We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub grub - fine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Camelot

The Camelot
Chapel Road, South Cadbury, England
01963-44-16-85
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Pub grub - fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Called in for lunch and enjoyed a good pint and the steak pie was fine.
Seemed to be a bit lacking in atmosphere

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    11
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
“warm, welcoming and friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

my mum and I had been for an afternoon walk at cadbury castle hill fort. we thought we would try and stop in at the camelot for a late lunch (it was just 2pm). we were welcomed by a friendly bar maid and told we could eat no problem. The pub was kept warm with 2 lovely open fires. the food was yummy especially my burger! great atmosphere would definitely return again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We ate at the Camelot last Sunday on arrival the staff were very welcoming
, the young chap that served us Harry was fantastic. Food beautifully cooked, lovely home made soup and bread and terrific range of local ales.

Very reasonably priced

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Great local pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stopped by for dinner, and the pub was filled with happy chatter from the local folk, with two fireplaces glowing. We enjoyed great local ales along with warm filling specials and meals. We were happy we stopped by!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“made to feel unwelcome”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Second time I have been to this pub and been made to feel unwelcome. Updated menu is the same food as it has been for years. There are much better pubs in this area to have something to eat. Definitely won't be revisiting until management changes again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnyK1984, General Manager at The Camelot, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
I am extremely sorry to hear you didn't receive the warm welcome we endeavour to give every guest that visits The Camelot. Is is our intention to meet the high standards of service at every opportunity and I am saddened to learn that on this occasion we failed to do so. We are currently in the process of assembling a largely new front of house, as well as kitchen team, alongside which we will be making many more alterations to our existing menu. I hope you feel you may be able to try The Camelot once again in the near future to allow us to rectify any previous lack of service you have received. Apologies again, Sonia Kennedy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Camelot also viewed

Queen Camel, Somerset
Wincanton, Somerset
 
Wincanton, Somerset
 

Been to The Camelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Camelot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.