We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little gem in Somerset” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Garden B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added River Garden B&B to your Saves list
River Garden B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Parsons PIghtle | Back Street, West Camel, Yeovil BA22 7QF, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 West Camel B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect little gem in Somerset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

A fantastic little privately owned B&B, in West Camel just outside Yeovil. Great location for touring around the sites of Somerset and Devon, like Glastonbury, Sherbourne and Yeovilleton.

The room was delightful with original oak beams, well furnished with lovely ensuite bathroom supplied with great toiletries. The bed and quiet dark room provided for a very peaceful and comfortable night's sleep.

An excellent breakfast was served each morning in their spectacular upstairs dining area, each time tailored to individual requests (and anything up to and including a Full English).

The owners and hosts Kim and Barry have setup and run River Garden with exceptional attention to detail. They make guests feel welcome from the very first moment (providing coffee and home-baked treats on arrival, served out in the garden thanks to gorgeous spring weather); until final departure. They have lots of relevant, local tourist information available and provided some excellent recommendations for local dining.

Highly recommended and look forward to visiting again in the near future...

Room Tip: The Blue Room with it's ensuite bathroom is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim B, Owner at River Garden B&B, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hi Tim,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We'd love to see you both again and we have plenty more recommendations for things to do and places to eat!

Kim & Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
12
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a double en suit (blue) room. Lovely decor, nice comfortable bed, access to the beautiful garden from the room. B&B located in a rural very nice and quiet place. Fantastic for a quiet weekend.The owners of B&B are very friendly, very welcoming and sweet people. Made everything to feel us like at home. Great breakfast made from farmers free range eggs - yummy! Would recommend anyone to stay there! Besides there are so many historical places to visit in a short drive distance. Brilliant place, nice and beautiful location and fantastic owners. Definitely would like to come back again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim B, Owner at River Garden B&B, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Tanja,

Thank you for your feedback - we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. It's good that you found so much to do in the area and we are glad you enjoyed the breakfast too.

Kim & Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Om our way from Dover tot Bodmin we decided to make a stop in West Camel. It was a great stay; Owners Barry and Kim are very helpful and welcoming and made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The house is beautiful, awsome livingroom, bedrooms are cozy and clean with direct access tot the huge garden. Breakfast was fresh and plenty! Will come back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim B, Owner at River Garden B&B, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hi Martin & Marinus,

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your review. Thanks also for emailing the photo of you both in the living room - it definitely made us smile.

Kim & Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed in this wonderful B & B run by a lovely couple Kim and Barry who were really lovely and helpful. The room was beautifully decorated, the beds really comfortable and there was lovely finishing touches in the room, such as toiletries and hair dryers which was so useful. The breakfast was very well presented. The garden with the river running down the bottom was very special. All in all a wonderful stay. Thank you Kim and Barry for a wonderful stay and we look forward to staying with you again

Room Tip: All room were great, we had a peep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim B, Owner at River Garden B&B, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello Diane,

Thanks for your great review - we are so glad you had a good time and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kim & Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

The guest house is beautifully finished and Kim and Barry make you feel very welcome. We stayed for a relaxing getaway and were not disappointed, but if we were looking for more activities to keep us busy Kim and Barry were full of good ideas. The room was lovely, the bed comfortable and the food delicious. Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim B, Owner at River Garden B&B, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hi Beth,

Thank you for your feedback - we are very happy that you both enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Kim & Barry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here for two nights with our young son in the blue room. River garden has recently been refurbished and it shows - everything looks lovely, very big room easily big enough for a travel cot (and still felt spacious). Good comfortable bed / pillows, and the patio doors onto the garden were a real plus first thing in the morning.

Breakfast was great - we had traditional full English breakfasts but other choices were available. Barry and Kim were lovely hosts, able to help us out with suggestions of what to do / where to go for a local day out.

Would definitely return for another stay, its also very conveniently located off the A303 if you're travelling down to the West Country.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim B, Owner at River Garden B&B, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Pete & Family,

Thank you for your review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Kim & Barry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Garden B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Garden B&B

Address: Parsons PIghtle | Back Street, West Camel, Yeovil BA22 7QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > West Camel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Camel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Garden B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Garden is a converted barn in the heart of the beautiful village of West Camel, where you will receive a warm, friendly welcome. Free on-site parking.Kim & Barry provide 2 rooms with direct access to the garden. Breakfast is served in the Grand Hall with its 17th century oak beams and stained glass.Free WiFi, 32" Sony Freeview TV, power showers, luxury toiletries in all room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your River Garden B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Garden B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.