We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I have ever been to! Beautiful hotel with great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iguana Crossing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Iguana Crossing to your Saves list
Iguana Crossing
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Antonio Gil, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
MOTHERS DAY DEAL
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
1 review
“Best hotel I have ever been to! Beautiful hotel with great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The location of the hotel is beautiful, in front of the hotel there is a beautiful beach with white sand and clear blue water and behind the hotel there is a lake where you can see the iguanas swimming. Absolutely gorgeous! The hotel itself has a very nice architecture with a lot of wood and other natural materials which are very well taken care of. The hotel really melts in nicely with the environment.

Arriving at the hotel you meet Juan Daniel who explains about hotel and island which is a really nice touch. Entering the room you'll find a enormous and very comfortable bed and nice view with a beautiful bathroom and lovely decoration.

The food is awesome, so nice. I can really recommend it. I agree with lonely planet which says it's the best on the island! And it's al ecological!

The hotel is great we where so pleased! Can really recommend it! It's must be he best hotel on the island.





  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Google Translation
Estimada Corinaswe:

Agradecemos mucho su favorable opinión del hotel y su privilegiada ubicación.
Tenemos el agrado de poder tratar de forma personal con la gran mayoría de nuestros huéspedes, y procurar brindar una grata experiencia todos.
Esperamos tenerlos con nosotros en una nueva oportunidad.
Saludos desde Isabela!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    53
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
85
130
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Iguana Ctossing is the nicest hotel in Isabela Island in Galapagos, Ecuador. The service is amazing, the food is to die for, the people are great and you will be suprised by the details. They will hook you up with anything you need, Wether it is a boat ride or plane to another Island, a tour, or a good place to eat. The views from all the rooms are beautiful, wether you get an ocean view or a volcano view. They will have the jacuzzi ready for you to enjoy after a morning of a activities, and everyone there majes sur e you have everything you need at any time.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Iguana Crossing is a wonderful property. Rooms are comfortable, clean. One downside is the pump-action shower - a water saving feature. It just requires you to hold a button the entire time. Pool is beautiful and it was wonderful to sleep with the doors open and hear the surf from the beach. Isabela only has a few restaurants and attractions, but Iguana Crossing is close to all of it. The only negative to the hotel were the food choices. The included breakfast lacked choices and was uninspiring. The menu for lunch and dinner is otherwise overpriced, especially when compared to the deals one can get in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear eck2005:

We thank you deeply for your possitive review about our hotel and staff.
We understand that our showers and sinks can be sometimes and issue for some of our distinguished guests, but the water saving devices are a responsability towards the beatifull island we have the luck to be placed at, and the fact that it doesn´t count with lots of natural sweet water sources.
We want you to know that thanks to your advices about our breakfast ,we´re permanently working to provide more choices on it.
Once again thank you for your visit, and hopefully until the next time.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We just returned from our honeymoon to the Galapagos islands and we stayed three nights at the Iguana Crossing hotel. The hotel is definitely an amazing place and was very relaxing for the last three nights of our honeymoon (we wish we could have stayed longer). We stayed in room 12, which was very nice and clean and had an amazing view. We only wish it had had a balcony, but still we were very happy. The hotel itself is a great facility in a great location. It is located next to the start of the trail that leads to the turtle breeding ground and is on the road that leads to the Wall of Tears. It is also very close to the Casa Rosada bar/hotel which has an awesome happy hour.

Iguana Crossing is depicted perfectly in the pictures on tripadvisor and the hotel website. The pool and deck area are beautiful, and the hot tub and lounge area on the top offer spectacular views. The bar area and restaurant are very nice as well with comfortable lounge chairs.

The food was excellent at the hotel - we loved the daily breakfast the hotel provided (which somehow we didn't know was included...so an extra bonus for us!) and the lunch and dinner meals we ate there were delicious. The ceviche was fresh and tasty, and my chicken apassionato was great.

