We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Vicente Galapagos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Vicente Galapagos to your Saves list
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Cormorant and Puerto Villamil 1204, Puerto Villamil 52172, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

San Vicente is a well placed hotel, just a couple blocks from the beach. The rooms are comfortable, they have AC, hot water, TV, and are very clean. The price is excellent for the service and accomodations; it includes breakfast and they can help you to set up tours or activities for your stay. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSanVicente, Gerente at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Maugusta8

Reciba un cordial saludo por parte de Hotel San Vicente, es un gusto poder recibir comentarios tan positivos como el suyo porque nos impulsa a seguir brindando un servicio de calidad.

Esperamos contar con su presencia la próxima vez que desee visitar lsabela - Galápagos.

Atentamente,

HOTEL SAN VICENTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    36
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
13
33
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. I wish it was longer. The hotel was very clean- lots of natural light in the rooms. It felt like staying in someone's home more than a hotel. The staff were all very sweet and warm. Delicious fruit for breakfast and different exotic fruit juice everyday during dinner. I definitely recommend staying here!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSanVicente, Gerente at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear MandeeNY

It's a pleasure to get such a positive feedback coming from you! We higly appreciate if you reccomend our hotel as your first option if somebody else wants to go to Galapagos.

it'd be a pleasure to have you in our hotel any time you would like to go to Galapagos.

Best Regards,

HOTEL SAN VICENTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here as part of a tour to Isabella. Didn't expect much but got a huge clean room, good breakfasts and even better three course dinners (the soups were the main highlight).

We were also here when Ecuador were playing an important football match and watching it with the staff was great (not quite Scotland at Hampden, in fact not even close, but still great).

There may be better hotels on Isabella but on a budget it would be hard to complain about this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSanVicente, Gerente at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Willgo79

Thanks for sharing your great experience in Isabela with us as you've been doing in every single place you visited. Be part of your best trips is really encouraging. We really hope you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and all the tour in the Galapagos Islands specially the time spent with local people.

Please, come back any time you want to tour again Isabela - Galapagos Islands.

Best wishes,

HOTEL SAN VICENTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo,Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

O.K accomadations. The food was good! Tour guides from the hotel were great!!! Ricardo is a sweet heart!!! We had a group of four travelling together. Myself an another were going to share a room.When we checked into our room it had not been cleaned yet. Used towels still hanging and waste baskets not emtpied. So to make up for that I asked if my room mate could have the room next door (which was clean) and I would wait for them to clean the assigned room. So for this inconvience at least we were comped a second room for no charge.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSanVicente, Manager at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear butterflygirl789

Thank you for letting us know about your stay in our Hotel. We were very worried at the moment we saw this feedback because our first commitment is to please our guests! We are actually working on a better service and get everything done before our guests' arrival to the hotel. We really appreciate your feedback because it makes us improve more than we except we should. As you mentioned, our staff and tours were amazing and we will keep on doing even better!

We hope you have enjoyed your visit to Galapagos!

Best of all,

HOTEL SAN VICENTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was an ok hotel; not bad, not great. It was very convenient for arranged tours, as NG&E tours start here and all the meals are here. People staying at other hotels had to walk here for everything.

I had reserved one of the new/superior rooms and also requested one on the 1st floor. When I arrived, a lady who spoke no English put me in an older room. I tried to explain to her that this was not what I reserved but had to wait until an English-speaking person arrived. For reference, the older rooms appear kind of dirty, the fixtures are all old and the bathroom is super tiny.

As it turns out, she put me there because it was the 1st floor, but I was certainly not going to accept a downgrade (when I pre-paid for an upgraded room) just to be on the lower floor. I wound up in a much nicer room on the 2nd floor, as she insisted nothing was available on the 1st floor. But I was later fairly annoyed by this as the room directly below me on the 1st floor was empty (you can see nearly the entire room through the windows when the curtains are drawn). But I was not about to repack and unpack again so I let it be.

