We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA to your Saves list
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vasilias, Vasilias 37002, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vasilias
Cyprus
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in a very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011 via mobile

Very nice hotel but not a five star. It is like a four star hotel. There was a problem with drainage and they have to check it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear Demec,
thank you for taking time to wirte your comment on trip advisor. We would like to inform you that the hotel does not have a drainage system. It has biological cleaning system that is 500m away from the hotel's facilities. Analysis of treated water is being made twice per month with excellent results.
Further to that, we would be very happy if you could send us any further comments about your holiday exeperience at the hotel directly to info@kassandrabay.com Guests' opinion are always valued and postively considered.
We would be happy to welcome again at the Kassandra Bay Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Efi Kalaitzidis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    153
    44
    13
    3
See reviews for
192
266
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed here for two weeks, with three children - we had 2 interconnecting rooms in the new block. The rooms were ideal, clean, stunning balcony views, nice bathrooms (although the pressure in one shower was very poor - so we all used other room!). The pools were smaller than we had expected and filled with salt water, which stung the kids eyes and bleached white trunks yellow :(
As a previous reviewer wrote, 10euros for a very average cocktail was disappointing.
Nice to have beach access (although there are much nicer beaches on the other side of the island) and not always possible to get a hotel sunbed - so had to pay 8euros to hire 2 beds and a parasol.
We only ate here a couple of times, with disappointment. Some meals were great, others were cold, rissotto under cooked. One order 'got lost'. We felt the service was quite slow and not terribly friendly. Found lots of better places to eat in Skiathos town.

Kassandra Bay provided a great base from which to explore the island overall and we had a really nice 2 weeks. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Dear Schofamily,
Thank you for taking time to post such a detailed review on trip advisor. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your holiday in overall at the Kassandra Bay Hotel.
We regret you not having said anything about the pressure in one showers as our maintenance team could have fixed this minor default. Salt water is being used due to the fact that there is no network of water supply in the island, only in the town of Skiathos. The hotel has to find its own resources for water only by drillings. As the hotel is on the beach and very near to the sea, the water found from drillings still retains its salty texture. Our environmental policy is based upon water shortages and this is why we keep the towels’ change to the discretionary will of each client.
The pricing policy of the hotel in the food and beverage departments is reviewed yearly and is set in accordance to the overall environment of the hotel and cost of purchase for liquor and other raw material.
August is the busiest month of the season, subsequently the hotel is full and unfortunately the length and width of our beach does not allow us to put so many sun beds as the total number of rooms. But overall we do not normally face problems with the sun beds as we have put a few more on the grass just above the beach.
Regarding your comments about food and beverage if you felt that one or some dishes were not to your satisfaction you could have made your remarks on the spot so that our maitre and the staff could help resolve any issues. Nevertheless, we reassure you that the management is taking your comments into account and that the guests’ comments are the driving force for improvement.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you and your family again to the Kassandra Bay Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Efi Kalaitzidis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We have recently returned from a week at the Kassandra Bay Hotel Skiathos.
On arrival I was very impressed with the hotel grounds and the views which were
fantastic. I was disappointed at being left waiting in the reception area whilst our rooms were being prepared. It had been a long journey and we were just left to wait it would have been nice to have been offered a drink of water.

When we first entered our room I must say I was initially disappointed. The corridor approach was dark and the room appeared clean but basic not the five star standard expected. The reception staff were very helpful and listened to my concerns. The bathroom had a fixed shower screen which could not be moved which made it difficult to fill a bath if required. The towels were of good quality and changed on a regular basis. My son loved his complimentary slippers. The fridge and safe were very useful additions to the room.

The food at breakfast had a huge choice and the standard of food was good. Staff were very efficient at clearing away.

Although I was fully aware that the pools were sea water my children were disappointed as they could not go under water as the they could not stand it if they accidently swallowed the water. This is just a personal comment others may prefer salted water.

