We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dovecote Barns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dovecote Barns
Save
You added The Dovecote Barns to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Manor Farm, Kelfield YO19 6RG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

So glad we stumbled across Dovecote Barns whilst looking for accommodation in or around York! I can only echo previous comments and if you're looking to go then definitely go!
Set in beautiful surroundings and only 20 mins from York. We don't usually return to places but this is one property I would surely visit again
Thank you Brigita for providing such welcoming, comfortable and well maintained accommodation, not to mention your care and concern for our planet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We have been to the Dovecote Barns three times now and stayed in all three barns which are all excellent. Every barn is fully equipped, beautifully furnished and most importantly of all, spotlessly clean! It's a great location, only a 20 minute drive into York but there are also nice restaurants nearby if you don't want to go into York. The welcome basket with freshly baked bread is a lovely gesture and Brigita is very helpful and welcoming. We are looking forward to our next trip later in the year!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

It's a pleasure to write a review on The Dovecote Barns. We were 3 couples, specifically looking for accommodation with 3 double rooms with en suites and, by crickey, we hit the jackpot here with the Hay Barn! 3 wonderful bedrooms with generous en suites, and a lovely top floor open plan kitchen/dining/living area ideal for the evenings after a full day's holidaying. The welcome basket full of goodies was lovely and as we were late arriving, Brigita had taken in our supermarket delivery and stacked it all in the kitchen for us. Top marks there! A great location for visiting York and the surrounding area. Shops & pubs nearby all great. We were lucky with our weather (tee-shirts in early March!!!) and the walk along the banks of the Ouse to Cawood and back each morning to get the papers was a lovely start to each day. In summary, first class accommodation, first class friendly owners & welcome, first class area & first class holiday all round (even sent back an item of clothing that we'd inadvertently left there!). Would definitely go again.10/10!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We found this little gem on the Britain's Finest website while looking for somewhere to stay self-catering not too far from York. When we had a question before booking Brigita was quick off the mark to respond with the information we needed.

On arrival day, we sent Brigita a text message (as requested) when we were about 30 minutes away, and she was there to greet us when we arrived and show us around The Dovecote (sleeps 4) that we'd booked for a week. There are two other barns at Dovecote Barns, one that sleeps 2 (on the ground floor throughout and therefore suitable for disabled guests), and the other sleeps 6.

Brigita was friendly and helpful in her welcome and gave us lots of useful local information. We were able to leave the car right outside our barn to unload, and then parked just a short distance away in the parking area. Wood for the wood-burning stove, along with kindling, was to be found there. The ethos of the Barns is "green", and much thought has clearly been put into making them environmentally friendly.

Inside our barn the standard of furnishings was very high. Brigita has gone out of her way to try to think of everything that anyone could possibly want or need to have an enjoyable stay, including the provision of a complimentary "goodies basket" of local produce - cheese, bacon, 6 eggs laid by Brigita's chickens, homemade bread, butter, preserves and a bottle of wine - and 2 litres of milk in the fridge too to make that much needed cuppa when you arrive.

The kitchen is spacious, well-equipped and spotlessly clean. The lounge area has a wood-burning stove, and as it was in the middle of a really cold spell in late March we didn't waste any time in getting it alight as a top up for the under-floor heating. Upstairs on the first floor was a double (super king) bedroom with ensuite shower room, and on the second floor another double bedroom with ensuite bathroom.

We found Dovecote Barns to be well situated for visiting York and the many delights of the city in addition to the other local attractions. A few miles up the road from Kelfield on the junction of the A19 and A64 is the York Designer Outlet. This is also the terminus of the Park & Ride Bus. The bus service is frequent and currently costs £2.70 return to the centre of the city. It makes for an easy, stress free journey.

If you are over that way, (or in our case we went specially because we'd been before) we would thoroughly recommend a visit to Weegmanns Butchers at 4-6 Market Place, Otley. They make what must surely be some of the best (if not THE best) pork pies in the whole of the country. What could be nicer than a freshly made and cooked, hot pork pie? Crisp pastry and a quality meaty filling. Absolutely gorgeous!

All in all, despite the cold and wet weather we had a very enjoyable break at Dovecote Barns. Judging by the comments in the visitors' book, other people have had an equally good time too. Of course, there's a problem with recommending somewhere: you find it's booked up by other people when you want to go again!

Room Tip: Although there were only two of us we chose to stay in The Dovecote to have two bedrooms, a bath and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Finding suitable accommodation for a large family celebration was proving very difficult until a random search of the internet returned details of Dovecote Barns.

The three properties - the Haybarn, Dovecote and Irishman's Cottage - were furnished to the highest of standards and offered the flexibility needed for an age range of 5-80 years, but with the bonus of allowing everyone to eat together if desired.

There were several features that really made our weekend something that will live long in the memory, number one being the attention to detail, not just in the furnishings but also the thoughtful extras that were available if needed. The welcome baskets for each property, complete with freshly baked bread, eggs, wine and preserves were a real treat, and our host, Brigita, could not have been more helpful when we asked whether she could accommodate one or two particular requirements.

Dovecote Barns is the only property I have come across to attain a 5 star rating in every category, which really tells you all you need to know. Absolutely outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was our second trip to Irishmans Cottage in less than a year. The accommodation is spotlessly clean, warm and immensely welcoming. We arrived to find a welcome basket with eggs, bacon, milk.......all the essentials. As a couple who had been on a carb free diet for two months - that freshly baked loaf didn't stand a chance.

Brigita is a wonderful host and kept us informed of things to do for the New Year celebrations. She also recommended the local Indian restaurant in the next village............yummy!!!!!

The location is well placed for getting out and about, especially to York with a great bus service.

I can't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: I've ticked the swimming pool and fitness centre review buttons by mistake! I'm sure if they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed in the Irishmans during September and had a wonderful relaxing break. The accommodation was 1st class; finished to a high standard with everything we required. The welcome basket on arrival was a treat with lovely fresh produce; fresh baked bread, eggs etc . The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and happy to share their local knowledge. The setting is very peaceful but also has the advantage of being close to York. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dovecote Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dovecote Barns

Address: Manor Farm, Kelfield YO19 6RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kelfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kelfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dovecote Barns 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury eco self-catering 18th-century barn conversions. Sleeps 2-12 in three barns (sleeping 6/4/2). Group dining for up to 12. 6 luxury en-suite bedrooms, all with either shower wet room or bath/shower. Renewable technologies used. Sumptuously furnished with every mod con. Public transport to York. Approx 20 minutes by car to city centre. Ideal for groups, whether couples, families, or friends getting together. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dovecote Barns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.