We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property the hosts are wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Gran Tortuga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Gran Tortuga to your Saves list
La Gran Tortuga
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Las Fragatas y 16 de Marzo, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent property the hosts are wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I arrived to a lovely welcome home from home the breakfast was wonderful lovely fruit and eggs coffee and juice . Room spotless . This is my third stop in isabela and the best service ever . I am travelling with my son . The room is spacious clean wifi strong very good wifi
It is not expensive in fact brilliant value air conditioning soap shampoo etc beautifully presented .

Room Tip: Upstairs lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    36
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
63
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Definitely an
The rooms were super clean. A/C. Wi-fi...
The owner were very nice to help us to figure out what to do during your staying in the island...excursions, tours, etc...very nice people
Excellent location, near restraunts and in the center of town. a couple minutes away from the beach. The breakfeast was good.
So a choice to suggest, to family / couple (as us), or any other kind of tourists.
There is no Swimming Pool, neither Fitness center, but honestly we didn't miss it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmcity
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Has clean rooms. A/C. Excellent location, near restraunts and in the center of town. a couple minutes away from the beach. very nice people Jose and Juana are the best on the island. im going back in september and cant wait see my amigos. the breakfeast is amazing. cant say enough good things about the La Gran Tortuga!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Clean rooms with air conditioning. The bathroom was a bit small and the hot water quickly runs out, but the bed was comfortable. The street can get noisy at night since there is a restaurant/bar across the roads and several people out on the street throughout the night.

The breakfast served is very good and filling. Nice hammocks up on the roof.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in Feb '12. The reason it has taken me so long to review is because I couldn't find it on here, just stumbled across it accidentaly.
This was a lovely little place to stay. Clean rooms and bathrooms, friendly staff and very chilled out atmosphere. I only stayed for two nights and don't actually know how much it cost (I was on a little tour of the islands) but really liked it. It's onl a five minute walk from the dock in one direction and from a goregous beach and bars in the other direction. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at La Gran Tortuga for 5 nights. We loved it! Jose and Juana were fabulous hosts and we had everything we needed including a wonderful breakfast every morning. The room was comfortable, conveniently located and it is priced very well! We had a wonderful time on Isla Isabella and Jose and Jauna helped to make it superb.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Decent hotel with large rooms and comfortable beds. The bathroom could use some improvement though. The breakfast was good with eggs & sausages, toasted bread, yogurt, granola, and fruit. There's a roof top lounge area with hammocks which is nice to chill out with fellow travelers. The location is good, close to the beach, restaurants and bars and the port. There is free wifi that was working perfectly in our room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juana V, Propietario at La Gran Tortuga, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Google Translation
gracias por su opinión para nosotros es muy importante saber que usted se halla sentido satisfecho con nuestros servicios y en nuestro hostal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Gran Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gran Tortuga

Address: Las Fragatas y 16 de Marzo, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Gran Tortuga 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your vacation in La Gran Tortuga! We offer comfortable rooms with air conditioners, private bathrooms, television and wireless internet access. We also organize tours to volcanoes, bay tours, tours to lava tunnels in the sea and tours to Galapagos Tortoise center. We hope to see you very soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your La Gran Tortuga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gran Tortuga Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gran Tortuga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.