We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Farm stay, fabulous location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carr House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ampleforth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carr House Farm
Ampleforth, Ampleforth YO62 4ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Ampleforth B&B and Inns
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Farm stay, fabulous location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights for our honeymoon. Brilliant. Fab 4 poster en suite bedroom and Annas breakfasts are incredible! We couldn't have been made more welcome, the guests are like one big happy family. We are both dog lovers so the fact that they had a litter of 7 labradors and a litter of cocker spaniels on the way, along with the gundogs was just perfect. We were so happy here and cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms and the beds are so comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    9
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
65
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
shrewsbury
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

second time we have stayed here .Always a warm welcome from Anna & Jack.we stayed in the room that is seperate from the farm house which was lovely it had the most comfortable 2 poster bed we have ever slept in and to wake up to the beautiful yorkshire countryside was a bonus. Nothing was to much trouble for Anna at breakfast and she even gave us some home baked fruit scones as a treat for the journey home.excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We spent two days at Carr House Farm this July at the start of a whistlestop tour around England and Scotland to show my American husband the main sights. It was a perfect place to stay and acclimatize. Anna and Jack are wonderful hosts - very friendly, eager to help and super relaxed. The room we stayed in was delightful, breakfast was delicious and the added treat of seeing Jack's 10 week old golden lab puppies was great. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Drive up the narrow lane off the country road west of Ampleforth to find the centuries old farmhouse nestling in an idyllic garden - with wild as well as cultivated flowers in summer. We've stayed at Carr House Farm for 2 years running whilst enjoying a few days at the Ryedale Music Festival in July. As stairs are a problem for me, Anna thoughtfully put us in one of the one storey detached bedrooms, with a large and spotlessly clean shower room. There was everything we could possibly have wanted in the comfortable bedroom, with cake and fresh milk brought over every afternoon for our hospitality tray - and a bag of scones to go home! 11 Labrador puppies round the corner was an additional treat this year - all very well behaved and delightful. J&D

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestatyn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Anna really enjoys her job and gives excellent value. You are made to feel at home.
Lovely quiet country setting. Rooms nice & big. Husband Jack is an ex-jumps jockey with a tale or 2 to tell. I could go on but take it from me, you will be pleased.
Dr H. Jones, Wales

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

From Anna's warm greeting with homeade tea and cakes, to the fabulous room, a truly lovely stay. Couldn't fault the room or the breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We only had 3 nights stay and wish it had been longer. It was our second visit and it wont be long before its our third. We had such a restful time with great breakfast, Comfortable, clean bed and great Hosts.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carr House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carr House Farm

Address: Ampleforth, Ampleforth YO62 4ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ampleforth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ampleforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named by BBC COuntryfile as one of the top 10 places in the UK for a rural experience. US TV celebrity and founder of TRAVEL THERAPY-Karen Schaler "I found staying at the Carr House Farm a truly special authentic TravelTherapy experience. I love the history of the farm and Anna welcomed me withopen arms and went out of her way to make my stay special. So many extrashere, from the British bikes you can ride to explore the beautiful area, tothe top quality Labradors being raised that you can take with you on a walk,to Anna's delicious cooking and some of the most comfortable beds I've everslept on. My only regret us that I didn't stay longer!" April 2013 A very unique corner of North Yorkshire-Idyllic C16th Country home of Anna and Jack Peckitt - who is an official friendly face of North Yorkshire. Romantic 4 poster bedrooms ensuite. Designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in North Yorkshire. Twixt the Abbeys of Ampleforth, Byland and Stanford. Eat delicious Yorkshire food.Award winning Yorkshire breakfast and finalist in Deliciouslyorkshrie 2012-13 Best use of Local produce ona Plate. On the edge of the North York Moors National Park. Yet only half an hour to ancient city of York.45 minutes to the coast.Lots of local knowledge to help you. Complimenatry use of cycles,telescope and beach hut for guests ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carr House Farm Ampleforth, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carr House Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Carr House Farm to your Saves list