We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, very comfortable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikava Harbour View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waikawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waikava Harbour View
Save
You added Waikava Harbour View to your Saves list
14 Larne Street, Waikawa, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great views, very comfortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Beautiful views off the deck! This unit (4 bedroom lodge) was very clean and moden. Small issue on check-in (key pickup location was closed for the day due to a funeral), but everyone was very helpful and we had the key within 30 minutes! Wish we had brought laptops with an ethernet connection (only had wifi devices), but there was certainly plenty to see and do without the connection to the outside world.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    23
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Absolutely beautiful! LOVED the heated mattress pad - best sleep EVER! perfect location - close to so many things to see and do! very clean and cozy. Niagara Falls restaurant down the road was fabulous as well! We will DEFINITELY here again (and we're pretty picky!). Our only regret was that we were only here for one night and we arrived late in the evening...would have loved more time! Our suggestion is to stay here for 2 nights at least...don't rush through!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmwoods, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We loved relaxing in this comfortable little cottage in the heart of the breathtakingly beautful Catlins wilderness area. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikawa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

A true slice of paradice is what this place has to offer, even with the rain i loved being here. Awake to the beautiful sound of bird song only to look out the window and see boats in the not so far distance, and a combination of breathtaking new zealand bush and beach.
This place was the perfect getaway for myself and my young daughter, with bush walks and rock pools right at your doorstep what more could you ask for. The cosy Harakeke lodge was perfect for our small family. This fully self contained cottage had all i could have needed. With its gas top cookers and microwave, to the dvd player and dvds. . (perfect for those not so perfect days), This place was above and beyond my expectations. 5+ stars

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We spent one night at the Waikava Harbour View and it was exactly what we were looking for. Lodge very well equiped, amazing views and quiet area. It was very relaxing. Kitchen fully furnished, good for longer stay. The Catlins are beautiful, lot of walks to do, sites to visit, prefect if you like nature! We would definitively recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Very conveniently located across the museum, the one bedroom unit we stayed at is very new, well maintained and comfortable. Definitely value for money. My e-mail for a request to extend check-out went un-answered. Since most visitors in Catlins come for a quiet, relaxing holiday, I think the check-out time should be 12 Noon (not 10am), so that people can wake-up leisurely and not be hurried in the morning. Most visitors will not mind a check-in time of 2pm-4pm.

Room Tip: Harakeke is suitably designed for wheelchair
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We found this property through our Bartercard agent and was very pleased as this allowed us to get away from Queenstown for a short break and take our poodles. Overall the experience was great... BUT due to the time of year and the 3 Low Fronts we were stranded for the 3 nights that we stayed.... i.e. we couldn't go anywhere due to the rain.. rain...rain... oh and did I not mention the WIND & thunder!!! oh boy that blew and rained the whole time we stayed. This was not a problem as we had a warm house - 4 beds 2 bath.

My only complaint is that being confined to the house for all those days there was no comfortable sodas to curl up in and read a good book, which I had brought with me. The one sofa was a 2-seater fold out bed and the rest were waiting room chairs and so uncomfortable and not good for sitting long periods on... ohh sore bottom!!

Also there was no provision "anywhere" in the house if the power went out!! No local no. to call. No candles for light. No torch for light. No open fire for warmth...or gas bottle for the b-b-que to cook ... totally in the dark and getting colder. The power was out for approx. 2hrs. The power was going out on and off over the day.. so during the daylight hours it was not too bad and after bedtime okay!.

Could not get hold of the owner, museum or guy next door. Freedom campers outside the door. BUT the biggest pleasure was that we could have our beloved poodles with us and not have to put them in a kennel. We are very gratefully for that.... Overall we enjoyed our stay in the Catlins and would come again in better weather... though I would suggest that u bring sandfly repealent as the house sits on an Estuary.

Don't forget to bring alll your food. The only thing that is provided is tea,coffee & sugar sachets & P&S & little milk portions. So come prepared and have a wonderful time.

This propperty consists of a 4 bd/rm 2 bth/rm hse, a two cabins along side.

Brought our camera and camcorder... but far too wet to take any photos... the photos would hv bn just as good as the ones already on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikava Harbour View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikava Harbour View

Address: 14 Larne Street, Waikawa, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Waikawa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Waikawa
Number of rooms: 24

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikava Harbour View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.