We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Church Farm Barn

Church Farm Barn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Podimore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Church Farm Barn
Save
You added Church Farm Barn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Church Street, Podimore BA22 8JE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Podimore B&B and Inns
Fakenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Excellent B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

A wonderful overnight stay at Church Farm Barn whilst visiting the nearbye Fleet Air Arm Museum. The ensuite room was spacious, exceptionally clean, simply but tastefully decorated and Heather made us fell very welcome, providing tea/coffee and homemade cake on our arrival. Surprisingly the local pubs are very busy with meals in the evenings but Heather suggested various ones and had menus available for us to see and Heather booked a table for us to ensure we got in. The whole barn conversion is really nice and could have starred on Grand Designs. Breakfast in the morning was served in a splendid almost baronial dining room and was excellent with homemade or locally produced food. We will have to find a reason to be in the area and stay again.

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent the difficult choice is do you want a walk in shower or jacuzi bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just returned from a idyllic birthday break at Church Farm Barn. Couldn't have asked for a more stunning location and a heart felt welcome! Heather and Dave pulled out all the stops with homemade breakfast and finishing touches (including birthday muffins and candles!) The Walnut Room was immaculate and the hatch overlooking the traditional dining room was beautiful. I wish I could pick the barn up and move in! I didn't want to come home, a big thankyou!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I am writing this review on behalf of my parents wo had an amazing stay shurch farm B&B. They recieved a warm welcome from Heather before being shown to their spacious , exceptionally clean and tastefully decorated room with a walk in bathroom. The building is a barn conversion with its original stone which is really nice and gives this b&b a tradtional edge. As for location, Church Farm is ideally situated just off the A303 and is ten minutes away from the centre of Yeovil. There are plenty of local pubs and restuarants nearby alll which have a real country feel (menus are availible at the b&b) and can be booked through the host. Almost forgot to mention that the breakfast is top class, using local produce as well as offering a vast selection of fresh fruit and pastries, you will not be disappointed (having sampled the breakfast first hand!) All in all my parents had a great stay, consistantly commenting on the level of service offered by Heather and for the country experience as Church farm is also a full functioning farm. They would definitely look nowhere else next time they are in Somerset.

Room Tip: Walnut bedroom is very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This b&b is better than any hotel. Beautifully finished, comfortable, spacious,luxurious, friendly and great breakfast. All in all i had real house envy. All minor touches make it perfect: good towels, very comfortable bed, good sized mugs, and bath robe to boot. Would highly recommend.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed her on our wedding night, 6 april 2013. Brilliant rooms, service and heather was so lovely. The whole building itself is beautiful and so much attention and love has gone in to decorating the rooms.

I was welcomed to leave my car and drop off a bag the day before and when we arrived after our wedding, we were greeted with a banner, rose petals and a bottle of bubbley. such lovely touches!

The breakfast the next day was brilliant and had everything you could imagine, fruit salads, smoothies, youghurts, toast, cereal and then you could also choose from a menu. We opted for the full english and it was so delicious.

The place is a credit to the family and I will definately point people in their direction if i have visitors staying in the local area!.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hubs and I decided on a spontaneous mini break and he found this place.
No words describe how taken aback we were when we arrived. The barn itself is beautiful, and the rooms, well, were can I start?
Attention to detail is key and Heather has thought of just everything, even down to fresh milk in the fridge for tea in your room.
Breakfast was first class, I sampled the scrambled eggs on both mornings and they were lush made from fresh eggs from their hens. Hubs had the full English and didn't eat for the rest of the day which is very unlike him.
Heather and her family are just lovely, so friendly and welcoming and when we left I rather felt that we had gained new friends.
We will be returning if only to sample breakfast!!!
I very highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: I can't because they are both gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the move
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have stayed at a good number of four and five star hotels, but in terms of the quality of the rooms, the warmth of the reception, and the superb breakfast (I had a fantastic full english but there were many other choices) this B&B was right up there with the best of them.

I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Church Farm Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Farm Barn

Address: Church Street, Podimore BA22 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Podimore
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Podimore
Hotel Class:4 star — Church Farm Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church Farm Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.