We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing on the beach of Isabella” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge to your Saves list
Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave. Conocarpus, Puerto Villamil 00000, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
“Relaxing on the beach of Isabella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is a relatively small hotel with a superb location right on the beach. After the busy-ness (relatively) of our days on Santa Cruz, this hotel was such a gift. The staff is incredibly attentive and helpful. The food was great; I really wanted to be able to tell the cook how exceptional it was! Some meals are buffet, some are served. Even at lunch there was an option for the appetizer (my son chose the soup and I had the sauteed octopus one day!). You an eat inside or outside. Bottled water is available for free; getting more just means going a few steps to the restaurant. The sitting area on the beach is shaded yet you can see and hear the ocean. This area so invites you to sit with a good book and a glass of wine. You can explore the beach to see the iguanas and the locals enjoying the water; the children were so much fun to watch! I was really sorry when it was time to leave this hotel and head back to Santa Cruz, although the Red Mangrove on that island also provides a very fine experience...just not the laid back and slower pace of the Isabella.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    42
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
34
57
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We visited the Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge as part of our 6 day Darwin's Triangle Tour with Red Mangrove. We had the two front rooms overlooking the deck and the beach. Service was excellent and the accommodations were great. The rooms are a little more sparse than those at the Aventura lodge, but we felt that was to be expected on a less populated island. The excursions provided from this location were fantastic and living beachside for a few days was very nice. The rooms were kept very clean and neat. And, the service was excellent. They make a mean caipirinha as well!

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for beach front. It's worth it on this nearly untouched pristine island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This lodge is only a few steps from the beautiful beach. The Manager and all the staff were wonderful, couldn't have possibly ask for better service. There were 7 of us and we had a fantastic time and enjoyed our stay very much. The food was great and the rooms were very nice and clean. We enjoyed our meals on their patio most of the time, but they do have inside seating in case of rain. All our excursions were well planned with lots of wildlife to see and the second largest Volcano crater, 4 miles across, in the world. Nice hike up to the crater with beautiful views. I would definitely recommend this lodge and would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge is located right on the beach. You can listen to the waves crashing while enjoying meals and drinks on the patio. The staff at the hotel was very accommodating. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. I'm a picky eater, but found the food to be surprisingly good.

We were there as part of a Red Mangrove Darwin's Triangle tour. Overall the tour was amazing. The guides were extremely knowledgeable about the area. The activities were fun and the seeing the wildlife up close a once in a life time experience.

I highly recommend both the Isabela Lodge and Red Mangrove tour.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The lodge was located on the beach. There were lounge chairs outside by the restaurant that you can sit and relax, you can hear the sound of the waves few meters away...what a perfect background sound to sleep. The room was average size, clean and has basic amenities. The bathroom is small but clean and toiletries were provided. There is no TV in the room. Free Wi-Fi but no connection in the room, only in the restaurant area and has slow connection. We had an all-inclusive package and Adventure activity package and a naturalist guide provided. The food in the restaurant was very good. Bottled water was provided daily. The lodge staff were very nice and helpful and attentive to our needs. Isabela Island has a typical island ambiance, no shops, buildings or restaurants, just simply an island environment. We had a nice Coco Loco drink at Beto's Bar by the beach, 10 mins walk from the lodge. We hiked the Sierra Negra Volcano up to the caldera, about 12 Km back and forth, what a spectacular view. We saw many plants and trees endemic to the island. We did snorkeling in the bay by the Los Tintoreras islet. We saw sea turtle, sea horse (7 inches long), colorful schools of fish, magnificent frigate birds, penguin (small, so cute !), marine iguanas and sea lions swimming with us, Sally lightfoot crabs, and other birds endemic to the island. What a wonderful stay we had in Isabela Island staying at the Red Mangrove lodge.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This place is very cool and the manager and his staff were incredibly nice and accommodating. We stayed at the Red Mangrove lodge(s) in March and the Isabela location was far better managed and customer focused then the Santa Cruz location. The hotel is right on the beach and you have beautiful views and sunsets to watch. There is not much in Isabela other than wildlife and it is really peaceful at night and early mornings. Clean rooms and nice staff. I would definitely go back to this lodge.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

In early March 2014, my wife and I were at the Red Mangrove on Santa Cruz and Isabela. Although other than the 'suite pequena' at Santa Cruz the room were generally sufficient but not exceedingly up-market. However what was commendable were the first class guides who were both helpful and knowledgeable. There were Duncan and Luis from the Red Mangrove. But the special guides at each location generally also went the extra mile to make us, a not-too-young, couple comfortable and relax even on the more physically demanding, at least for us, activities.

Room Tip: If you are not too young like ourselves, i.e. above sixty, be prepared physically and mentally for g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge

Address: Ave. Conocarpus, Puerto Villamil 00000, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Beach Hotel, Iguanas, blue footed boobies, penguins at the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mangrove Isabela Hotel
Red Mangrove Hotel Isabela
Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge Galapagos Islands, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.