We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galapagos Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iguana Crossing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Iguana Crossing to your Saves list
Iguana Crossing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Antonio Gil, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunny Season Deal
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Galapagos Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Our trip to the Galapagos just would not have been the same without Iguana Crossing! This is a beautiful boutique hotel with a spectacular view, which has been designed to take every advantage of Isabela's natural beauty. Service is very personalized and each of the staff members goes out of his or her way to ensure a comfortable stay. And given the hotel's limited number of rooms, you're not overwhelmed by other guests.

We really loved our stay and the warm treatment by Pablo and his team made for an unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are worth the premium!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    48
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
74
117
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Loved the location right across from the ocean, the rooms, the fabulous dining, and the friendly staff with Marcia! The island of Isabela was our favorite on the Galapagos. Wish we could have stayed longer...

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Having arrived on the island with only $16 to our name, little did we realise that there were no ATM machines on the island. It was an absolute nightmare and although we didn't stay at this hotel, the staff went out of their way to help us. We ate in the hotel a number of times and the food was great. We cannot thank the hotel enough for the kindness shown to us. The hotel also looked amazing from what we did see, we should have stayed here as well!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Oh my goodness! What a wonderful place this is. The hotel is beautiful and very well kept. The setting is lovely with a nice beach, hiking trails, bikes to rent all right at hand. The town is cute with a sweet church, post office and a nice restaurant although the food at Iguana Crossing is so good you may not want to venture elsewhere. We had a little air conditioning problem but the manager had it fixed in record time! I would certainly return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo D, Manager at Iguana Crossing, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear 379alice:

Thank you for your review, we are constantly monitoring and ensuring the property is well maintained and up to guest expectations. I am thrilled to have been able to help you with the AC inconvenience issue in the room. As a team we are committed to bring quick solutions to these type of situations as we just want for our guests to relax and enjoy their time with us.
It is also great to know that you enjoyed your time around the island and were able come in contact with the incredible nature it has to offer. I passed your thoughts about our food to the chefs which were glad to hear them. All of us would like to say thanks again and wish you the very best, hopefully we meet again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I chose to stay in Iguana Crossing during my visit to Isabela and it's absolutely the right decision. I heard about this hotel thru word of mouth and I'll help spread the word to other prospecting visitors. This hotel has the best location and the most friendly and helpful manager & staffs. It is well maintained and offers very good day excursion packages. For someone comes from a big city, I highly recommend you go onto the roof top and watch the stars during the night, you'll be amazed by what you can see on the sky. I also like the taste of its decor, furnishing and the food. Everything from the kitchen is so fresh and delicious. Iguana Crossing is absolutely my first choice if I come back again.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have decent view so it really doesn't matter to us which way we are facing. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo D, Manager at Iguana Crossing, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Tenakill:

Thank your for your time to write your excellent comments and help others in their choice for their next vacation. It was very nice to have you with us, I really enjoyed sharing a warm conversation with you and personally I feel very happy that you both had the opportunity to take some tours and visit the wonders Isabela Island has to offer. Whenever you feel the need to leave the big city let us know we will be waiting for you, so please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just returned from a week's stay on beautiful Isabela. Rather than going from island to island on a cruise, we chose to explore Isabela and make Iguana Crossing our home base. We were not disappointed. Hotel staff, including manager Pablo, made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived and throughout our stay

The property is well-maintained and "casually stylish." Rooms were comfortable, meals were enjoyable (our kids especially loved the breakfast offerings) and the service was great. We made good use of the pool each day after returning from various excursions and the rooftop deck/hot tub, which offered fabulous views at sunset. The hotel's location provided an enjoyable place to view the morning parade of iguanas as they made their way to the ocean, and to watch bikers, surfers and hikers head off to their activities.

The hotel arranged for a wonderful guide, Omar, to take us around to various tours on several days (would highly recommend requesting his services). We did two snorkel trips, each offering different marine life, and a hike to Sierra Negra. All were great. Other days, we made our way to the pink hotel down the road to rent bikes and surf boards. This allowed us to explore the low-key town at our own pace and to revisit some areas multiple times. We also enjoyed the evening happy hour at the same little place. It provided a chance to talk to different people and we felt like locals by the time we left.

We rarely go back to the same vacation destination twice, but our family all agreed that we would return to Iguana Crossing and lovely Isabela. Thank you for making this trip so special.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms offer best views of the iguanas and the sparkling sea. Would recommend these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo D, Manager at Iguana Crossing, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear diva4Chicago:

As a team, we couldn't be happier to know you and your family had such a great experience. We are very happy and proud to have been able to been up to your expectations. Thank you very much for your comments, we welcome the thought of you wishing to come back and definitively will be waiting for you. I would like also to mention that you have a lovely family all the members are very kind, and I want to wish you all the best as you deserve so. Hope to meet you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Iguana crossing was my favorite hotel of our Galapagos trip and for good reason- its relaxing and beautiful- overlooking a wonderful beach, breaking surf, and an occasional iguana crossing the road right nearby.

The hotel is fairly new and at the very end of the unpaved street in Puerto Villamil. You can walk into town in about 3 or 4 minutes- either on the road or along the beach if you'd prefer.

The hotel has a lovely infinity pool right out front and a comfortable room/bar in the front for relaxing at night. Meals are served in the adjacent dining room.
The food was just ok- the menu items all sounded great and the staff was pretty accommodating
offering eggs in the morning, but breakfast seemed to run out a few times and things like the rice were not well cooked.

The staff was very nice. The hotel has wifi but its slow (this is pretty much the norm everywhere)

I would come back without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iguana Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Crossing

Address: Av. Antonio Gil, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iguana Crossing 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Crossing is Isabela's newest and most innovative hotel. Its minimalist design and superior service offer guests a privileged experience on this scarcely populated island. Iguana Crossing is located in between Isabela's extensive white sand beaches and directly behind a wildlife-filled lagoon. Iguana Crossing offers an oceanfront swimming pool, Jacuzzi, 12 fully equipped rooms and a master suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Iguana Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Crossing Hotel Puerto Villamil
Iguana Crossing Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iguana Crossing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.