The barbeque evening was fantastic and very good value for money. The staff who I must say work very long hours were helpful, efficient and encouraged the guests to participate in the greek dancing.

The beach was pleasant and the sea beautiful. It was lovely being so close to the hotel. The free parasols were a blessing and always available. There was a wide choice of water sports which my children thoroughly enjoyed especially the sea sofa.

A walk into Skiathos town was an experience in its self. You felt relieved that you had arrived in one piece. The standard of driving left at lot to be desired especially by those on scooters and bikes.They like to shout and beep their horns. I walked into town with teenage children if they had been much younger it would have been very stressful as the road into town does not have pavement all the way so a pushchair would have been a nightmare. The bus was mostly full and when I say full I mean full. We did use a taxi a couple of times but as a family of five it was overloaded as there were only five seater cars at the rank. The sea taxi was pleasant but you had to plan ahead as they only run on the hour and cost twenty five euros for a return journey to the town for my family and this adds up over the week.

The holiday overall ticked the boxes for me and my family as we were looking for a week of peace and quiet.

I would recommend the Kassandra Bay Hotel and although the local shop was a twenty minute walk away I feel a shop would spoil the overall feel of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear Vorarlbergqueen,
Thank you for taking time to post such a detailed comment on trip advisor. There is no greater return for the management and the staff of the hotel than receiving these positive comments that can only reward our hard work.
We regret that you had to wait for a while for your room to be prepared and we thank you for your patience. We would like to inform you that we have a fixed glas in the bathtub for safety reasons. We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family again to the Kassandra Bay Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Efi Kalaitzidis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

A good 4 star hotel but not worthy of 5 stars. Lacks quality and the eye for the fine detail. Breakfast is great - good, fresh food with a wide choice and the dining room is efficiently run. Cocktails at 10€ each were bland and a total waste of money. Sums up that with no supermarket in the vicinity they charge 2€ for a litre of water when 2 litres in a supermarket costs 60 cents - would expect a true 5 star hotel not to seek to rip it guests off on such a basic commodity by so much. Also, found many Skiathians just rude and miserable, these traits surfaced in some of the staff too.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Typicalfamilyoffour,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays, as well as for sharing your comments on trip Advisor.
The hotel is situated 3.5 km from the main town of Skiathos where one can find a lot of supermarkets. There are also supermarkets in the near vicinity 1-1,5 km away from the hotel. Nevertheless, we will consider the possibility of setting up a small kiosk at the hotel in the future.
Just to make a clarification, the small bottle of water costs 1 euro, the big bottle of water costs 2 euros. When looking at the bar list and cost of cocktails one should consider the surrounding, the service, the quantity of alcohol which as you can understand in Greece is rich and the whole experience in general.
Please be assured that our management is taking your comments into account and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family at the Kassandra Bay Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Efi Kalaitzidis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Skiathos island was so highly recommended to us by multiple friends, that we expected «heaven on earth». Instead, there was the kingdom of rudeness, off-handedness and amateurism. The «Kassandra Bay Skiathos Hotel» was an oasis in all that insanity, and it should better be since we had paid good money for a 5* hotel that was (at best) actually at a good 4* standard.
The personnel were kind, polite and efficient and the hotel well managed and organised. The hotel lacked the luxury that should define a 5* hotel, but the building was new and very well maintained while the pool and beach areas outstanding.
The rooms were small and simple but efficient and clean. Breakfast was good, but we did not appreciate lunch as much as to visit the restaurant for a second time.
I don’t think that I will visit Skiathos ever again. But, if I did, I would stay at the Kassandra.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear ar1us,
Thank you for choosing Kassandra Bay Hotel for your holidays and for sharing your comments through Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel but we regret not having had a good experience from your overall stay in Skiathos island and local community.
If you ever decide to come again to visit our beautiful island, we will be more than happy to assist you in finding hidden beauties within the island and hopefully making ii a valued and positive experience both within the hotel and the local environment.
We sincerely hope to welcome you again soon in our beautiful resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Efi Kalaitzidis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

