We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miles above the rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cafetal Galapagos

El Cafetal Galapagos
Central Park | Central Park, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador
+593 5-301-6775
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, South American, Pacific Rim, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: SEA FOOD, VEGETARIAN FOOD, TRADITIONAL FOOD, GOURMET FOOD...
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Miles above the rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This was by far the best meal we had on Isabela. All the other restaurants are very similar with the same set menu and after 4 days of these we were ready for a change. I had the beef lasagne and my boyfriend had swordfish both cooked perfectly and were really good value. If only we'd of found this place before our last night there!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elcafetal G, Propietario at El Cafetal Galapagos, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Google Translation
gracias por su opinión...Saludos!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    23
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
D.C.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Seafood. High end for Galapagos. Nicest restaurant in Villamil. Owner/chef is from Columbia. Terrific tuna. Husband had the octopus which also was good, but the tuna was better. – smile -

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elcafetal G, Propietario at El Cafetal Galapagos, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Google Translation
gracias por su opinión..Saludos!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“REALLY good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

After 4 weeks in Peru & Ecuador we were quite tired of "Pollo & arroz" - but at the "Cafetal" even this dish (Chicken & rice) was prepared in such an excellent way that that even a (kitchen-wise) spoiled Belgian citizen like me felt as if he was in heaven! ... and they have plenty of other, mind-blowing meals to offer! Reservation required! Recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious meals, terrific service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Adalber was a terrific host during the two dinners and one breakfast at the Galapagos's Coffee and Gallery Arts cafe/restaurant. During the dinners, we had a pre-booked table inside, with nice atmosphere. The food was delicious! On the first night I had a swordfish dish, on the second I had a wahoo fish dish. Adalber attended to our needs, and introduced the lovely Veronica who was our chef, who gave us further details of our meals. The restaurant was quiet and welcoming, and during our buffet breakfast we sat at tables outside the restaurant and enjoyed watching the people of Isabela Island go about their morning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really delightful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Looking for somehwere to eat, we wandered into El Cafetal and were immediately delighted to have done so. The owner, who speaks good English, was charming, made us feel very welcome and recommended swordfish. The fish was delicious and we were then tempted to try the passion fruit moose - the chef has to be congratulated. Do try this restaurant during a visit to this beautiful island - you will very pleased. Michael and Carol

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cafetal Galapagos also viewed

Puerto Villamil, Isabela
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 

Been to El Cafetal Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cafetal Galapagos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.