We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and a lovely venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Falcon Inn

The Falcon Inn
Fotheringhay PE8 5HZ, England
01832 226254
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $32 - $73
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The award winning Falcon Inn nestles with the heart of the village of Fotheringhay, famous as the birth place of Richard III and the place where Mary Queen of Scots ended her days after being held captive in Fotheringhay castle for 12 years. From fine ingredients, sourced locally where possible, our frequently changing menus offer something for all, from traditional wholesome bar food to delicious a la carte cuisine. Our friendly and enthusiastic team will welcome you back again and again.Enjoy our wonderful food, along with fine wines and real ales, in charming surroundings. Log fires, fresh flowers, a beautiful garden and conservatory overlooking the splendid church... a truly lovely experience.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food and a lovely venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We drove by on a lovely warm day to be greeted in a smashing place by the polite and friendly staff. The food was excellent, well presented and on the two course offer, very good value. However I would have paid of the a la carte as it was so good. Take a drive, drop in and enjoy, we will be back

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    40
    20
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely village setting for summer lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Having eaten here over many years we thought as we were back in the area we would treat ourselves. The whole dining experience hasn't changed, it's a wonderful setting. I was sadly disappointed in my risotto. Greasy and tasteless, although my husband enjoyed his local sausages.
It's friendly and the service is good, I was just disappointed in my meal. The puddings were first rate though!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east midlands
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Civilised Lunch in the Country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Three of us had a midweek lunch at the Falcon. My wife and I had been several times before and always found the standard good. On this occasion it was maintained with all three of us eating well from the short lunch menu. We ate in the bar as the the conservatory and the rear garden were booked for a wedding. The bar is quite small and an irregular shape which makes it feel a bit cramped but that aside it was a very successful lunch and the place was much admired by my American cousin. That was helped by the really amiable and efficient service headed up by [I think] the owner.

A very satisfying experience overall.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent, relaxed Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Welcoming and efficient staff, excellent food - much of it sourced locally, and beautifully presented. We ate in the conservatory and it was full, with a lovely friendly atmosphere. Lovely village. Very relaxed and enjoyable meal. Will certainly make an effort to return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Didn't meet expectations.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Sunday Lunch with friends, I thought as the menu was small that this was a good sign, unfortunately not, starters were OK Five of us ordered sirloin of Beef for our main course, we were all asked how we would like it cooked. All the dishes arrived 'Well Done' when we questioned the waitress as she placed the plates in front of us instead of asking who wanted the rare the medium etc, she conceded there was an issue. The meat was extremely tough and hard work. The service was not great. I never ordered a dessert.

A Shame, beautiful village setting with lovely church to gaze at.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Falcon Inn also viewed

 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Falcon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Falcon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.