We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel - serious problems with service and bill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Iguana Crossing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Iguana Crossing to your Saves list
Iguana Crossing
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Antonio Gil, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
MOTHERS DAY DEAL
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Groton, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel - serious problems with service and bill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel with our 4 grown children. The location is amazing and the hotel is quite elegant. When we booked our stay through a tour group we were told there were only 2 rooms available, however when we arrived there were very few guests and we were offered the third room we had wanted at full price. They also suggested a special "prix fixe" meal for the 6 of us of local dishes. The food was okay and the service was slow, The next day we asked for the "tab" for the meal and found we had been charged full price for all the dishes and the meal was a whopping $435! To be fair we should have ascertained the cost before the meal, but we felt we had been misled. We brought this to their attention and had some polite conversations with the staff and were promised "something" would be done. However, we were then told that no refund would be made. They told us that they would make us a "take away" breakfast for our 5am departure the next day. They didn't even appear until our van had arrived. At that point we were offered apples.
After several email exchanges with the tour company and the management they finally offered to refund our money for the meal, however that process took quite a while and we were eventually told that they were not able to credit our account. We contested the portion of our bill that covered the meal.
The air conditioner in the room blew directly on the bed.
$10.00 was found to be missing from one of the rooms.
This is a beautiful hotel, however the management needs work.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Manager at Iguana Crossing, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Dear debjurist guest:
As discussed in our e-mail exchange, held as soon as you left the hotel when in the comment cards these issues were brought to our attention, we sincerely appreciate your feedback and again apologize for the inconveniences experienced in our hotel.
We have taken measures to assure that the meals proposed to our clients are fully discussed and understood by both parties before the service takes place, so we can provide the appropriate experience.
We are also aware that the agreed compensation should have come much faster but there were limitations on our bank´s side in order to restore full amount for the meal (US$ 268 USD charged) including the US$ 10,00 missing .
The introduction and presentation of the clients to our in-room and general services has changed as well. Presently we take special care by explaining guests in detail, as well as letting them know how to operate safety boxes installed in all of our rooms.
We take full responsibility for the service flaws that are being corrected at the moment.
Respectfully
Juan Daniel Gómez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    53
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
85
130
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stay in Iguana Lodge in April 2011. The place is amazing, in the morning you see iguana going for promenade from your windows. After long day of snorkeling or going to the tunnels or fishing (we catch tuna and made sashimi on a boat) with a very friendly guide you come back and relax with nice music, air condition rooms, excellent food, friendly staff, even having laptop on your laps with a beautiful view of the sandy beach and the ocean. The Hotel need to be in the Leading Hotel of the World, It is the only 5+ Hotel in Galapagos. We will be back, 100 %, the best of the best.g

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We loved our 3 nights at Iguana Crossing. There were 11 of us. Some of the other reviews have mentioned the water system. We appreciate that the hotel wishes to save water since fresh water is a scarce commodity in the Galapagos, but the push buttons instead of faucets are implemented poorly. The sink has no hot water and it is impossible to wash your hands in the amount of time that the water stays on. There is also no plug for the sink and that made shaving difficult. The shower also has the push button system. We had difficulty with the hot water. ASK the people at the desk to show you how to use it and to prove to you that hot water will come out of the faucet. We have used such systems before in other locations and they were fine. We wonder if Iguana Crossing's could be tweaked to be better. Our only other issue was house flies. For some reason there were a lot of them. The management gave us a insect spray to use in our room. We would have been happy with a fly swatter. All that said, the location, pool, gathering room, hot tub, and beach are wonderful. The bed was comfortable and the Iguana Crossing (yes, the iguanas do cross the road right there) was a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on second floor facing toward sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juandanielco, Manager at Iguana Crossing, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Dear Guest Stillwater:
We thank your interest in sharing your suggetions with us. It´s really important for us to quikly improve the issues you´ve mentioned.
We are currently working hard with our supplier to solve the preassure problem in the sync and shower. We have also installed an automatic water reclycling system so the hot water permanently runs trought the pipelines.
With these measures taken, we hope we satisfy and exceed our guests expectations.
Sincerely
Juan Daniel Gómez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

This hotel is great, brand new installations, spot clean and perfect location. Beatiful infinity pool and jacuzzi. The staff was extremely friendly and went above and beyond to accommodate every need.
Food was exquisite and fresh every day. Very romantic too!
You won't want to leave this place ever!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We are so happy we added a land excursion to our Galapagos dive trip. Isabella is an amazing island with much to see. Iguana Crossing was a pleasant surprise. Fabulous boutique hotel on the edge of town, across from a gorgeous beach and marine iguana haven. With only 14 rooms, nice decor, friendly staff and wonderful location....I'd recommend Iguana Crossing to anyone staying on Isabella.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
334 hotel reviews
Reviews in 274 cities Reviews in 274 cities
535 helpful votes 535 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

I only visited Isabela on a day trip, but I was pleasantly surprised to find such a nice hotel here. The Iguana Crossing seems to be by far the best hotel on the islands, with tasteful design and a luxurious feel to it. Certainly better than anything I saw on Santa Cruz, like the Royal palm or the Red Mangrove. The infinity pool and the public areas are amazing. The view right on the beach is that of a tropical paradise. It may get a little boring here, because the town offers few entertainment options.
The irony of this place where Darwin postulated his survival of the fittest is that it's visitors are almost entirely from the lower or mediocre end. Shorts, sandals, backpacks and all the other stigmata of the common travel hooligan abound. The worst are those who perceive themselves as eco tourists but are an olfactory and visual nightmare. Who will start promoting esthetic tourism? Then 90% of those tourists would have to stay home. I am disappointed by the low standards of tourism in Galapagos. As a better example of combining tourism and nature, the Okavango Delta in Botswana gets it right.
Anyhow: Iguana Crossing is the only place that a luxury travel will find acceptable on the Galapagos islands.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Iguana Crossing is an excellent hotel in an excellent location. In the front of the hotel is the beach, and behind, there is a great walkway to the Darwin Research Center. The staff is very professional - they go the extra mile to make sure that your stay is comfortable. The restaurant is excellent. We stayed on Isabela for 5 days and had the best meal there. The design and decor is modern and interesting. The pool was great - there is also a jacuzzi and bar on the rooftop where we hung out in the evening. When we left, we had a very early morning transfer. The hotel manager personally came and made sure we were awake, made sure that the car she had arranged for was there, and walked us out to say goodbye. I can't say enough for the level of quality and service at this hotel. The price is well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iguana Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Crossing

Address: Av. Antonio Gil, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Iguana Crossing 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Crossing is Isabela's newest and most innovative hotel. Its minimalist design and superior service offer guests a privileged experience on this scarcely populated island. Iguana Crossing is located in between Isabela's extensive white sand beaches and directly behind a wildlife-filled lagoon. Iguana Crossing offers an oceanfront swimming pool, Jacuzzi, 12 fully equipped rooms and a master suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Iguana Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Crossing Hotel Puerto Villamil
Iguana Crossing Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iguana Crossing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.