We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Vicente Galapagos

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Vicente Galapagos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Cormorant and Puerto Villamil 1204, Puerto Villamil 52172, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Puerto Villamil
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Decent hotel with really delicious food.

The service is really good, and they organise fantastic day tours with great guides.

My room smelled really mouldy and the be linens was stained. That really put me off.

It's also not on the beautiful beach which is a pity,because it's a great beach. About a 5 min walk to the beach.

Food there is reataurant quality. Very yummy!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
27
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Exactly what we needed- simple rooms, outside sitting areas and relaxed environment. Rooms were nice and clean, close to the centre, good breakfast and they offered dinner with soup and a main course that was much cheaper than other restaurants in town. Staff were helpful with booking tours, this is a great place to enjoy Isabela.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSanVicente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks so much for your review. We are so glad your stay on our hotel was so enjoyable. We have been improving our cooking at the hotel and we are happy to learn it was of your liking. We shall pass to our staff regarding your good comments.

I hope the rest of you stay on Galapagos was as good as it Isabela. Thanks again for talking the time to review us.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I first stayed at this hotel 6 or 7 nights, and I was so thrilled with everything about the place I came back a week later to spend a few days more.

The rooms are perfectly clean and cosy, the food is of very good quality (thank you Mario!), you can eat inside or outside in a nice courtyard, and the hotel proposes very good activities and tours, with good guides and coordinators (thank you Rodolfo!).

Great place to meet people from all over the world.

The Spanish-speaking staff may seem a little rude sometimes - though I really enjoyed practicing my Spanish with them and I had a great time with them.

Caroline, the English woman who works there, is truly fantastic. She is always available for you, trying to answer all your needs and resolving any of your concerns, if there are. Her service is excellent, and she definitely contributes to your feeling at home in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. What a nice feeling! Also, she knows a lot about wild-life and she has all sorts of stories to tell you about sea lions, turtles, iguanas... A passionate woman who loves her job and her island!

Very good location too. Drinking water fountains (tap water is not potable on Isabela). Close to a supermarket and to the beach.

I was completely satisfied with my stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSanVicente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest

We are thanks full you took that time to write you review of our hotel. We are always happy to learn we contributed to make someone’s stay on Isabela so pleasant. I hope you enjoyed the other islands equally.

It is a good thing to learn that food was good and tasty, as we have been working on improving our meals, so it seem to be working good : ) . Thanks for mentioning the guides, as we this let us know that they are getting along very well with the travelers. Most of our staff does not speak English indeed, but they try to compensate that with service, we are glad you could practice you Spanish with them.

We shall pass your comment to Caroline to let her know what great job she is doing too! She really lover her job and the island, as she certainly loves to share that passion other visitors.

Best regards!

PS. Thanks for the recommendation on the water; this is indeed useful for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a nice hotel and I had my meals here as well. The room was very good and the shower had the best showerhead I have ever experienced. The food was great as well-buffet style with different meats and vegetables. I would say the only bad thing is the rooster out back. Understandably there are roosters all across the island crowing at 4:30am, but the one in the back sounds like he's standing by the bed due to thin walls (not that thicker walls would help with that as he is so loud!) My friends who stayed in the front side of the hotel did not even hear him so definitely request for a front facing room. The tours provided by this hotel are very good as well! I would pick this hotel again-but instead, stay in the front side.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel is owned by Nature Galapagos and Ecuador, it is of average standard, but it is sufficient. If you go with Nature Galapagos and Ecuador tour, the hotel is very convenient as they are the starting point for almost every tour. There is a convenience store or supermarket nearby and everything is within walking distance. Food was nice on some days and it was ok on other days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

there is no 5 stars hotels in puerto Villamil...so people used to more be advised...i travel not often in less than 4 stars hotels but this one was really cozy and enjoyable...i would rate it a 3 stars...the only thing is the roosters waking us up at 4h30 in the morning...but it's ok! food was great, host were very friendly...would sleep there again for sure, or would try their other hotel:la laguna...more recent and closer to beach, but must be more expensive.

Room Tip: Room 16 seems to be the largest one, nice ceiling...third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSanVicente, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Guest
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review. We are most glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We are sorry for the rooster next door, we actually hear that a lot, but it belongs to our neighbors and we cannot really do much about that. Still, sorry for the inconvenience, I am glad it wasn’t that much of a bother. We do try our best to make passenger feel cozy on a familiar environment. I am glad you like our meals, we shall pass that compliment on our chef! We would be pleased to have you visiting us again if you come to Isabela Island.

Hope Isabela and Galapagos treated you well…. Thanks again for your comments.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here for two nights as part of a tour. Unfortunately I believe I had one of the smallest rooms located by the kitchen, which was a little noisy at times. The room itself was clean and functional as was the bathroom. There was no view to speak of as the window looked out onto the wall of the neighbouring building. Breakfast and dinner here were good on both occasions I ate there although there was a bit of a shortage of tables to eat at when I was there. All in all reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSanVicente, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Greeting from San Vicente and thanks for your review and for your comments on out hotel. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Isabela Island and Galapagos overall.

I am sorry for the accommodation, not all of our rooms have a nice view. We usually offer different room categories and prices. We should have warned you on the room size beforehand. We will do that with our next guests.

I am glad you found the room comfortable overall concerning the fitting and cleanliness. We also make our best to prepare varied meals. August is indeed a very busy month; we will try to double our effort in organizing meal timings so travelers won’t feel uncomfortable.

Once again, thanks for your review and taking the time to write. Hope you enjoyed Ecuador and Galapagos overall!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Vicente Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Vicente Galapagos

Address: Av. Cormorant and Puerto Villamil 1204, Puerto Villamil 52172, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel San Vicente Galapagos 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos is dedicated to provide the highest quality of service and comfort to each and every of its guests. We like to complement your visit to the Galapagos as perfect as possible. We are proud to say that Hotel San Vicente has become one of the most popular of the Galapagos hotels on Isabela Island, which we believe is due to our standard of excellence and personal commitment to our guests. From our Galapagos hotel you can arrange a variety of land tours that are sure to leave you breathless. The natural beauty of the islands will amaze you while you enjoy a comfortable and superior service from the friendly staff of our Hotel San Vicente Galapagos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Hotel San Vicente Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Vicente Galapagos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.