We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quaint B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge Lawn Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Lodge Lawn Cottage Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fotheringhay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodge Lawn Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Lodge Lawn Cottage Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Lodge Lawn, Main St, Fotheringhay PE8 5HZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Fotheringhay B&B and Inns
Manly, Australia
1 review
“Lovely, quaint B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Lovely bed and breakfast in a lovely English village. Hosts were super kind and cooked us a delicious breakfast. Great pub down the road too. Room very comfortable. 100% recommended for a weekend away in the countryside.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed at Lodge Lawn for our first night after our wonderful wedding and it was the perfect start to our marriage. The cottage was quaint and very English country cottage like, I loved all the beautiful fabrics used to make the cottage unique. The proprieter had even hung a congratulation sign for us which was a sweet gesture.
Breakfast was good and the fresh fruit was welcome with strong coffee, luckily the weather was great so we could sit out on the patio in the morning sun. How I wish we could spend every morning like this.
I would recommend a stay at Lodge Lawn and if you love unique country settings which are cosy and romantic then this is a great place to stay.
Thanks for a perfect first night.... we will be back for our anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorbier, tenby
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

for the independent couple needing a very comfortable, tastefully done, immaculate accommodation. We most enjoyed our continental breakfast sitting in the garden in the peace and quiet of a beautiful village

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

We spent the month of May in England, staying in five different B&B's in different parts of the country. All of them were in the price range of Lodge Lawn Cottage (£70-80 per night). Compared to the others, the room here was tiny -- there was no place to lay out our clothes, the bed was small, moving about was difficult. Other B&B's in this price range served very hearty full English breakfasts in a dining room elsewhere in the house. Here we ate on a small couch in the room, balancing plates on our laps, and the food was yogurt in plastic cups, cereal in small boxes, and breads and fruits from the local supermarket.

The room was newly renovated, and the hosts were quite kind and friendly. I would recommend it heartily if the price were to drop to somewhere closer to £40 to £50 per night and if you were not traveling with more than a small bag of clothes and had somewhere else to eat breakfast. As is, the proprietors have probably opened the place at the wrong price point.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallyloveday, Owner at Lodge Lawn Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 25, 2010
I was disappointed Steve did not come and discuss his problems with me so I could try to help him out. I could have offered to cook breakfast for him and his wife. I try to consider all our guests individual needs. Steve had access to our computor facilities, for example, to book his boarding passes and weighed his many suitcases on our scales. Steve and his wife had many delicious foods including English strawberries, local raspberries, full fruit jams, fresh ground coffee, Rachel's organic yoghurts, Dorset cereals, Copella apple juice and wholemeal bread. Steve, larger than life by his own admission, at over 20 stone should perhaps have viewed our cosy cottage more thoroughly before booking.
Lodge Lawn Cottage has this week been assessed by the Visit Britain inspector for 2010 and has been awarded four stars hence the charge is the same as other four stars in this historic area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lodge Lawn Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Lawn Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lodge Lawn, Main St, Fotheringhay PE8 5HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Fotheringhay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fotheringhay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge Lawn Cottage is set in a delightful garden in the historic village of Fotheringhay, near the market towns of Oundle and Stamford. The cottage is separate from the house. It has its own garden terrace with seating. The double bedroom with en-suite has its own front door so that you can be totally private. The garden is a wonderful retreat from the busy world. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge Lawn Cottage Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.