We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Devil's Stone Inn

The Devil's Stone Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaworthy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Devil's Stone Inn
Save
You added The Devil's Stone Inn to your Saves list
Shebbear, Beaworthy EX21 5RU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Beaworthy B&B and Inns
Hednesford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic home cooked grub...proper home made chips, just like my nan used to make....clean pub, Good prices and a friendly service...and nice easy going atmosphere...can't ask for more! Would eat here again, no worries, will stay at the b&b next time.....well worth the drive to come here, delightful little village too!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Good stay in this Inn. The owners made us feel welcome and the rooms were comfortable. The breakfast was available until 9:30 and was reasonably tasty. The owners were flexible in terms of departure which was a great help.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

3 of us had supper here. Basic but adequate food, fairly priced and written on handmade menu which was quite novel! Accommodating staff but layout of pub was a bit odd. Found out there was a garden at the back which was quite busy but the actual pub itself was very quiet. Put off a little by smell of stale beer. Would actually rate this good rather than average but there isn't a button!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter, while we were visiting the area. Absolutely loved it! Fabulous old building, spotless rooms, great breakfast. Close to sea, about 20/30 mins away, beautiful countryside.
The owners could not be nicer...and the two dogs Bob and Paddy were a delight. Each morning Chris would make us what we wanted for breakfast, we just arranged a time with her the night before. Delicious and great coffee.
We stayed from Mon to Fri, so the pub shuts quite early and we were in bed so ridiculously early (all that country air)....so had the best sleep ever. SO quiet and peaceful. The rooms are basic and just right, the beds are super comfortable. We didn't realise just HOW how good the sleep was until we continued on our travels to noisier places and rooms!
It was great to come back each evening and sit in the comfy chairs, play with Paddy and Bob and have a nightcap.
Visited Clovelly and Bude, both nearby..wonderful.
Walked a lot around the area, lots of history. People very friendly and would chat.
The actual "Devil's Stone" is in the village square, turned every Nov 5th I believe to keep the devil buried underneath.
Free wifi at the hotel and much appreciated, as I keep saying...we get charged $15/ day at many N.American hotels. Outrageous! Free wifi in the bar area...but my room also connected, the window above the THE on sign!
A wonderful time and great memories. Totally recommend staying here...and I definitely will again when I visit people living in the area.
(Didn't hear or see any ghosts unfortunately!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights but would not do again. Corridors smelled strongly of damp and stale beer. Room furnished that even a charity shop would not accept. Breakfast was disappointing - no cereal, no fruit juice, poor quality cooked breakfast. For the money, a huge disappointment and not worth what they are charging. Certainly will not return!

Room Tip: Not possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keelby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We didnt stay here but ate here twice while staying elsewhere in the area. Friendly people, nice inn with character and history. We tried the mixed grill, chicken and bacon pie and the scampi. We both enjoyed our meals and would recommend a visit. Good house wine too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Called in for lunch were served average quality jacket potato average quality sandwich such a shame as this pub brimming with potential! could do with new fans in kitchen,left smelling of oil
not sure if we should return for evening meal????????????????????

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Devil's Stone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devil's Stone Inn

Address: Shebbear, Beaworthy EX21 5RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Beaworthy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beaworthy
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Devil's Stone Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.