We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Million Dollar Place with Million Dollar View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bread and Cheese Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bay Bulls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bread and Cheese Country Inn
Save
You added The Bread and Cheese Country Inn to your Saves list
48A Bread and Cheese Road, Bay Bulls, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 1C0 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Bay Bulls B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wheatley, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Million Dollar Place with Million Dollar View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Book it...book it...book it! What a fabulous place. The view is spectacular! The lawn is gorgeous...you don't see much lawn in NL, but the Bread & Cheese had the greenest lawn and quite the frontage on the bay. We spent a lot of time outdoors exploring just the property of the Inn. With only a 40 minute drive from St. John's, drive out to the Bread and Cheese for a good hospitality, great views, great food and a clean room! We had such a great time. We will return some day to enjoy the whales in July from the Inn's backyard!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We just spent a lovely night in Bay Bulls at Bread and Cheese. Our room was spotless, the front porch inviting and the view out of our window was incomparable. We had spent the day picnicking at the Ferryland lighthouse and then drove around the entire Irish Loop. We were ready to crash, so decided to have dinner at the inn. So glad we did. The cod was delicious and the sides were too. A wonderful gingerbread cake finished off a fine meal.

Two days later we discovered that we had left a raincoat in the closet with two more weeks of hiking in Newfoundland facing us. A quick phone call to Rita, the wonderful innkeeper, and the problem was solved. She offered to drive the forgotten coat into St Johns to be picked up by a driver who would then deliver it to us at another inn half way across Newfoundland. Words can't describe how accommodating this was of her. So ... Going to be in the area? Stay at Bread and Cheese and you will be happy you did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My friend and I recently stayed at the Bread and Cheese Inn in Bay Bulls Newfoundland for 3 nights. What a lovely experience it was. The inn is situated in an area about 25 minutes from St John's airport and was quite easy to find if you follow the instructions on the internet. It is a very clean, quiet place and owner Rita was most helpful in giving us tips on some areas to visit. Bay Bulls is on the Irish trail and most convenient for our purpose which is to spend time photographing all the little areas in the Avalon secton of Newfoundland. The twin beds were excellent and our room which was on the main floor of the Inn was large, clean and comfortable. We had dinner on the first night that we arrived and it was very tasty and served exactly at the time we had ordered it. We were the only ones in the small dining room as there are only 6 rooms in the inn. The breakfast were equally good. We would go back there in a minute if we could.

Room Tip: stay in the room on the first floor. I believe it is the largest one and you don't have to lug y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We would like to thank Rita,Linda and staff for a very memorable stay.You all made our stay a real highlight of our trip to Newfoundland.If and when we return you will be our first stop.You made us feel that we have a new family. The inn was great the rooms and the food you could not wish for any better.If we could we would give you a seven star rating.
Love to you all and God bless
Trish and Mike

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Bread and Cheese Inn on 26 and 27 July, 2013. We had previously stayed at the Leaside Inn in St Johns for four nights, so the Bread and Cheese had a hard act to follow. The Inn was really quite wonderful. We were greeted by Rita Williams, one of the owners, and shown around the house. The greeting was what we came to realize was a typical warm Newfy welcome. The room was large and comfy with a great view of Bay Bulls. There were three easy chairs in the room as well as a desk and lamp. The provided breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and the service was excellent. Bay Bulls is a very small town with only one restaurant, O'Briens, which closes at 7 PM. However you are not far from The Ghouls, or St Johns for that matter. One nice touch was the coffee and tea makings in the lobby downstairs along with a microwave and a goodly supply of muffins and biscuits - just the thing for a late night snack. We left The Bread and Cheese reluctantly as we were on our way to a 'hotel' for our next stop. We highly recommend the Bread and Cheese Inn and will return some day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our stay at The Bread and Cheese was wonderful. The views are beautiful, the rooms are large and clean and the staff are very friendly. Plenty of room in the living room, dining room to stretch out and be comfortable.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on the third floor. There can be some noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this lovely inn and it was a perfect ending to our trip. We enjoyed the whale watching with Catherdals just down the road; hiking a trail to the lighthouse that we could access on the road just behind the inn; and the delicious breakfast to start our days. The rooms were beautifully appointed with amazing views of the bay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bread and Cheese Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bread and Cheese Country Inn

Address: 48A Bread and Cheese Road, Bay Bulls, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 1C0 , Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Bay Bulls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bay Bulls
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Bread And Cheese Country Inn Bay Bulls, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bread and Cheese Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.