We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Curio Bay Camp Ground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waikawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Curio Bay Camp Ground
601 Waikawa-Curio Bay Rd, Waikawa, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Set in a stunning location with good private sites. Shop on site, which is helpful as there is little in town. Facilities terrible (not brave enough to face the showers), but great for a night with easy access to both Porpoise Bay and Curio Bay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We camped here for a night and absolutely loved the area. We had a campsite on a cliff, with the sea at our doorstep - stunning. You could see Hector's Dolphins in Porpoise Bay, we caught the Yellow Eyed Penguins at dusk, we went surfing with the local surf instructor - all fantastic experiences. However, be aware that the facilities are pretty poor. The toilets and showers are ancient, the "kitchen" is essentially a couple of hot plates and a kettle in a hut. We knew all of this from reading reviews before so just prepared accordingly - we heated water for tea, coffee and our dehydrated meal, we managed to shower, etc. Another downside is perhaps the reservation system for tent sites. We had set up our tent in what appeared to be one "site" according to the map provided, however another tent was set up behind us. It was a busy weekend (Easter) so I assume this isn't usually the norm.

All of the above said, however, the camping was the cheapest we had all trip, so perhaps the facilities are proportional to this? Mostly though, the location is so good I'm sure the campground can get away without maintaining facilities. It would be fantastic if they paid attention to these reviews, though, and renovated kitchen and shower facilities. They would be spectacular then!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a great location. It must always be windy here going by other reviews, which was what it was when we were there. The site situated between 2 beaches, is great. Very private, between the hedges. Hectors Dolphins on one beach, playing in the surf along a lovely sandy stretch and rocks, seals and penguins on the other. The penguin beach was barred off, tho', so could only view (a lone penguin) from the distance. Apparently the seals come up to the campsite, which I was willing them to do, but we didn't see any. As said by one and all, the showers were pretty basic, we were willing to "have a go" but paying for them put us off, we used our own in the end. Didn't even look at the loos, but glad I didn't from the reviews. What a shame this site isn't better looked after. The hosts are friendly enough, the location is amazing and with just a few updates this could be a really amazing place to be.. All in all a good place to stay for a one night stop over.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Shropshire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Catlins is a fantastic area but this campsite was the worst we stayed at during one month in New Zealand. Stayed for just one night on a powered site with a campervan. The actual plots are very private with tall flax on three sides. The fees were very cheap but we would have gladly paid more for useable facilities. The showers and toilet blocks were built at the time of Noah's Ark, were very small, dirty and cold, being open to the elements and the showers were at extra cost too. Some investment in new facilities is badly needed. When we were there, the weather was very wet, cold and extremely windy so we did not even set foot outside the van. Service was also very poor as the office/shop did not open until 9.00 am. and it was quite a distance to any shop. A shame we could not even go see the penguins. Visited the petrified forest next morning when at least it had stopped raining. Hope to visit the Catlins at some time in the future in perhaps better weather but definitely not at this campsite. There must be alternatives in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waikawa hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This holiday park is in a absolute fantastic location. Beautiful!!! The sites are nice and private, but muddy (we had rain on the day we arrived). The toilets are okay. The showers are old, small and not very clean. The kitchen is very small. However the camp ground doesn't cost much so you get what you pay for. And we enjoyed it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

...but facilities are indeed quite basic. Nonetheless, for the pleasure of staying in this incredible place it may be worth forgetting about the high standards of the city life and just enjoy the nature and the beauty of this little gem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent five weeks touring the South Island of NZ in a camper and stayed at Curio Bay for one night on a powered site.

The sites themselves were fantastic - we had one set amongst the flax and it was completely private, we felt like we were the only people there! The site is also within easy walking distance to the beach for penguin viewing and the spectacular petrified forest.

The let down for us was that, whilst the site was fairly cheap at $27, showers were an additional cost and facilities were VERY basic. Basically showers were in a tin shed and toilets were typical bush style. We stayed in some pretty basic places on our travels but the showers here were probably the worst we came across, given the lovely surroundings it really would be worth putting some money towards an upgrade of the showers at least. Otherwise we had a pleasant stay but if it wasn't for the surrounding wildlife we probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Curio Bay Camp Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curio Bay Camp Ground

Address: 601 Waikawa-Curio Bay Rd, Waikawa, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Waikawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Waikawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curio Bay Camp Ground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Curio Bay Camp Ground to your Saves list