We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing on Isabela” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge

Save Saved
You added Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave. Conocarpus, Puerto Villamil 00000, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Puerto Villamil
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing on Isabela”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We travelled to Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge as our 3rd Island in our 9 day visit to the Galalagos and it was the most relaxing and enjoyable. The property is right on the beach and a 5 minute walk along the beach to the main part of town where there are plenty of restaurants to choose from. The staff were helpful. The 1st thing we did was borrow two of the resort bicycles to explore the town and attractions - so, when we were not off on one of the many boat adventures or swimming in lagoon with the seals etc we were on our bicycles riding exploring the town and surrounding roads or relaxing on the beach - or sleeping. Now if sleeping is your thing - then, ask for a room along the western boundary of the property. The reason is that the timber deck walkway into the resort from the road to the beach and check-in is along the eastern boundary and as many of your fellow guests are moving around with their stuff, the bang, bang, bang of the wheels of their suit cases being dragged along behind them on the decking will keep you awake. We had this happen to us so we moved rooms. The staff are aware of this and carry the bags rather than wheel them but fellow guests don't. We loved our stay and would go back to Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west boundary are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    33
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
26
46
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our experience at The Isabela Lodge was positive. We paid for a room in the diver's lodge, which was nice and spacious, and had one double and two single beds in it. The bathroom was nice and big, too. Though, as all the floors were granite type of surface, I found my feet were always kind of damp and the floors were slippery. They didn;t have any mat or anything on the floor to dry my feet on (they have a shoe box outside the room so I knew I was supposed to be barefooted in the room), so sand got on the bed unless we specifically cleaned our feet and wiped them dry completely...and the diver's lodge is just a 10m walk on sand from the main lodge. 5m to the beach. We really liked this beach, it was great for birding, bodyboarding, swimming, or just hanging out.

Food was decent, but a la carte lunch was very very salty. Good flavor but too much salt. They had some good items on the buffet, though. The staff were polite and did their jobs well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We travelled to Galapagos for the 8 days Full Adventure trip, and it was absolutely wonderful!
We started on Santa Cruz, then Floreana and continued to the island of Isabella, definately our favourite of the three islands. The Isabella lodge was right on the beach. A perfect location! The room was excellent. Lots of space, a very nice bathroom with sufficient pressure in the shower. A well functioning air conditioning. Safety deposit box. Big beds. And everything was very well managed and clean. Having the toilett bucket emptied every day and clean towels every day is worth a lot in the Galapagos heat. We stayed three days on Isabella and we enjoyed every minute of it. The hike to Sierra Negra was one highlight. A tip is to bring a lot of water because it is a long trek (6-7 hours) in the heat of the day. The lodge provided us with a nice packed lunch and to bottles of half a litre of water. We brought one more bottle, but at the end of the hike, we were still thirsting for more. The weight is more than worth carrying. Other highligts was swimming with sea lions and penguins in the bay, snorkling with sea turtles and even manta rays! We really loved Isabella. It is not much to do on this island after the excursion is over, but the few beach bars are worth checking out. We loved the peace and quiet of the island, but if you need a lot of action around you, you might think differently. We had a wonderful 8-day trip around Galapagos and the only regret we have, is that we did not schedule two-three days at the end of the trip to just stay at Isabella and process all the experiences we had.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

On a very swimmable beach good for families, sheltered from high waves by a pier. One doesn't go to Galapagos for the food, but buffet style meals here were fine, especially breakfasts with granola, yogurt, many fresh fruits and juices as well as eggs, buns, toasts. Comfortable A/C rooms relatively modern motel-style, indoor and outdoor seating for meals, and a rooftop sitting spot with a view of the offshore surf and ships at anchor.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms have the disadvantage of facing on the inn's outdoor dining deck, not the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viera, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on our package tour and while the beach behind the hotel is very nice, we did not care for this hotel or the staff. When we first arrived we were shown to our room and we turned on the air (as it was in the high 80's and hot) our a/c blew hot air. We turned it as cold as we could and waited 30 minutes but it was still blowing hot air. So hubby went and got a staff member who fiddled with the dials and told hubby he would have to find the manual. 20 minutes later he still had not come back and now it was hotter in the room than outside and we were really sweating. Hubby went back to the lobby and staff member was on the internet watching music videos. Hubby again asked him to come check the a/c. he again fiddled with the dials and tried to leave. We brought him to our friends room next door to let him see how cool their room was compared to ours and he finally agreed to move us to another room where the a/c worked.

