We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tainted by tourism” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amish Country

Amish Country
PA
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Tainted by tourism”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Although the countryside is beautiful, travellers should be aware that their visit to an Amish area is now an orchestrated, touristy farce which is disappointing & not really worthwhile. We were taken to a group of outdoor shops, few of which had Amish workers, & not enough time was allocated to shopping there anyway. The few Amish that you do speak to, are not traditional, as those who are, would not be part of the money making exercise that this has become. Even the buggy driver only worked 3 days a week & did not even own a farm anymore. I would not bother doing such a tour again as there is little authenticity. However if you are really desperate to learn about the Amish, it would be better to spend a few days in Lancaster and actually experience it locally without the orchestrations of a tour company.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    112
    28
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Interesting but nothing out of the ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent a couple of hours here getting the usual pics of Amish people in carriages, driving around the country side and taking a walk through Intercourse (the town....)
Got the feeling that allthough the Amish have chosen to live like the rest of us did 200 years ago their ability to make money on that is quite up to date! So you can get a ride in a horse carriage, go se "a real Amish town" etc. Frankly I'd rather save my money for somwthing different.

Experiencing and seeing that people live so very differently from the rest of us was a good experience though and well worth the trip there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cternst
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lots of shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The shopping and stores were great with allot of variety and good prices. The restaurants had allot of variety too, from farm food feasts to exotic.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Peaceful countryside. Enjoyed seeing the horse and buggies. Beautiful farms. 4 of us had a wonderful time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Top Contributor
483 reviews 483 reviews
196 attraction reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience touring the Amish Countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

So I may be a bit biased. My family came to this country in the late 1600's as they had heard that this new Country had religious freedom's not found in their home land. They were Mennonite's from Germany and came to Pennsylvania to start a new life for their families. They were one of the first Mennonite families that came to this Country. Alsmost four hundred years later...the Amish/ Mennonite tradition and life style remains a part of Pennsylvania's Amish Country. Even though I was not raised in the Mennonite tradition or Church, I cherish their way of the simple life and am in awe of how this tradition has survived all of these years. I was blessed to visit the Amish Country last week and enjoyed our time touring the land and visiting their shops that sell Amish made products. We were only there for one day as we were on a road trip...but I hope to come back again soon.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amish Country also viewed

Strasburg, Lancaster County
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
 
New Holland, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Amish Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amish Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.