We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Point Turton Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Turton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Point Turton Caravan Park
Save
You added Point Turton Caravan Park to your Saves list
Bayview Road, Point Turton, South Australia 5575, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We loved our stay. Our cabin was great and very clean. The views are to die for. We will go back again and again. The staff were lovely and friendly. Jetty was close by and we caught more fish in three days than we have in Adelaide in the past ten years. Innes National Park is close and we made a day trip of it, what a beautiful place. At night we have not seen so many stars for years it makes you realise how much light pollution we put up with in the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny C, Manager at Point Turton Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks for your kind words Kate.
I'm glad you managed to catch some fish! Our park certainly is a top spot to base yourself if you are looking forward to exploring the southern part of the Peninsula.
We hope you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Been going to this little bit of SA paradise since 2003 and have had many memorable times in the park. Well maintained with lawned sites and very quiet atmosphere. Gets very busy in the summer months so will need to ring up and book to secure a sight, in peak times is often booked out well in advance. Virtually on the jetty/boat ramp so ideal for those with boats or who want to drop a line off the jetty.

Malcolm & Jenny are very welcoming and have always kept the park in tip-top condition. Some good fishing equipment on sale in the office and Malcolm has many years experience with angling, fishing equipment and a tall story or three.

One place that we are glad we were introduced to and fell in love with it from day one. Many more years of memories to be had here.

Neil & Fiona

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny C, Manager at Point Turton Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hi Neil and Fiona

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide comment on our park, we certainly love it here are are very proud of it. It does get very busy at certain times of the year, so it is a good idea to book early.

Glad to hear you love it so much and we look forward to you coming back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

The Pt. Turton Caravan Park is superb. You need to book ahead as its always popular and when we went there, out of holidays, we got the last site. It has an excellent location next to the Jetty, facing north and protected by the old quarry cliffs. The sites are grassed and there are many trees. Amenities are spotless and generous with a generously fitted eating area with barbecues and tables under cover (and even a TV). Malcolm and his wife have run the place for 8 years and are friendly and helpful. They even gave us advice on reversing into our site! They also have cabins overlooking the sea but they need to be booked far in advance - being so popular. Point Turnton overlooks the beautiful Hardwicke Bay, a very popular fishing area. It is north facing so is protected from the prevailing south-westerly winds. There is a small shop in town which sells the famous "witchetty grub", a vienna sausage in puff pasty. not for the faint hearted. The same store sells the best home made bread. This caravan park allows pets on leads. It is well situated for visiting the more remote western foot of the Yorke Peninsula. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny C, Manager at Point Turton Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks so much for your positive feedback on our park. We pride ourselves on providing a friendly and well maintained park and it is always great to hear such lovely feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Point Turton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Point Turton Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Turton Caravan Park

Address: Bayview Road, Point Turton, South Australia 5575, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Point Turton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Point Turton
Number of rooms: 16

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Turton Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.