We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mussel Inn

Mussel Inn
RD 2 | Onekaka, Onekaka 7182, New Zealand
03 5259241
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Onekaka
Cuisines: Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Brewery/bar/cafe/music venue
UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Dissapointing.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stopped for late (10;30 am) breakfast at the Mussel Inn, but found that they did not have breakfast only some Carrot Cake. The place looked a bit run down and in need of some good dynamic management..it did not live up to its Rough Guide reputation of ‘ you can always get a simple, fresh and wholesome meal’, I got a piece of slightly stale Carrot Cake! the people who arrived after us did not even get that!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselinn, Manager at Mussel Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
The Mussel Inn opens for business at 11am for business each day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    66
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Great beer! Fun place. It has great outdoor seating.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a place of peace and birds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

good food ,friendly. a very nice setting. and check out the toilets very clean but diferent.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OK without setting the world on fire”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Chowder is tomato based and lots of onion came with garlic bread left too long in the microwave. Quiche OK. Own brews are worth a stop for something a bit different.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselinn, Manager at Mussel Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We heat our garlic ciabatta rolls in a grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawera
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Dining out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The restaurant was recommended by our hosts at the Station House Motel. It was a short drive from our accomodation, dining was casual, the staff were friendly. The menu was varied & interesting with Mussels the feature. We enjoyed a fast service with a tasty main course. We can recommend this restaurant.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mussel Inn also viewed

 
Collingwood, Golden Bay
 

Been to Mussel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mussel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.