We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never forget the fallen soldiers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Souda Bay War Cemetery

Souda Bay War Cemetery
Souda Bay, Souda, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Souda
Type: Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Oksboel, Denmark
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Never forget the fallen soldiers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Never forget the fallen soldiers.
The War Cemetery is a beautiful memory-park.
A quiet and peaceful place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Bring dog food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

A strange title I know. The cemetery is a moving place to visit which is why we came back after 9 years. In 2005 we bought our daughters an ice cream from the caravan just outside the entrance & chatted to the man who ran it about his time living in Australia. On our visit this week we saw him again, though much changed. He has closed his little business as he couldn't afford to keep it open. He was sitting under the tree just outside the gates surrounded by dogs lying in the heat - none of them his. He told me that he feeds them when he has money & when he doesn't, they go hungry. They are some of the many abandoned animals here. I went to the supermarket & bought some dog food (& a packet of biscuits for him). He was incredibly grateful. I suspect he doesn't eat enough either. As we drove away I noticed he'd opened the biscuits straight away.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fallen soldiers should never be forgotten.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Take time out of your holiday to visit this site and if you have young children explain what happened and I garantee there will be many questions as I found out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is a lovely moving place to visit. The location looking out to sea across Souda Bay is truly memorable.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very moving indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

To my shame, I wasn't aware of the Souda Bay War Cemetery until I noticed the signpost whilst driving around. So pleased I took the time to stop, the experience of walking around this peaceful, very well kept site was very moving. So many allied heroes of many nationalities lay here, their ages displayed are a stark reminder of what they must have gone through, & the resulting eternal cost to their families & loved ones. Genuinely puts your own minor worries & irritations into perspective.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souda Bay War Cemetery also viewed

Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
 
Sfakia, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Souda Bay War Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souda Bay War Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.