in a heart beat if I ever had to.

Please click helpful below if it was. Thnx for reading.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am so glad that we provided a refuge in the storm. We apprieciate your kind comments regarding your accommadations, our breakfast and hotel clealiness. We hope to see you again in much better weather.


All the best
Julia Callerac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It was a nice, quiet place to stay. The rooms were clean. The breakfast was great. I was glad to have found a place to stay between Saskatoon and Calgary. The staff was very helpful. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for for your kind word regarding your stay at the Canalta Oyen
I am always happy to hear that my guest are comfortable and feel welcome at our hotel
I do hope to share our hospitality with you again

All the best
Julia Callerac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Had to stay in the area for work, was happy that there was a new place in Oyen. Room was very clean and spacious, and hallways and room were well lit (I despise gloomy hotel hallways). Decent breakfast choices, staff were constantly out making sure it was all in order. Front desk staff were helpful and efficient. Would stay again if I have work anywhere in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanaltaOyen, General Manager at Canalta Oyen, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your review, we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyen
That Country Place 5.0 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
View all 0 hotels in Oyen, ranked by popularity

Been to Canalta Oyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalta Oyen

Address: Junction Hwy 9 & 41 | Box 120, Oyen, Alberta T0J2J0, Canada (Formerly Oyen Super 8)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Oyen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Oyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Canalta Oyen 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Canalta Oyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canalta Oyen Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canalta Oyen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.