We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay, if you're a heavy sleeper!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carr House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ampleforth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carr House Farm
Save
You added Carr House Farm to your Saves list
Ampleforth, Ampleforth YO62 4ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Ampleforth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay, if you're a heavy sleeper!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Absolutely gorgeous surroundings. Clean and well equipped room. Anna & Jack very pleasant. But their numerous dogs woke us up with barking and howling from 4am onwards both mornings. This is the only problem which would stop us from returning to this B&B as it was lovely otherwise.
We were a honeymooning couple and we had no privacy at all in the room above the dining area. One of the rooms away from the main house would have provided more privacy and hopefully, less noise from the dogs.

Room Tip: Ask for accomodation away from the dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
70
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Annie really knows the area and her expetise helped us so much.
A wonderful B&B run by somone with love and passion
If we get back to the UK, it will definately be on our stop list.

Thanks Annie for your hospitality & yummy Yorkshire tarts!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

I have stayed at Carr House many many times over the past five years, it is always exceptionally clean with everything you coupl possibly want from a B&B, even in January the rooms are warm, there is plenty of cozy bedding and the most comfortable beds. There is always plenty of hot water and lots of nice touches to the rooms plus Anna's breakfasts are delicious.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Lovely room, and our boy loved going up a 'hayloft' ladder to bed. Our friends were very happy with their room too. Breakfasts huge and then cakes, cookies, toasting marshmallows etc were forthcoming every day, lovely touch, even given some for our journey home. Anna definitely went the extra mile. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed for a weekend in beautifully decorated room attached to the main house. Lovely four-poster bed, clean room. Breakfast at 8:30 allowed us to make the most of the day, and we also tried the continental breakfast option in our room one day (huge portions and delicious). Anna kindly got up early to give us a 7am breakfast on the day we left so that we could get off to the airport. She was a fountain of advice for the area and went out of her way to book restaurants etc. Overall top marks.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

After a shopping trip with my mum we wer heading home .Due to the snow coming down thick and fast Sutton Bank was closed and we found ourselves stuck. The landlady at the pub we called in doesnt do rooms but kindly rang a lady who did. Her husband had to come for us in his 4x4 the roads were so bad. We were made very welcome and shown to a lovely warm and cosy room . Soon we had dethawed with warm drinks and sat in front of a lovely open fire. We slept well as the beds were very comfortable but were worried if we were going to get snowed in. Next morning we had a good breakfast again in front of a log fire. Anna the landlady was very generous and said we could stay until the roads were more passable. .We left just before 12 when Jack took us back to the village and made sure we were back on the main road and out of the village as we wanted to get home in day light. If we had arranged to stay it would have made a lovely winter break but thanks to both Jack and Anna we were provided with a port in a storm

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

From the minute we arrived and were shown our beautiful cottage and given a plate of warm snacks and cups of tea we felt like we were with friends. Anna was such a warm friendly person, always available for a chat or advise. Food was scrumptious. Our bed was comfortable and warm. Highly reccommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carr House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carr House Farm

Address: Ampleforth, Ampleforth YO62 4ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ampleforth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ampleforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named by BBC COuntryfile as one of the top 10 places in the UK for a rural experience. US TV celebrity and founder of TRAVEL THERAPY-Karen Schaler "I found staying at the Carr House Farm a truly special authentic TravelTherapy experience. I love the history of the farm and Anna welcomed me withopen arms and went out of her way to make my stay special. So many extrashere, from the British bikes you can ride to explore the beautiful area, tothe top quality Labradors being raised that you can take with you on a walk,to Anna's delicious cooking and some of the most comfortable beds I've everslept on. My only regret us that I didn't stay longer!" April 2013 A very unique corner of North Yorkshire-Idyllic C16th Country home of Anna and Jack Peckitt - who is an official friendly face of North Yorkshire. Romantic 4 poster bedrooms ensuite. Designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in North Yorkshire. Twixt the Abbeys of Ampleforth, Byland and Stanford. Eat delicious Yorkshire food.Award winning Yorkshire breakfast and finalist in Deliciouslyorkshrie 2012-13 Best use of Local produce ona Plate. On the edge of the North York Moors National Park. Yet only half an hour to ancient city of York.45 minutes to the coast.Lots of local knowledge to help you. Complimenatry use of cycles,telescope and beach hut for guests ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carr House Farm Ampleforth, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carr House Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.