We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lest us not forget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Souda Bay War Cemetery

Souda Bay War Cemetery
Souda Bay | Simmachon, Souda, Crete, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Souda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Suda Bay War Cemetery is located approximately 5 km east from the centre of Chania (Xania). There are now 1,500 Commonwealth servicemen of the Second World War buried or commemorated in the cemetery. 776 of the burials are unidentified but special memorials commemorate a number of casualties believed to be buried among them. The cemetery also contains 19 First World War burials brought in from Suda Bay Consular Cemetery, 1 being unidentified. There are also 7 burials of other nationalities and 37 non-war burials.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lest us not forget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My son who is doing history for GCSE wanted to visit and so we arrived one hot lunchtime. There were a few other people in the cemetery grounds which are immaculately maintained and read about the evacuation of the Allies from Crete in late Spring 1941. Visiting made the events all the more real for seeing the line after line of gravestones. Well worth the stop and it certainly made me re-evaluate the freedoms we all take for granted every day.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    24
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oksboel, Denmark
Level Contributor
375 reviews
227 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
“Never forget the fallen soldiers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Never forget the fallen soldiers.
The War Cemetery is a beautiful memory-park.
A quiet and peaceful place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bring dog food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

A strange title I know. The cemetery is a moving place to visit which is why we came back after 9 years. In 2005 we bought our daughters an ice cream from the caravan just outside the entrance & chatted to the man who ran it about his time living in Australia. On our visit this week we saw him again, though much changed. He has closed his little business as he couldn't afford to keep it open. He was sitting under the tree just outside the gates surrounded by dogs lying in the heat - none of them his. He told me that he feeds them when he has money & when he doesn't, they go hungry. They are some of the many abandoned animals here. I went to the supermarket & bought some dog food (& a packet of biscuits for him). He was incredibly grateful. I suspect he doesn't eat enough either. As we drove away I noticed he'd opened the biscuits straight away.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fallen soldiers should never be forgotten.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Take time out of your holiday to visit this site and if you have young children explain what happened and I garantee there will be many questions as I found out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is a lovely moving place to visit. The location looking out to sea across Souda Bay is truly memorable.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souda Bay War Cemetery also viewed

Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Souda Bay War Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souda Bay War Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.