If this place had been advertised as a 4 star hotel I believe I could have written a much better review.
Pools are good. Staff are generally friendly. Great views out to see and nice calm beach for the kids.
Decor by IKEA.
Food is really not that great and the nearest supermarket is a 20 minute walk away should you wish to pay reasonably for a bottle of water.
The nearest restaurant outside of the hotel is just on the beach, Food is better here but beware of ordering fish without checking how much you are gong to be charged for it!
Skiathos Town is only a 10 minute cab ride away. Only been there one night but it seems like a vibrant place with a lot of choice for restaurants. Funky bars along the old port if you are looking for a good night out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear LozofDids,
We thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Kassandra Bay Hotel. We assure you that your comments have been taken into account and have been looked into thoroughly.
Just need to stress the fact that the hotel follows a minimal line in decoration and style in all rooms and common areas, having at the same time pieces of art from valued artists in common areas.
Hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Efi Kalaitzidis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We have only been home for three days, and yet we can't wait to go back to Skiathos and the Kassandra Bay Hotel!

My wife and I stayed at Kassandra for two weeks to celebrate our Honeymoon, having got married the weekend before. We were greeted on reception in a very friendly and courteous and efficient manner and this set the tone for the rest of the stay, Top class service from all.

We had paid a small upgrade on booking to ensure a sea view room and were not disappointed with views over the sea towards Skopelos. Our room was spacious and modern with free A/C and Safe and a beautifully appointed bathroom. We were welcomed into our room with a bowl of fruit and a bottle of sparkling wine (we did say it was our honeymoon on the booking).

Breakfast was (in our view) superb, with everything you could possibly want, from crepes to croissants, muesli to melon, continental to traditional. There was always lots available no matter what time you arrived, though at 9ish, it was naturally very busy.

The beach was kept immaculately with regular rakings of the sand and the sun beds being tidied and brushed down every night. The icing on the cake is a service button on each parasol post which called for service from the pool bar at the hotel. The sea here is warm and gentle (though watch out for the odd freak wave, caused by the ferries passing out at sea, which will hit the beach some 15-20 minutes later, splashing the front row of sun beds by surprise) and beautifully clear for swimming and snorkelling. A little stony in areas, but nice and sandy at waist depth.

Transport into Skiathos is possible by one of three methods: taxi, at approx €6 (€7 after midnight); by bus (€1.60 per person) but beware of the buses at peak times as they will be very FULL (people in the stairwells and almost on the driver's lap); or finally by the sea taxi which leaves from the beach (€2.50 each way per person). Boats are more frequent in the evenings and mornings, with a large gap between 2pm and 7pm. Last boat back from town is 11pm (sharp).

We dined at the hotel a couple of times, and enjoyed some great meals. The evening Greek Night/BBQ was particularly good with a great selection of foods and good traditional music.

There is also a restaurant next door (Ta Nissia - See separate review) serving traditional foods.

Overall, we had a fantastic time with no complaints and would thoroughly recommend this hotel for like-minded couples looking to relax and enjoy the traditional Greek welcome and fantastic views. We met some great people (Hi, Julie and David, if you read this) also staying at the hotel and everyone agreed how relaxing and enjoyable their stay had been.

We can't wait to go back!!!

Steve and Tina

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear SteveandTina_2010,
We thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel and the time you have taken to post it on TripAdvisor!
We very much look forward to welcoming you to Kassandra Bay Hotel in the future and to making your stay with us again a memorable one.

Kind Regards,

Efi Kalatzidis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA

Address: Vasilias, Vasilias 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Vasilias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vasilias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel in Skiathos, Sporades islands in Greece. Overlooking the beach of Vasilias, Kassandra Bay is situated among olive and pine trees that add to the scenery a relaxing aroma. Recently renovated, the hotel is lavishly decorated with bright colours, whilst the rooms offer amenities that help embody the feeling of being at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kassandra Bay Skiathos
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA Skiathos/Vasilias

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.