The food was good however they ran out of cold soda's the first day so our only other choice for the next 2 days was warm bottled water, unless we wanted to pay for beer which we do not drink. We asked several times if they could put the water bottles in the fridge but they ignored us. (Aventura Lodge on Santa Cruz always had cold bottled water). So we ended up going to town each day and getting cold soda and cold gatorade from one of the stores.

Next issue was 6 of us ended up sick the 2nd day on Isabela with intestinal issues. We only had a 1/2 roll toilet paper in our room so hubby went to the desk to ask for more and the same guy from a/c issue handed him a 1/4 roll that he got from the public bathroom and proceeded to tell my hubby that they were out of toilet paper and they would have to send someone to the store to get more. Needless to say we never got any more that day. So the next afternoon we were out of paper and we asked again for some toilet paper and were given another 1/2 roll from the public bathroom. Apparently toilet paper is scarce at this hotel. We also had to ask twice for soap as there was none in our room. Finally the maid came by with some.

The staff at this hotel are not very good and gave us all the impression that they did not like tourists. I was very surprised that only one staff member spoke very limited English when these hotels main guests mostly speak English. There were approx. 12 English speaking guests there with us. This hotel also shuts down at 9:00 pm and the entire staff leaves so it was a good thing no one had an emergency after 9:00 pm.

The hotel itself is OK and rooms were clean. It is on a nice beach, you can walk to the iguana nesting sites and also on the pier. Town is very close and within walking distance. All our tours on this island were wonderful. We really enjoyed snorkeling with the sea lions and penguins.

I think if they would improve the staff services at this hotel it could be a nice place to stay. We spoke with one of the managers at the Aventura Lodge when we got back and she told us they have had several complaints about the staff at Isabela and they were looking into the issues.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The beach where the hotel was located had very fine and soft sand. You could have an unobstructed sunset view there. There was a small but beautiful red mangrove at one end of this long long beach. If you walk for 10 minutes, you would find a pier and a bar. The hotel room was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was also very clean with hot water for shower. Internet reception however stopped after around 9:30pm. The restaurant served free soda and bottled water. The food was very good. The only thing I wasn't sure was how secure the hotel rooms were. The beach was shared with other tourist accommodations and local people homes. Theoretically, anyone could walk to knock your room's glass door (note: the room door was lockable). I stayed two nights with my dirty shoes outside but they were intact. Guess security wasn't a problem. Travelers however should take note of this and stay vigilant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The "Isabela Diver's Lodge" is a short walk from the main Red Mangrove Isabela lodge, and I have to say, our view from the room was phenomenal!! Actually, I would argue that it was better than the main lodge's "best view" room because ours was not obscured by hedges, or a table/umbrella on the deck. Our room at the diver's lodge was big enough to walk around, simply decorated, had white tile floor and a larger than expected blue tile bathroom. It was also outfitted with two queen beds. The best part of the room was when we opened the curtains and we were graced with an amazing view of the beautiful white beach and blue/green ocean. As to it's location, it is a very short walk to the main deck of the Isabela Lodge where meals were served. We enjoyed buffet-style meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and even though there was another party of 15 on site during our stay, the amount of food, its variety and taste was very good. Because of the short walk, we did track a lot of sand back into our room, and I would have loved to have had a broom to sweep up the floor; but mostly I would have liked to have had a broom to swept my feet before getting into bed. The environment on this island is vastly different than Floreana or Santa Cruz. You will not eat with sea lions frolicking in the water in front of you, and you will only see an occassional small iguana on deck, but this location offers you a beautiful beach on which to walk and the sound of laping waves while dining. We did take a walk on the beach and saw several schools of different variety of fish, plant life, sea urchins, and amazing lava formations right on the beach. This location and its set up for us was another great experience that offered something different than what we had already seen in the Galapagos Islands.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge

Address: Ave. Conocarpus, Puerto Villamil 00000, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Puerto Villamil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Beach Hotel, Iguanas, blue footed boobies, penguins at the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Travelocity so you can book your Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mangrove Isabela Hotel
Red Mangrove Hotel Isabela
Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge Galapagos Islands, Ecuador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Mangrove Isabela Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.