The service at the hotel was also top notch - Daniel, Jackie, and Marie were extremely helpful in catering to anything we needed while we were there. Daniel also had complimentary wine sent up for us since it was our honeymoon, which was a classy touch. I talked a bit with Daniel about San Isabela island, and it was very interesting to hear about the delicate balance between developing the island and preserving its fragile ecosystem. I was also very impressed to find out that Daniel spoke english, french and some italian.

We liked Santa Cruz Island, but the laid back vibe and setting of San Isabela & Iguana Crossing was exactly what we were looking for.

Room Tip: Room 12 has an excellent view, but it is the only ocean view room without a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Hermosa_EricB

All of us (the staff) thank you very much for your very kind and descriptive review. We´re glad you found the hotel us welcoming as you describe, especially in such a special occation.
We expect that our work filled your holidays with even more great memories of your trip to the Galapagos.
We´re very happy to know as well that you remember our conversation about the truly fragile ecosystem we have the luck to be placed at, but knowing also the huge responsability this brings along.
We certainly expect you back in our beautifull island.
Best regards and until the next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent 7 days of our honeymoon at this hotel and every day was just delightful. The staff was very attentive especially Daniel. He went out of his way to make us feel at home. The breakfast buffet was amazing. They had your everyday Ecuadorian food, bacon, eggs, toast and amuse boushe. Every day there was something different for breakfast. The views from our hotel room were breathtaking. When you come to the Galapagos you're coming to enjoy nature and the wildlife these Islands have to offer. The wildlife around the hotels property is just amazing. You are able to see iguanas, Flamingos and giant turtles without having to book tours. It was great to know from the locals that we were staying at the #1 hotel in Isabela.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Esther C:

We´re very proud to know that your stay with us was as good as described in your wonderfull review about the hotel.
It was a great privilege to have shared the memorable moments you expended at the hotel.
Bolones and yuca muchines will allways be available for you when you come back to Isabela island!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were met by Juan Daniel , room was good , hotel is exceptional. Drink nd popcorn on terrace. Beach is wonderful as is the lagoon behind hotel where pink flamingoes roam..
One word to describe atmosphere : relaxing ..
We visited three islands , this was the best in Galapagos..next time we ll skip the others and stay longer..

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view room price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear RimaH152:

We deeply appreciate the chance you´ve given us to welcome you. We do or best to provide every guest with an equally unique and relaxing experience as the environment we´re so lucky to be placed at, in Isabela island, a truly privileged destination.
Thank you very much for you great comments about the hotel and hopefully, á la prochain fois!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

If you like staying in places where things are more natural and not turisticaly overdeveloped Island Isabela is a good choice. The best accomodation on Isabela is this small boutique hotel. Rooms are big and clean, airconditioned. Personal is very friendly. Food is very good other than breakfast with selections of two breads, one salami, done chease butter and eggs, but enough for a disent breakfast.

A turistical guide Richard is very informed and educated and a real naturalist very eager and happy to explain the island attractions.

In conclusion: not luxorious but pretty good. But if you came to Isabela you are more into nature than resort type of person.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Gerente at Iguana Crossing, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Ratko_Croatia Guest:

It was a pleasure to welcome you at this far point of the world and we ´re glad you found the hotel confortable, and we are also happy that you enjoyed the many activities we´ve planned.
We hope you can understand the many problems of the logistics sometimes we have to face to have a propper supplying in Isabela.
We do our best to make your experience as beautiful as Isabela, and althought we believe your evaluation it´s a bit unfair against your review, we thank you for the possitive comments provided.
Respectfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iguana Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Crossing

Address: Av. Antonio Gil, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Iguana Crossing 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Crossing is Isabela's newest and most innovative hotel. Its minimalist design and superior service offer guests a privileged experience on this scarcely populated island. Iguana Crossing is located in between Isabela's extensive white sand beaches and directly behind a wildlife-filled lagoon. Iguana Crossing offers an oceanfront swimming pool, Jacuzzi, 12 fully equipped rooms and a master suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Iguana Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Crossing Hotel Puerto Villamil
Iguana Crossing Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iguana Crossing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.