The newer room was nice and housekeeping did an excellent job each day of cleaning up all the beach sand in the shower, which is an inevitable mess here. The food was ok; not great, but edible. The eating area was mostly outside, so bugs did tend to be an issue, which was not fun. The one small indoor area was ok for dinner, but I was told by staff that inside was for employees only during breakfast and lunch. Yes, they kicked me out to eat with the bugs so they could sit in comfort, which was kind of annoying.

A couple of the other staff there were very nice and accommodating though. Caroline, a very sweet lady from Great Britain, was especially helpful. But many of the others appeared disinterested.

And I should mention all the noise at night, which made it extremely difficult to sleep. Roosters were crowing and dogs barking. A tour guide on another island later told me it was illegal to house roosters and chickens in residential areas. So I am not sure why this hotel has done nothing about it, as I see many reviews here with the same complaint. There was also a family living outside my room below who had a small child that screamed quite loudly every morning as the mother walked him down the block…every morning. I began to wonder what was wrong down there. I guess he was the back-up alarm to the dogs and roosters? ;O) Poor kid.

So it was not the worst place, but not great either. The island is quite lovely though so just enjoy the surroundings.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanillo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our group of 7 people stayed at the San Vicente for 4 nights. It was relatively clean, but the bed sheets were all pilled and scratchy. The breakfast was not very good - insipid looking fruit and cold eggs. The biggest problem we had was that no one seemed to care whether we were there or not, unless they were trying to flog various tours off on us. The hotel needs to work on their attitude and customer service.

As an aside, there are no ATM machines on Isabela - and most restaurants do not take credit cards - make sure that you take lots of cash!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The owners of Hotel San Vicente Galapagos apparently are associated with La Laguna Hotel. I state this because La Laguna diverted me to San Vicente.

I was celebrating a big "0" birthday and my sister was flying-in from Chile to greet me. My flight was 4 hours late, requiring me to miss the last ferry fr P. Ayora to Isabela. I called from my plane in Guayaquil to notify them (using expensive time on my phone) & told them I'd be on the next ferry (I had booked for 5 days). I phoned before the next ferry left P. Ayora and "No problem!" I phoned upon landing at the ferry dock in P. Villamil. "No problem." After a 5-min taxi ride to La Laguna, "Oh, we thought you'd canceled! We gave your room away." I've traveled to 50 countries solo, as well as lived in 50. I'm not new to this game.

So, instead of an overview of the lagoon w flamingoes, I was taken to San Vicente, where a rooster and dogs barking kept-me up (not the hotel's fault, of course). My expectations had already been biased. La Laguna had insisted, "Yes, yes, San Vicente has TV!" (As, for my birthday, it was just going to be watching TV w my sister as a celebration). No TV. Air conditioner (ductless, so very loud) did work well.

Breakfast was fine & included, but when we returned from a tour & requested lunch. "No. You have no reservations." Quite disappointed w this event. P. Villamil is very rural and the local restaurants either would not accept my sister & I without a reservation or were closed. San Vicente did not alert me to this fact.

A mother/daughter duo whom we met on the ferry told us that their hostal down the street from San Vicente, greeted them w drinks, told them the history of the island, and arranged trips for them. Not so at San Vicente.

However, the young lady at reception did go out of her way to phone our taxi driver back in P. Ayora as well as our next hotel (Angermeyer). She did this graciously & without expectation of anything in return (I did tip her). She was very kind.

Room Tip: Room 11 (where I stayed) is upstairs & a bit more private, but I would suggest a room upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Vicente Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Vicente Galapagos

Address: Av. Cormorant and Puerto Villamil 1204, Puerto Villamil 52172, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Vicente Galapagos 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos is dedicated to provide the highest quality of service and comfort to each and every of its guests. We like to complement your visit to the Galapagos as perfect as possible. We are proud to say that Hotel San Vicente has become one of the most popular of the Galapagos hotels on Isabela Island, which we believe is due to our standard of excellence and personal commitment to our guests. From our Galapagos hotel you can arrange a variety of land tours that are sure to leave you breathless. The natural beauty of the islands will amaze you while you enjoy a comfortable and superior service from the friendly staff of our Hotel San Vicente Galapagos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel San Vicente Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.