We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best location for the Isabella Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albemarle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Albemarle to your Saves list
Hotel Albemarle
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Las Fragatas Street, And Los Jieles Avenue, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Québec
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The best location for the Isabella Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were prepared for the bad reviews on Trip Advisor so we were surprised enjoyed our stay of 5 days.
The excellent service from owner Max Murray by e-mail has been important for us. We had cancelled at the last minute because of work and money last year from completely credited us our money for this year. He informed us also of the special Emetebe a small plane that made the Baltra-Isabella road.
Cost: $185, a bargain for several months the best price I got was $ 275. I informed M.Murray that my husband did not want to take a taxi boat.
Rooms with view on the beach have an extraordinary view.
Yes, it is outdated, but we are to the Galapagos to live outside, we enjoyed the balcony with chairs and chairs front the beach. We have full of tours and great walks on the beach. In December the bar on the beach was quiet good except a bit of noise on Saturday night and Max had left at the reception to us this night.
Least: the internet was working well in the restaurant but not in the room. The reception did not know the password, an employee who reported us it after 3 days.
Unfortunately the hotel has more restaurant for the evening. Restaurants are cheap in the city but it is not very varied and the hours are limited in December.
For ants, many are talking about, I think that it is impossible that a hotel directly on the beach, feet in the sand are not ants. We have learned over the years of travel near the deserts oceans and leave our shoes away from the House, have a other shoes the room and have a bottle of insecticide that we aspergeons at the entrance of the door. The room service is average so therefore try not to overdramatize and wasting his time.
Conclusion: I would have put 3 stars for the hotel but the exceptional service of Max Murray I've unfortunately not met during our stay deserves a star more. Like many here say has so much potential but it's also much more expensive.

Room Tip: Room at the second floor front the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    30
    12
    12
    11
See reviews for
28
51
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We are independent travellers who visited Galapagos last month. We are avid UK bird watchers and decided to visit Galapagos after watching the BBC's wonderful documentary series. This hotel was right at the top end of our budget but we were not disappointed. We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay. As they say, its all about location, location, location, and the Albemarle simply cannot be beat. It is located directly on the most beautiful beach you can imagine, fine white sand and palm trees, marine iguanas and boobies, and virtually no-one on it...we had the whole beach to ourselves! Directly behind the hotel is the main town square with all the local services, tour agencies and local restaurants. no other hotel on the island has a location like this. The staff were very polite and helpful, especially Geraldine on reception, who is from England which definitely helped with our communication problem! She kindly organised all our tours which were very enjoyable (our favourite was Tintoreras). Breakfast was great...eggs to order and self-service coffee, toast and juice. The fresh fruits were incredible! Our beach front room was fantastic, directly on the beach with the most breath-taking views. The 6pm sunsets to the right side of our balcony are not to be missed. Our room was beautiful...finished to a very high standard with marble bathroom, colonial style balcony, powerful and hot rain shower, huuuuuge emperor bed and all the mod cons: in-room safe,TV with DVD, silent air conditioning, but we didnt use it as the high ceilings and large wooden balcony doors made it fresh and breezy. It was rather pricey for us but there is nothing bad to say about this hotel, it was probably the best we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE! I was so looking forward to staying at this hotel. It seemed reasonably priced for the description of the hotel. Although I had read the reviews of the hotel as having ants on the beds, I did contact the owner directly who told me that had been a one-time occurrence because the room was next to the kitchen but that he could assure me it have been resolved. When I arrived at the dock I was met by a dirty and dusty pickup truck which soiled out suitcases. When I arrived at reception the woman at the counter was impatient, rude, exasperated and had the attitude that she was doing me a favor instead of me being a paying customer. The hotel is in disrepair. At one time it may have been grand but it appears to not have been well maintained. We were given the Charles room facing the beach, the beach view was beautiful and the room was a very comfortable size. However, there were bathroom fixtures in decay, missing or rusted. The towels were dingy and had rust stains, some were discolored. The wooden molding in the room was dirty and old with chipping wood. Overall it was a disappointment, especially for the rate. I have stayed in hotels in much better condition in the US and overseas for less money. Unfortunately upon inspection of the bed I found small sugar ants on the sheets. When I informed the front desk staff they seemed even more exasperated with me and even annoyed. They offered to change my room and put me in the Chatam. This room did not have ants on the bed, but the balcony was full of them. The room was in the same state of disrepair. I had certain expectations of this hotel for the rate we were paying but was extremely disappointed. When I went downstairs to let management know I was disappointed the woman at the front desk was rude and raised her voice at me during the conversation. She gave me two choices, of which I was already well aware, stay in the conditions the hotel was in or leave to another hotel. Not having much knowledge of the area hotels, since I had planned on the Abemarle for four nights, I quickly booked another hotel, Sol Isabela, which I can review later. Overall, although this did not ruin my vacation, it was a blemish on the time I spent ON Isla Isabela.

