We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Falcon Inn

The Falcon Inn
Fotheringhay PE8 5HZ, England
01832 226254
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $32 - $73
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The award winning Falcon Inn nestles with the heart of the village of Fotheringhay, famous as the birth place of Richard III and the place where Mary Queen of Scots ended her days after being held captive in Fotheringhay castle for 12 years. From fine ingredients, sourced locally where possible, our frequently changing menus offer something for all, from traditional wholesome bar food to delicious a la carte cuisine. Our friendly and enthusiastic team will welcome you back again and again.Enjoy our wonderful food, along with fine wines and real ales, in charming surroundings. Log fires, fresh flowers, a beautiful garden and conservatory overlooking the splendid church... a truly lovely experience.
Henley on Thames, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went with business clients to the Falcon Inn in January 2013. They had discovered this quaint pub/restaurant on a trip in December and all 11 of them wished to repeat the experience - so it must have been good.

Great fireplace, good bar staff and selection of beers - so a great start. 12 of us chose meals from a good menu selection over the bar and then went through to dinning table in the 'conservatory'. Comfy, warm but the best was the service. 12 demanding people got served promptly, coped with changes in orders without fuss, and for the most part got the orders correctly. Many people ordered the steak but most had theirs coooked slightly differently (as you do) - medium, rare, no dairy (i.e. no sauces or butter) and it all came out well.

I had home made ham hock terrine with home made piccalili - great choice and lamb chops for main. Wanted pink, came pink and very good they were too. Many of my dining companions had steaks and no one complained at all. Cheese platter for dessert was excellent with some nice touches on the pickle and bread front too.

The conservatory is being re-done this year apparently but hopefully this isn't going to disrupt a good restaurant and excellent service. Worth a visit whilst sightseeing Fotheringay and surrounds.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally F, Owner at The Falcon Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our new Orangery opens on 10th March and looks fabulous so I do hope we see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    40
    21
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to eat or just sit and have a quiet drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Been here a few times for food and for drinks. Amazing relaxed atmosphere at this pub set in a small village. Great location and great choice of home cooked food and bar snacks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally F, Owner at The Falcon Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you - we love the relaxed atmosphere too and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“This is the best place to eat in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I love the food at The Falcon. We highly recommend it, definitely the best place to eat in the area!
We recently had my husbands 30th Birthday there, it was fantastic! We hired The Cottage next door and had a private do. Great for any occasion.
The food and service is always exceptional, and the whole team are really friendly and welcoming. Its never a problem to request extras either, one of the chefs made a giant pavlova as a birthday cake, which was amazing!!
Will look forward to lots more meals there in the future!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyFalcon, Owner at The Falcon Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind review..... we really enjoyed having you here - what a lovely group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely family meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a birthday meal here with the family, there were approx 20 of us all different ages. We felt very welcome and had a great meal. It was Sunday lunch, I'm not sure how much it cost, but everyone seemed to enjoy themselves. Had a lovely walk around the village afterwards. We would certainly recommend it for a family get together.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyFalcon, Owner at The Falcon Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not Friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Last week was our first time in Fotheringhay. We went to the pub for an eveing meal on Sunday. The bar staff didn't seem to want to serve us even though it wasn't busy. When our meal arrived they hadn't laid up the table or given us anything to eat it with! The food, from the bar menu, wasn't particularly good - salad out of a packet and passed its best, new potatoes looked and tasted as if they had been re-hashed from lunch time. We were very disappointed as it looked a lovely pub in a lovely village. We have visited a couple of other pubs in the area and found them to be very welcoming and food/service very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally F, Owner at The Falcon Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
My goodness....This is a really surprising review which of course I will look into.... The staff here are well known for being extremely friendly. If you could call me and let me know which Sunday it was you visited us I would love to look into it further - many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Falcon Inn also viewed

 
Empingham, Rutland
 

Been to The Falcon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Falcon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.