We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our room on the water ,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge

Save Saved
You added Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave. Conocarpus, Puerto Villamil 00000, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Puerto Villamil
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
568 reviews 568 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Loved our room on the water ,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our room was one of two which opened to the beach area. At night we kept the door open screen closed for fresh air and sounds of the sea. The room close to the patio worked well for the wifi.
The staff were slow and uninterested! The food was not interesting...just serviceable! The food kept running out, and slow or not replaced at all. Our first night they were completely full and when the four of us came in dine...not much to eat. The short ribs could have been used as chewing gum for days. Not cooked long enough to fall off of the bone. The next night we went into town and at Delfinos...had coconut sauced shrimp...very tasty.

Room Tip: A room in the front on the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    33
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
26
46
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you're brave enough to cope with the rough sea ride from Santa Cruz then this is a worthy reward. A quiet and intimate setting just a stone throw from the sea, this lodge provides a wonderfully soothing base from which to explore Isabela. Our room, Manzanilla, was simple but tasteful. The bathroom was large, clean and the shower actually worked which we found to be a rare occurrence during our time in South America.

The lodge is quiet and at night there is not a great deal to do apart from have a drink and look at the stars - but I'm not sure anybody visits Isabela for the nightlife. The food was good, a healthy range of options and for us, there was always a vegetarian dish or two. We didn't go hungry.

On the day trips, the kitchen would make us a packed lunch and took into account our dietary requirements without any problems at all. It sounds simple but you cannot imagine how difficult it is to explain that Chicken is a meat.

The real star of the lodge was our guide, Fabian. If you go, make sure you ask for Fabian as your guide. His knowledge, expertise and wonderful sense of humour added another layer to an already incredible trip. He was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Accommodations at Red Mangrove, Santa Cruz, were fair; at Red Mangrove, Isabela, were good; at Red Mangrove, Floreana, were spartan but excellent.
The 'nature guide,' Juan Carlos Naranjo, provided by Red Mangrove, was very knowledgeable, equally fluent in English and Spanish, extremely friendly and magnified the sense of adventure — he was a fantastic travel companion.
All transportation logistics were arranged by Red Mangrove and worked without a hitch.
The office staff, Elizabeth Mori, conducted all business via e-mail with close attention to every detail in a friendly and very efficient manner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Our room Acacia is next to the restaurant and has a view to sandy beach. The WiFi is good in our room (a big surprise), as hotel indicated the WiFi is only available in lobby/restaurant. This lodge is one of our stops in the Darwin Triangle (short) program provided by Red Mangrove. We were satisfied by the program which is is well organized and led by a professional guide. We did not experience any issues through out our time in Galapagos Island (5 evening, four days). The only thing we would like to change is to have more time to have more activities!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We travelled to Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge as our 3rd Island in our 9 day visit to the Galalagos and it was the most relaxing and enjoyable. The property is right on the beach and a 5 minute walk along the beach to the main part of town where there are plenty of restaurants to choose from. The staff were helpful. The 1st thing we did was borrow two of the resort bicycles to explore the town and attractions - so, when we were not off on one of the many boat adventures or swimming in lagoon with the seals etc we were on our bicycles riding exploring the town and surrounding roads or relaxing on the beach - or sleeping. Now if sleeping is your thing - then, ask for a room along the western boundary of the property. The reason is that the timber deck walkway into the resort from the road to the beach and check-in is along the eastern boundary and as many of your fellow guests are moving around with their stuff, the bang, bang, bang of the wheels of their suit cases being dragged along behind them on the decking will keep you awake. We had this happen to us so we moved rooms. The staff are aware of this and carry the bags rather than wheel them but fellow guests don't. We loved our stay and would go back to Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west boundary are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our experience at The Isabela Lodge was positive. We paid for a room in the diver's lodge, which was nice and spacious, and had one double and two single beds in it. The bathroom was nice and big, too. Though, as all the floors were granite type of surface, I found my feet were always kind of damp and the floors were slippery. They didn;t have any mat or anything on the floor to dry my feet on (they have a shoe box outside the room so I knew I was supposed to be barefooted in the room), so sand got on the bed unless we specifically cleaned our feet and wiped them dry completely...and the diver's lodge is just a 10m walk on sand from the main lodge. 5m to the beach. We really liked this beach, it was great for birding, bodyboarding, swimming, or just hanging out.

Food was decent, but a la carte lunch was very very salty. Good flavor but too much salt. They had some good items on the buffet, though. The staff were polite and did their jobs well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We travelled to Galapagos for the 8 days Full Adventure trip, and it was absolutely wonderful!
We started on Santa Cruz, then Floreana and continued to the island of Isabella, definately our favourite of the three islands. The Isabella lodge was right on the beach. A perfect location! The room was excellent. Lots of space, a very nice bathroom with sufficient pressure in the shower. A well functioning air conditioning. Safety deposit box. Big beds. And everything was very well managed and clean. Having the toilett bucket emptied every day and clean towels every day is worth a lot in the Galapagos heat. We stayed three days on Isabella and we enjoyed every minute of it. The hike to Sierra Negra was one highlight. A tip is to bring a lot of water because it is a long trek (6-7 hours) in the heat of the day. The lodge provided us with a nice packed lunch and to bottles of half a litre of water. We brought one more bottle, but at the end of the hike, we were still thirsting for more. The weight is more than worth carrying. Other highligts was swimming with sea lions and penguins in the bay, snorkling with sea turtles and even manta rays! We really loved Isabella. It is not much to do on this island after the excursion is over, but the few beach bars are worth checking out. We loved the peace and quiet of the island, but if you need a lot of action around you, you might think differently. We had a wonderful 8-day trip around Galapagos and the only regret we have, is that we did not schedule two-three days at the end of the trip to just stay at Isabella and process all the experiences we had.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge

Address: Ave. Conocarpus, Puerto Villamil 00000, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Beach Hotel, Iguanas, blue footed boobies, penguins at the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mangrove Isabela Hotel
Red Mangrove Hotel Isabela
Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge Galapagos Islands, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.