Room Tip: Pay close attention to Trip advisor reviews and heed warniongs. I could have avoided all this if I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Villamil hotels

Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

It is in a good location across from a swimming beach and around the block from some great restaurants. The reason for the poor review was due to lack of cleanliness. The same dead bugs were in the same location in our bathroom the entire stay. Also open bars of soap and hair were left from the previous tenants. The pictures show that the bathrooms have two sinks but the faucet was only working for one sink. The sheets, curtains and towels are past due to be replaced. They were stained and worn thin. We never used the pool as it is very small and it was green. I do not know if they are able to use chlorine/chemicals. The beach across the street is more comfortable and the swimming was great.

Be aware... although the hotel was kind enough to call a taxi to pick us up at 5:15 am to meet the ferry no one ever showed up. We were fortunate to hitch a ride with other guests whose tour guides had arranged and showed up to personally take their group to the ferry. It is not a walk to take with luggage as the roads are sandy, bumpy and not close enough to the ferry. Try to make arrangements through a tour fguide for this.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed here as an independent traveler while visiting Galapagos. We had a great time doing day trips with local guides (helps if you speak Spanish and they really do know the best places to take you to!) and eating out at local restaurants, but the hotel really was the low point of our stay. Great location right on the beach and lovely to go to sleep to the sound of crushing waves, but the room are not well taken care of, as is the case with all of the property and the food is simply awful. I was also wondering about hygiene in the kitchen, as the "chef" walked around all over the village barefoot and then also was barefoot in the kitchen and had a very nasty looking cut on his finger that looked like it probably should have been away from food related items for the time being. Even though we foolishly prepaid for our dinners at the hotel and they refused to give us a refund when we decided after a couple of nights to eat elsewhere, we opted to eat our meals in local restaurants - a much better choice, both for your taste buds and your wallet! Try the burger joint three door down - it is the best burger I ever had in my life! Hotel presents well in pictures, but needs some repair and new staff that gives a damn.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The Albemarle was somewhat of a dissapointment to us for the cost. First - BEAWARE - it is located RIGHT next to a lively bar. If you need rest - don't stay here. The bar noise goes until wee hours of the morning. Although the desk clerk assured us the noise stops after 9:00 PM it does not. In addition, because the hotel is located right on the street, local traffic continues to come and go from the bar. Second - we stayed in the "Charles Room" - each room is given a names versus a number - our bed didn't have a mattress cover, so the bottom sheet was directly on the matterss which you could see through the sheet. The pillow cases were too small for the bed pillows, so the pillows stuck out of their cases. Third - a scocer field is located right next to the hotel and you can watch games and practices from the upper floor balcony of the Albemarle - but wild games do get loud and there is no place to sit - so you have to either stand or lean on the railing. Fourth - the swimming pool is discusting - full of green gunk and murky water. We never even tried to use the pool because it was visually unpleasant. The furniture is somewhat run down/old and in need of repair or replacement. The food was okay but you can purchase better food from the local resturants. While we were there, there appeared to be only one staff person doing everything - taking call, helping guests, serving tables and checking guests in. He was quick at his tasks - but seemed to only be focused on the task and not the guest/customer - moving from one to another. The hotel should have another person to assist - even if its just part-time.

Room Tip: Located RIGHT next to a lively bar. If you need to rest - don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Although hotels are Isabela are limited, this one did not live up to our expectations. We learned how difficult it was to try and book hotels on our own (outside of an organized tour or agency), but still chose to maintain our independence.

Hotel Albemarle is ideally situated directly on the beach, and our room was rather large, but it appeared that the property was in a state of disrepair. Furnishings were simple but adequate, and the bathroom had higher end finishes, but the faucet was falling off on one of the sinks, no shower curtain and a strong odor from the toilet when left open. The air conditioner worked well and cooled quickly. A water cooler was provided in the room which seemed like a great feature until we went to drink the water in our water bottle and saw the larvae swimming in the water. It was promptly swapped out.

The very small pool area looks pretty in the picture, but was green on the bottom, and the hot tub did not work - so no usage during our entire stay. There is a very large open air deck on the top floor that provides the view in the picture, but there is no furniture available. Breakfast was simple and adequate as well.

I would summarize this as a hotel with a ton of potential, and in need of some TLC.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Albemarle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albemarle

Address: Las Fragatas Street, And Los Jieles Avenue, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albemarle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albemarle Hotel, spectacularly set right on Cuna del Sol Beach, is a Mediterranean-inspired house featuring a beautiful garden with swimming pool. Each of the large rooms has tiled floors, wood-beamed ceilings, a luxurious, marble-accented private bathroom and either sea or pool view. Other amenities include air conditioning, TV and free WiFi. The in-house tour desk can make your travel arrangements around Isabela and other Galapagos islands. The Albemarle Hotel has an excellent location in the heart of Puerto Villamil, a two-hour boat trip from Santa Cruz Island and three kilometers from General Villamil Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Albemarle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albemarle Hotel Isabela
Hotel Albemarle Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albemarle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.