We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star holiday accommodation near York.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dovecote Barns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dovecote Barns
Save
You added The Dovecote Barns to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Manor Farm, Kelfield YO19 6RG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“5 star holiday accommodation near York.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here 25th to 29th March in the Dovecote barn. The owner, Brigita, was very friendly and informative and couldn't do enough to make our stay perfect. The quality of the barn was one of the best we have stayed in and very clean. The welcome basket was a lovely touch with freshly baked bread. The modern kitchen was fully fitted with every appliance and everything you could possibly want including equipment for baking! The barn had underfloor heating and was very warm. The bed (John Lewis mattress) was very comfortable. Both bathrooms were very modern and no shortage of hot water.
Recommend asking Richard for a tour of the biomass furnace room, green heating and fascinating.
It was extremely peaceful and quite in and around the barns and the beautiful village. The local pub was a short walk away, sadly no food. The next village along, Riccall had 2 pubs and 2 restaurants.
If you were going into York, the easiest way was drive to the park and ride at the Designer Outlet, park there, (an adult fare was £2.60 return) then catch the bus into York. The entire journey from Barn to York was 30 minutes.
When you stay at the Barns you can see why this couple have received so many awards and so many positive reviews. A beautiful place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Excellent in every way. A lovely long weekend in fabulous surroundings. The barns are exceptionally comfortable and everything that you could want is provided. All rooms were very well appointed, beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. Our host was fabulous and friendly and all aspects of the booking process and stay were dealt with professionally and with a smile. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in the Irishmans Cottage for 2 nights inbetween xmas & New Yr, we found a treasure or I sould say my husband did! Everything was perfect and we mean everything from the communication before we arrived, the basket of fresh food on arrival the accommodation itself is beautiful finished to a really high standard you wont want for anything they have thought of everything! The real fire made our stay cosy, the wet room is amazing, the toiletrie had me intrigued enough to go online and purchase and I have been converted into composting thanks to the little tub in their kitchen! When we stayed they were struggling with the floods and it was heartwrenching to see the fields/crops water logged hopefully they will recover soon and when we visit in the summer our morning walk will have a ray of sunshine, saying that even the rain didnt deter us from getting out and about knowing you were returning to a place that had underfloor heating and & real fire was luxurious cant wait to go back and as all 3 of the properties look fabulous we may have to share our secret with our friends & family to see if they fancy a weekend away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

What can i say, well its excellent. A lovely property well thought out. We have been many times and yet we do not tire of the great location and an extremely helpful host. Already booked for next year. The detail and quality of these self catering conversions is first class. Recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Kelfied location. We are a mid thirties couple with an 18month old son. They provided everything and more that we needed and nothing was too much trouble.
High quality fixtures and fittings, super-clean, super quite, super service, super location = super nice!

Room Tip: Irishman's cottage is perfect for a couple plus a baby as cot etc all provided - fantastic space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The most superb retreat you could ever find, luxurious apartments with very friendly atmosphere in superb location..what more could you want ?
We have now had two visits with many more to come. Great base for York, Leeds & Harrogate.
The quality of finish in these apartments is superb.
Make sure you visit the Grey Horse pub just down the road for some very friendly chit chat,

Room Tip: Try them all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have family in the area and stay here when we visit. We've stayed in the Haybarn and the Irishmans Cottage. The accommodation is outstanding for self catering. Everything is catered for and thought of. The welcome basket is a lovely touch. Brigitta is very helpful and friendly. The location is good for access to York and the surrounding area but you need a car as there is nothing at all in Kelfield, not even a shop!

Room Tip: The Irishmans Cottage is perfect for a couple with a little one as the bedroom easily accommodates a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dovecote Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dovecote Barns

Address: Manor Farm, Kelfield YO19 6RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kelfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kelfield
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dovecote Barns 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury eco self-catering 18th-century barn conversions. Sleeps 2-12 in three barns (sleeping 6/4/2). Group dining for up to 12. 6 luxury en-suite bedrooms, all with either shower wet room or bath/shower. Renewable technologies used. Sumptuously furnished with every mod con. Public transport to York. Approx 20 minutes by car to city centre. Ideal for groups, whether couples, families, or friends getting together. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dovecote Barns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.