We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lest us not forget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Souda Bay War Cemetery

Souda Bay War Cemetery
Souda Bay, Souda, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Souda
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lest us not forget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My son who is doing history for GCSE wanted to visit and so we arrived one hot lunchtime. There were a few other people in the cemetery grounds which are immaculately maintained and read about the evacuation of the Allies from Crete in late Spring 1941. Visiting made the events all the more real for seeing the line after line of gravestones. Well worth the stop and it certainly made me re-evaluate the freedoms we all take for granted every day.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oksboel, Denmark
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Never forget the fallen soldiers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Never forget the fallen soldiers.
The War Cemetery is a beautiful memory-park.
A quiet and peaceful place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Bring dog food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

A strange title I know. The cemetery is a moving place to visit which is why we came back after 9 years. In 2005 we bought our daughters an ice cream from the caravan just outside the entrance & chatted to the man who ran it about his time living in Australia. On our visit this week we saw him again, though much changed. He has closed his little business as he couldn't afford to keep it open. He was sitting under the tree just outside the gates surrounded by dogs lying in the heat - none of them his. He told me that he feeds them when he has money & when he doesn't, they go hungry. They are some of the many abandoned animals here. I went to the supermarket & bought some dog food (& a packet of biscuits for him). He was incredibly grateful. I suspect he doesn't eat enough either. As we drove away I noticed he'd opened the biscuits straight away.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fallen soldiers should never be forgotten.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Take time out of your holiday to visit this site and if you have young children explain what happened and I garantee there will be many questions as I found out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is a lovely moving place to visit. The location looking out to sea across Souda Bay is truly memorable.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souda Bay War Cemetery also viewed

Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
 
Sfakia, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Souda Bay War Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souda Bay War Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.